List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

And if that does happen he should be walked out the door that day
Disagree that SOS should be walked on the basis of NAS leaving.
SOS is just the money & cents guy. If NAS leaves it’s because he goes home and that’s not SOS’ fault.

Everyone on the planet knows the importance of NAS to our rebuild. We will meet any financial demand, however they might not be enough and if that happens then the club have failed to make Nas and his family comfortable

And someone here reported that wasnt true
Difference is - Caro clearly has real information. People here think Jon Ralph hasn’t got any links to St Kilda, despite him breaking the Max Hall contract extension news.

People here seem to think the media know less than they do. Just look at how Tom Morris is derided, despite rarely getting anything wrong.

Clock Tick Tock GIF by MOODMAN

Disagree that SOS should be walked on the basis of NAS leaving.
SOS is just the money & cents guy. If NAS leaves it’s because he goes home and that’s not SOS’ fault.

Everyone on the planet knows the importance of NAS to our rebuild. We will meet any financial demand, however they might not be enough and if that happens then the club have failed to make Nas and his family comfortable
But does he do what he did with Battle,

Mitchell predicted that the Saints would match at the last moment, like an afterthought and a reason to make an excuse if he left ( last bit is totally my opinion).
Are we going to just match when it is too late and NAZ has made up his mind.
Genuinely worried by this.
I don't care if it is 2.1 over 2 years, we get to see NAZ for two years, have a chance to show him we are going somewhere and if not we will get a shitload more capital if he leaves.
See it as buying time/buying multiple top draft picks or players

But does he do what he did with Battle,

Mitchell predicted that the Saints would match at the last moment, like an afterthought and a reason to make an excuse if he left ( last bit is totally my opinion).
Are we going to just match when it is too late and NAZ has made up his mind.
Genuinely worried by this.
I don't care if it is 2.1 over 2 years, we get to see NAZ for two years, have a chance to show him we are going somewhere and if not we will get a shitload more capital if he leaves.
See it as buying time/buying multiple top draft picks or players
Caro has already reported we have lifted our offer. So evidently we haven’t done that.

Because there is no silver lining to losing Nas. There was what we now know is Tauru with Battle.

SOS just needs to change the difficulty settings ala AFL 23

I pulled TDK over on a 9 year deal for $375k per year, Aleer for 9 years on $228k per year (traded them 2x 3rd rounders) and kept Naz for 9 years on $442k per year.

Also traded Cordy to the Suns for 2x 1st rounders, Hill to the Eagles for Pick 3 and Jimmy Webster to North for pick 10 and a F1st.

Went to the draft with picks 1, 2 & 3 and have 5 1st rounders next year!

Make it happen SOS!

😂

Caro has already reported we have lifted our offer. So evidently we haven’t done that.

Because there is no silver lining to losing Nas. There was what we now know is Tauru with Battle.
So we should match for 2 years. Yes it sounds like panic but if he leaves this year we get royally reamed.
As I said we get 2 years of watching NAZ, two years to show we can contend, and if he still goes we get a shit load better trade capital.
It is worth the extra to keep him even for just two years.

They are offering $2 million a year for the next 2 years and we are $1.2 less over 2 years than them. If he does a permanent injury in his second year and never plays again he's just thrown away a house. You are being deliberately dishonest.

I think you will find Ports offer drops of less after 2 years than anyone is thinking. It's a genuinely huge offer.

EDIT: Oops. I was thinking this was the main board. Carry on.

What do you think he isn’t doing? Trying to get deals done? Trying to get long term commitments?

Yes zero logic, whilst Nas is represented by Williams your $2m a season is a nice base point to start talking a new deal in 2027.

What a great position to talk a bloke down from 😂
No, theres zero logic because the worst case scenario is we lose Nas in 2 years, when Tassie is here and teams have been able to prep for a reasnable trade package.

The only thing you seem to be fixated on is Nas giving us a longer term comittment, which also seems to be the one thing he is absolutely not flexible on.

If he wants 2 years then do 2 years on the same money and back the club to either improve, support and build around him so he stays in 2 years OR make the right decision about offloading him in 2 years for a decent compo package.

You seem to rather want to lose him now if were gonna lose him. I cant understand any part of that.

Craig Hutchison said on Agenda Setters that NWM’s manager has missed a trick here and isn’t getting the best deal for his client.
Craig has been around footy for ages.

How long has NWMs manager been doing that kind of work?
I wonder if the managers lack of expertise is coming to the fore

Mate, don't be a fool. The op was regarding Riley Beveridge saying 'other clubs' were saying NAZ was a 2 million dollar a year player.
It has FA to do with supposed offers from any club but what other clubs are pushing to what he is worth yearly.

If you can't understand those simple facts, you should not comment.

Players are worth whatever the competition offers them. His recent form would suggest that he is worth big dollars. Not sure how many would actually put that up but obviously someone thinks it's his value.

JJ was suggesting we should offer $2.25 million for two years and hope we can keep him because we should try to build a list around him. Said that that much cap space is just going to be spread out and it's the only advantage we have right now.

Nearly every commentator is suggesting that losing Nas and then paying huge dollars for a very underwhelming TDK seems to be absolute stupidity.

Difference is - Caro clearly has real information. People here think Jon Ralph hasn’t got any links to St Kilda, despite him breaking the Max Hall contract extension news.

People here seem to think the media know less than they do. Just look at how Tom Morris is derided, despite rarely getting anything wrong.
Mate, this is a terrible take, the media throws so much shit at the wall and then refuses to cop any losses, ever.

Just because they dont admit they are wrong doesnt mean theyre never wrong. Sam McClure gets more shit wrong than ive had hot dinners and is still somehow a respected media pundit.

Morris and Cleary were on the Dylan Buckley pod a few weeks back noting very openly that list and player managers lie through their teeth to the media in the best interests of the club/client. Cleary said hed had a blow up with a list manager the day before recording the pod over some bullshit info hed run with.

For the most part stuff they report thats correct only gets leaked before announcements for clubs and managers to manage the comms of it.

Players are worth whatever the competition offers them. His recent form would suggest that he is worth big dollars. Not sure how many would actually put that up but obviously someone thinks it's his value.

JJ was suggesting we should offer $2.25 million for two years and hope we can keep him because we should try to build a list around him. Said that that much cap space is just going to be spread out and it's the only advantage we have right now.

Nearly every commentator is suggesting that losing Nas and then paying huge dollars for a very underwhelming TDK seems to be absolute stupidity.
JJ.
As in Josh Jenkins?

As was asked to JJ - what do we then do in two years when that deal is up and his management expects a pay rise?

Nearly every commentator is stupid for suggesting that the Nas and TDK deals are linked in any way. We can offer them both a significant amount of cash for their signature. And in the case that Nas does leave, does that mean we dont look at other ways to improve the list due to optics? We just stand still for 12 months because peoples minds are so small that they cant comprehend list managers trying to do 2 things at once?

Caro said our offer had lifted significantly from that for the 2 years.

Ports offer is front loaded for the first 2 years, which means a reduction on the back end.

We can probably offer 10% less due to holding him but realistically you just need to pay up. The loading is irrelevant. We negotiate that next time.

As was asked to JJ - what do we then do in two years when that deal is up and his management expects a pay rise?

Nearly every commentator is stupid for suggesting that the Nas and TDK deals are linked in any way. We can offer them both a significant amount of cash for their signature. And in the case that Nas does leave, does that mean we dont look at other ways to improve the list due to optics? We just stand still for 12 months because peoples minds are so small that they cant comprehend list managers trying to do 2 things at once?
Are we sure they would?

Again, the move here is either pay it cause hes worth that or sell him that weve got a premiership contending list and we need to balance that out.

I suppose in some ways its kicking the can down the road but either way its better than losing him now.