Autopsy Autopsy vs St Kilda

Turns out I do still have feelings. I’m frustrated at the errors and turnovers, and on reflection very much aware of how much our players did wrong, but at the game I was mostly mad at umpires and opposition supporters and furious not to get a win when - against all expectations after half time - it was so close. Opposition today wasn’t in the same class but like nearly beating Freo and nearly beating Brisbane - and more similarly nearly beating the cheats and Port - I really really really wanted to see North get over the line.

Can we just admit that Harry Sheezel is our best midfielder and stop moving him around the ground? He can play the holding role, as he is just so smart and reads the play. Back to his best today. Faded late but for most part I thought he was close to our best player.

Comben played with a poor attitude again. You have to be better than that from a mental perspective, sick of seeing him sook it up as he gets beaten time and again. His best games are the ones where he looks un-phased…loses a contest but goes again.

Daniel, I’m done. Made Ryan Byrnes look like Aaron Sandilands. He’s kicking and decision making was terrible.

In saying that I do believe that a big part of the problem is that we don’t know where to run. This team has stood still down the line for about a decade. Now Clarkson wants them them executing these unique running patterns.

We are an almost side at the moment. You see players like Daniel, Powell, Sheezel, McKercher, O’Sullivan try and open the game up by playing on but we turn it over as our movement is not fluent.

There were multiple times when we won the ball in tight and released a running player to only look for an option sideways or backwards. It’s an absolute cop out and signs of a side completely lacking in confidence. Players forward of the ball were on, and a handball forward would have broken the line and started a wave of players for us in attack.

We need to address this. Handball forward, run forward when in space. It will unlock so much more attacking potential for us.

Well, yes another loss, quite simply put, we lost this because of skill errors & silly free kicks and at the stage we are at, the silly free kicks just crucify us more than any other team, even more so if the game is close. After the absolute thrashing the Giants got last week, even with some of their stars out they are going to be breathing fire this week against us. Paul will probably get 1 week and our most dangerous forward will be out of the team, but a chance for others to step up, around three changes next week for the game at Manuka Oval.

One word for this game..............
electricity dam GIF
🥺

Well, yes another loss, quite simply put, we lost this because of skill errors & silly free kicks and at the stage we are at, the silly free kicks just crucify us more than any other team, even more so if the game is close. After the absolute thrashing the Giants got last week, even with some of their stars out they are going to be breathing fire this week against us. Paul will probably get 1 week and our most dangerous forward will be out of the team, but a chance for others to step up, around three changes next week for the game at Manuka Oval.

One word for this game..............
electricity dam GIF
🥺
Unfortunate reality of where we are at. Bit of nourishment from an honorable loss then back to having our asses served up on a plate again.

3 times today, within 5m of goal, PC chose to try and kick it off the ground instead of picking it up......
I’ve loved him and his form before suspension was elite.

But he’s run out of credits.
Form since he got back has been dog shit and yes AFL house screwed him but we all have to get over it.

If he misses another week he needs to pull his head in regardless.

I feel like right now, supporters and players will never be more alligned in just wanting the year to end.

The next 3 weeks should bring about some sadness for us as the year comes to a close and we won’t get to see the side run out till mid March 2026.
Pick 2 belongs to Richmond and none of the premium trade targets/decent free agents available are interested in us.

Can’t get more irrelevant than that.

But life is ultimately more enjoyable and less stressful over the summer. It is relaxing and I am looking forward to not watching us lose each weekend.

Simple times await.

And 6 years in, we once again enter an off season with little to zero optimism and minimal excitement about the next season ahead. At least under Brad in 12, 13, 14, 15 there was some hope. This rot we’re in has genuinely gone on too far. It is impacting us and causing irreparable damage.
Finishing bottom 2 again was never going to be acceptable and if it does happen, the club is going to be plunging further into worse territory.
It is what it is.

I feel like right now, supporters and players will never be more alligned in just wanting the year to end.

The next 3 weeks should bring about some sadness for us as the year comes to a close and we won’t get to see the side run out till mid March 2026.
Pick 2 belongs to Richmond and none of the premium trade targets/decent free agents available are interested in us.

But life is ultimately more enjoyable and less stressful over the summer. It is relaxing and I am looking forward to not watching us lose each weekend.

Simple times await.

And 6 years in, we once again enter an off season with little to zero optimism and minimal excitement about the next season ahead. At least under Brad in 12, 13, 14, 15 there was some hope. This rot we’re in has genuinely gone on too far. It is impacting us and causing irreparable damage.
Finishing bottom 2 again was never going to be acceptable and if it does happen, the club is going to be plunging further into worse territory.
It is what it is.
Yep. It's dead set a chore to watch and support this club.

I imagine this is how it felt for Horace before the AFL put a dagger in Fitzroys heart.

I genuinely see no light at the end of the tunnel. Zero.

Does anyone have clean hands at North? The fumbles are killing me. Sheez needs to stay in the middle and let’s give FOS more time in there too - that kid is gold, so composed, so clean. Duurs looked invested out there yesterday from where I was sitting and he is a beautiful user of the ball - need him to step it up and get more of it. RHJ needs to make way for Geordie this week. Better turn out from our crowd yesterday and was great to have George back.

Actually saw something yesterday that I rarely see from our players - the fundamental basic of shepherding a team mate who the ball. Wardlaw did it on one occasion which gave a team mate space and time to balance for a kick. Imagine if this BASIC football skill could be in grained into our players. It would force more of them to run harder for longer - and give confidence to the player with the ball - and hopefully produce better disposals.

Usual scenario today. This team is simply afraid of winning and so another one we've thrown away. Umpires just kept getting in the way and made some shockers.
Shockers? I would say they should have an inquiry into the umpiring of Robert O’Gorman.

He was the ****stick that overruled the controlling umpire to pay the Mason Wood dropped mark.

Coincidentally he was also the clown that decided that Camanitti dropping on Larkey’s head after the contest was not 50m. Also then declared Finn O’Sullivan had to take the kick when he clearly wasn’t the closest player at the time.

Powell was actually the closest player and while he’s a shit field kick he’s a longer kick than O’Sullivan.

He is actually picked up in the audio telling Powell to get out after he remonstrated with Camanitti straight after the incident, yet magically decided it was O’Sullivan’s kick eventhough at the time Powell had the ball in his hands and FOS was 10m off to the side.

O’Gorman is either a closet St Kilda member or had money on the game. His blatant cheating wasn’t even subtle.

That play alone shows either utter incompetence or a willingness to impact a contest, firstly from ignoring what would be 50 99 times out of 100 and then choosing who he wanted to take the kick even when they weren’t the closest player.

It is what it is.

The coaching staff are not playing games of footy to win them. Winning is a by product of having everything go right. to some plan that I am pretty certain the players are not completely clear on and have very little faith in.

We could have won that game yesterday. We could have won it with basically the same team (I'd make 2 changes) but structuring up a bit differently.

Let's make a comparison shall we. Harry Sheezel yesterday started the game well, and the response from the opposition coach was to send Garcia to him. To impede his ability to play the way he was.

On the flipslip the had NWM who last week showed he has the talent and ability to basically win the game off his own boot. Our approach for that guy was to allow him to accumulate the ball 33 times in the first 3 quarters before sending someone to him to negate what he was doing. What happened when FOS went to him? he disappeared.

This may seem all a bit academic from the coaches box and there being a right and a wrong way to win. Where we are and for how long we have been here? Most supporters would walk over broken glass to win the wrong way consistently. I don't care how I care how often and it is consistently never enough.

I have more faith in our players talent and ability than they have in their talent and ability. I am sure some people on here will read that and be thinking, but you said we would lose this game. I did but we did not lose it through a lack of talent.

We had more than enough talent on the field yesterday to be able to win that game, probably comfortably to be honest. However we have next to zero cohesion in what we are doing. Admittedly yesterday was not as fragmented as we have seen but it was incohesive nonetheless.

Before the game it was clear that the Saints would come in with their cups full of the belief that they could win from basically anywhere. That is the antithesis of where we are. We play like we believe that we can lose a game from anywhere. We play like this because we have scars of losing games from anywhere.

The cowboy or the cattle debate is wrong. IMO it is both and neither. It is fear and lack of trust that permeates its way through the entire program. We take talented kids and grind at them until they're a shadow of what they were as teens and so far removed from what they could have become it is not funny.

However tazaa you're absolutely right, I cannot wait for this season to end. To put another full stop on a season where our underperformance has yet again been woeful. Yesterday was the last AFL game I will attend this year. The only one we look like winning we sold interstate, and when the last round rolls around our players will be so far checked out that a triple figure loss is likely on the cards. I hope it gives Adelaide top spot.

When does this shit end? When do they player/coaches/admin say this is enough now? That the rot stops with me.

Simple times await.

It is what it is.
I can't watch last two ...so one left for me. Thank goodness. This has been excruciating and sucked all enjoyment from footy for me.

Actually saw something yesterday that I rarely see from our players - the fundamental basic of shepherding a team mate who the ball. Wardlaw did it on one occasion which gave a team mate space and time to balance for a kick. Imagine if this BASIC football skill could be in grained into our players. It would force more of them to run harder for longer - and give confidence to the player with the ball - and hopefully produce better disposals.
FOS also laid a (barely legal) shepherd that cleared the way for a goal.

Missing simple 4-5m handballs to running targets. Every week.

Missing set shots when we have the momentum. Every week.

Only competitive when dominating clearance. Every week.

Defenders who switch off and trail direct opponents/zone space for zero benefit. (Looking at you Griffin you potato). Every week.

Defenders who are unable to physically compete in the air. (Caleb. ****ing. Daniel). Every week.

Inability to move the ball for entire quarters when the opponent locks it in their forward line. Every week.

Shambles.

Missing simple 4-5m handballs to running targets. Every week.

Missing set shots when we have the momentum. Every week.

Only competitive when dominating clearance. Every week.

Defenders who switch off and trail direct opponents/zone space for zero benefit. (Looking at you Griffin you potato). Every week.

Defenders who are unable to physically compete in the air. (Caleb. ****ing. Daniel). Every week.

Inability to move the ball for entire quarters when the opponent locks it in their forward line. Every week.

Shambles.
Second quarter was the killer. We had all the run of the play and pretty much just butchered it with grassing handballs and poor kicks.

That Logue contest late where he just conceded the mark was very, very poor.

Autopsy Autopsy vs St Kilda