List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

It's crazy how the NAS sweepstakes have made Pou the forgotten man. If it's true, having him sign to 2030 is a massive win for us, because long term he is going to be so important to what we're building. Pre draft he said he wanted to play in the big games, I think winning the Saints 2nd ever flag is the kind of immortality that he craves. I hope the rumours are true.

When Nas signs, imagine what it's gonna be like watching him become the best player in the game over the next ten years...

...for Port Adelaide. 🤨

It's clear the De Koning narrative has incensed the players and their managers.

It has to be a 'who will blink first' situation where they're waiting to see whether the Saints stump up cash for Nas and what bearing that has on the TDK deal. Nas has to be the priority even if it's just for two years.

Keep Ro, invest development into Dodson and we will be fine. It all hinges on whether SOS is too arrogant to change tact.

Has the NAS narrative "incensed the players" at Adelaide? Did the Rankine, Peatling, ANB, etc, contracts cause an exodus?

One thing puzzles me about the situation with Nas and has ever since he arrived - the almost total and complete absence of his stepfather and 30-game 31-goal Saint Terry Milera.

I remember Terry as a player. I loved watching him and Amed Saad in our revamped forward line, was quite disappointed when he quit at the end of 2014: I didn't know then that he wanted to be closer to the families of him and his partner (Nas's mum) after she got seriously sick in Melbourne. Sadly for St Kilda fans, seen in this light, the draw on Nas from his home community seems a lot more understandable.

Terry was with us for 3 years, yet rarely garners more than a cursory mention in the rare media pieces Nas does. No interviews or photo shoots. I know he's not a birth father so the idea of inheriting traits is less interesting, but Nas did spend time around the club during the years Terry was a Saint, you'd think he'd want to talk about how proud he was of his son's career at the club he played at, or something. Anything? Likewise, Nas never talks about when he was here as a kid or his dad's career here. Not the nostalgic sort perhaps?

Similarly although to a lesser degree, uncle Gavin is rarely brought up, despite being a bona fide AFL legend at two different clubs, and once again hasn't ever done any media concerning Nas to my knowledge.

I get that Nasiah is his own man, and clearly doesnt need to stand on anyone's shoulders (well, maybe Bailey Fritch's hahaha), but it does seem like his family want absolutely nothing to do with us and this might end up robbing us of two players and not just one.

I hope not and would love nothing more than our club to bring Terry back to St Kilda again. And of course for his supremely talented son to remain with us a few more years!

PS Thanks to Hayes and Kildonian for their write ups in this illuminating thread from back in the days when Terry was our player: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/terry-milera.882413/

One thing puzzles me about the situation with Nas and has ever since he arrived - the almost total and complete absence of his stepfather and 30-game 31-goal Saint Terry Milera.

I remember Terry as a player. I loved watching him and Amed Saad in our revamped forward line, was quite disappointed when he quit at the end of 2014: I didn't know then that he wanted to be closer to the families of him and his partner (Nas's mum) after she got seriously sick in Melbourne. Sadly for St Kilda fans, seen in this light, the draw on Nas from his home community seems a lot more understandable.

Terry was with us for 3 years, yet rarely garners more than a cursory mention in the rare media pieces Nas does. No interviews or photo shoots. I know he's not a birth father so the idea of inheriting traits is less interesting, but Nas did spend time around the club during the years Terry was a Saint, you'd think he'd want to talk about how proud he was of his son's career at the club he played at, or something. Anything? Likewise, Nas never talks about when he was here as a kid or his dad's career here. Not the nostalgic sort perhaps?

Similarly although to a lesser degree, uncle Gavin is rarely brought up, despite being a bona fide AFL legend at two different clubs, and once again hasn't ever done any media concerning Nas to my knowledge.

I get that Nasiah is his own man, and clearly doesnt need to stand on anyone's shoulders (well, maybe Bailey Fritch's hahaha), but it does seem like his family want absolutely nothing to do with us and this might end up robbing us of two players and not just one.

I hope not and would love nothing more than our club to bring Terry back to St Kilda again. And of course for his supremely talented son to remain with us a few more years!

PS Thanks to Hayes and Kildonian for their write ups in this illuminating thread from back in the days when Terry was our player: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/terry-milera.882413/
I think some parents just like to stay out of the way.
I remember reading an article on the ugly parent syndrome in tennis years ago. One of the players interviewed said the loved the way Lindsay Davenport's parents went about it. The journo said he didn't recall having ever heard them speak, to which the player said that was what she liked about them. They let her play tennis and they stayed out of the way.

It's crazy how the NAS sweepstakes have made Pou the forgotten man. If it's true, having him sign to 2030 is a massive win for us, because long term he is going to be so important to what we're building. Pre draft he said he wanted to play in the big games, I think winning the Saints 2nd ever flag is the kind of immortality that he craves. I hope the rumours are true.

Right now he's starting to look injury prone. Not forgotten, just don't want to have another Max King heartbreak. Or Coffield or McCartin etc.

Windy/windys agent are just reaching for coin. The club will push back. Meet middle ground and he will stay.

Relax.

SOS playing hardball is giving everyone anxiety attacks. He needs to start getting shit done and not putting his foot on throats to look tough.

Unsurprising Pies are after Jsos. Been saying for a while he'd be a good get. Now apparently Dogs are interested too.

He's the perfect FA, his monetary value is way below his output. $300k a year less than Josh Battle for a pretty similar player. JSos probably the better one on one defender.

Kind of disappointed in Nas tbh

If he is staying, what better way to announce it than on Monday morning after that game.

If he wants to stay and the manager is telling him to delay still, he has the power to just tell him no and get it done.

And if he wants to leave even after that performance & really taking ownership of the club and its future with Owens, Windy etc, there’s not much else we can do.

Mamas boy gonna mamas boy. Hope Windy tags the life out of him first time we play him if he bails

Stay or go I’m pretty pissed at nas for dragging it out like this.
With all due respect (and im singling two out of a stack) this is such a shit take.

Hes a 22 year old kid, at the absolute peak of his powers, listening to a manager and taking his managers advice to hold off on making a decision and you know what... his manager has been proven right. If hed signed 6 weeks ago hed have left probably $500k a year on the table.

Nas owes us and the saints absolutely nothing, hes not some roughy we pulled from the clouds, he was a first round drfat pick with a pedigree and his only responsbility in terms of his contract is to himself and his family, this is his job after all.

I get it, we are all antsy at wanting our best player in a decade at least to sign on but thats not modern sports and he is doing whats best for him. Im sure he doesnt care what big footy posters think but this whole vibe from some that hes being evil and making us wait is, respectuflly, really immature.

SOS playing hardball is giving everyone anxiety attacks. He needs to start getting shit done and not putting his foot on throats to look tough.
SOS is looking after the club.

Just a reminder in case you forgot who you support.

Terry works for Port Adelaide. He can't come out and tell his step son to stay at St Kilda.

You love making shit up.

Adelaide and Ports offer is more than ours over the first two years.
So they are paying 14 million over 7 years.
Fair dinkum you reckon I make shit up.

They have offered long term deals front ended. So have the Saints, but over 7 years it is not 2 million a year.

You are hilarious when it comes to numbers.

You're delusional if you listened to that interview and came away more confident.
Just because a player says my manager is working it out with the club it doesn't mean he's gone.

Windy said he loves what the team is building, talked about the future with the group, mentioned wanting Enright around for years.

There is no need to freak out on this, he is CLEARLY going nowhere. I know we're all freaking out about Nas but we don't need to jump at shadows about other players.

Offer 2026 1st round draft pick for Jase Burgoyne, pay him double what he's on.

Suddenly NAS wants to stay

Think About It GIF by Identity

Made the list uncompetitive and signed an injury prone KPF to a mega contract for years. He's on an absolute watch right now. He should be under the microscope as much as medical and training services. We need to keep improving our footy department to catch up to the competition.

Not sure that pissing off list managers and players creates an environment of buy in. He needs to sell the dream to them instead of kicking heads to save cap space.

Hes actually doing what he thinks is best for the club in his own way.

AGAIN, i seriously doubt hes being pig headed but as weve seen in this thread people have very different views of how to get things done and different interpretations of information.

If it turns out that we didnt budge from $1.4m for 2 years and we lose him for that, ill be filthy cause thats not at all looking after the club.

Made the list uncompetitive and signed an injury prone KPF to a mega contract for years. He's on an absolute watch right now. He should be under the microscope as much as medical and training services. We need to keep improving our footy department to catch up to the competition.

Not sure that pissing off list managers and players creates an environment of buy in. He needs to sell the dream to them instead of kicking heads to save cap space.
If the list is so terrible Gringo. You wouldn’t be bed wetting about how he is dealing with agents.