Opinion AFL 2025 Round 21 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Another round with a swathe of pretty ordinary games to be fair, but at least this one had a couple of rippers to salvage it. Let’s wrap…

Dogs v Giants, Thursday night: Ok it seems we owe Essendon and Carlton some apologies. After complaining that they kept putting in shocking prime time performances; now we see a “good” team getting a chance and completely going missing as well. Diabolical stuff from the Giants. Never ever looked like they wanted to be there. The Doggies have kept themselves in the finals hunt, and based on that performance maybe they actually do deserve a spot more than the orange team.

Crows v Hawks, Friday night: Season 2025 needs more games like this. The Hawks had put 5 goals on the board before Crows supporters had even finished their first glass of chardonnay, only to watch on helplessly as the home side rammed through the next eight of their own. Just when it looked lost the Hawks found another five in a row and threatened to steal it back. It was an arm wrestle from there but the Crows came out on top. Big feather in their cap to come from so far down against a fellow contender.

1754214872155.jpeg

Demons v Eagles, Saturday arvo: The Dees needed a crushing win to try and put last week’s haunting memories behind them. Beyond that I’m not really sure there’s much to take out of this game. I didn’t watch it, and be honest, neither did you.

Suns v Tigers, Saturday twilight: The Tigers had been putting in some admirable efforts, so they were probably due a shocker. In fairness they were playing a very good side that is extremely hard to beat at home, and is now in the top 4 race up to its ears.

Swans v Bombers, Saturday arvo: This wouldn’t have been worth watching even in pristine conditions. On a drenched ground with a howling gale blowing? Hope you didn’t do it to yourself.

Pies v Lions, Saturday night: Another muscle flexing display from Brisbane right when they needed it. They have a real knack for that, which is why they’re still the team to beat for mine. Meanwhile has anybody noticed that the side that looked to have the minor premiership sewn up a few weeks ago is now at genuine risk of dropping out of the top 4 altogether? They’ve still got to play the Hawks and then the high flying Crows in the next fortnight, with a hungry chasing pack breathing down their necks. Can not put a foot wrong.

1754214962755.jpeg

Saints v North, Sunday arvo: Last week the Saints came from nowhere to win, this week they had to hold off a comeback attempt of their own from the fast finishing Roos. The second edition of the Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera show was nearly as good as the first. That asking price must be up to about 8 million a season by now, he’s going to bankrupt whichever team ends up signing him.

Cats v Port, Sunday twilight: Well this was entirely predictable. A side that has made a habit of getting blown away in losses this year, against a side that makes a habit of blowing away weak opponents at home. Jezza’s 100 goal watch and a random cameo from Jack Martin were the points of interest out of this one.

Freo v Blues, Sunday twilight: Freo couldn’t afford to stumble here, but they very nearly did! Carlton jumped them and led all the way to three quarter time, but the deadly accurate Dockers found another level in the last term and steamrolled over the top of the Blues. Sitting 5th now; yet another side in the top 4 conversation.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 21!

Cats v Port, Sunday twilight: Well this was entirely predictable. A side that has made a habit of getting blown away in losses this year, against a side that makes a habit of blowing away weak opponents at home. Jezza’s 100 goal watch and a random cameo from Jack Martin were the points of interest out of this one.
And, the job done by the Irish quiet achiever Oisin (pronounced O-sheen) Mullin, on Zac Butters. Completely nullified him

like Adelaide beating Hawks, they are a genuine premiership threat.
good to see Lions win again too.
Think Jeremy Cameron is a smoky chance of kicking 100 this year.

would be good if teams like Essendon, Carlton, Port, Richmond Eagles seasons end earlier. AFL seasons may be better if shorter, play everyone once

It's feels like stop they're already dead for these clubs.

Liked: Another huge win, but the interstate teams are circling the Top 4 and The Cats are in the middle of it.

Learnt: Nothing will change with Greg Swann in charge, the umpires can't bounce it, so i guess they will throw it up which is most unfortunate. It's a very uneven competition.

Hated: White shorts at home again, Bevo's response to BT, he's snubbing Dogs fans, not BT himself. Port have thrown in the towel, but they've never really wanted to be a part of the AFL since they joined. Send them back to the SANFL! Gold Coast strip has to be the worst playing strip of all time!

Liked: Lions/Pies.

Learnt: 4 tall forwards will never work and has probably never worked in 130 odd years of footy.

Hated: The footballing genius at selection table who thought 4 tall forwards against Adelaide would work.

Liked: a couple of finals-like games in August

Learned: I am ready to let go of the centre bounce now.

Hated: the excuse-making by fans, administrations etc. Seems at its peak now.

Liked - The set shots stats from the Collingwood- Brisbane game. All professionell AFL players should have these kind of stats.

- GC pink jumper, make it official now for ducks sake.

Diskiked - non-calls for the Tigers vs Suns, especially holding the ball.

Learned - my favorite players at the moment are very many Collingwood players. It might feel wrong deep down in the soul but I’m rooting for them to go all the way this year.

Does that wrong feeling remind you of a Bbq 'cause that kind of attitude would certainly make an infernal or three start to pick out a nice firepit for you! 😎

LIKED- crows v hawks was a great game.
*pies loosing, makes the ladder interesting
*Roos loosing makes Richmond's deathride draft pick a sweet low win.
LEARNT- *rather crap round, many teams copped a hiding.

HATED- *Will Day going down again.
*Giants are a let down

Liked: The Crows v Hawks game was a proper arm wrestle, a great watch.
Nasa’s performance was a highlight.

Learnt: The Giants may not deserve a finals spot after a diabolical loss. The Swans are in danger of falling out of the top four.

Hated: Another round with too many ordinary games. Umpiring continues to look incompetent and err, “compromised”.

The Swans are in danger of falling out of the top four.
Yes I’d say we might struggle to make it from here!!

I reckon you meant the Pies (another bird species albeit a much lesser one) and I agree they’re on shaky ground all of a sudden.

High contact, careless with chance to cause a serious injury but thankfully it didn't on Ollie Wines should be 1 to 2 weeks to the letter of the law. A player being airborne with a similar collision ended Angus Brayshaws career. Over to you Michael Christian. All footy fans are watching on with interest on this result. If the AFL don't start to crack down on this it will continue shortening players careers.

High contact, careless with chance to cause a serious injury but thankfully it didn't on Ollie Wines should be 1 to 2 weeks to the letter of the law. A player being airborne with a similar collision ended Angus Brayshaws career. Over to you Michael Christian. All footy fans are watching on with interest on this result. If the AFL don't start to crack down on this it will continue.
Richmond supporters feigning indifference but posting anywhere and everywhere about how many weeks Tom Stewart should get

Liked:
Friday and Saturday night for Neutrals.
Freo Carlton was really good and was <1 goal with 5 mins to play.
Didn't see Saints Roos but looked exciting at the end, 32k on a Sunday lunchtime for St Kilda Roos in a dead rubber was fantastic for the club. NWM is must-keep for not just performance, its membership and selling the future to internal and external players.
Being able to get things done on weekends because 2/9 games every weekend are worth watching as a neutral.

Learned:
Are Collingwood actually okay? Haven't scored 100 points against a top 8 side since May.
Freo are in strife if Young is gone, Brisbane and Bulldogs to come. Need to annihilate Port this weekend

Hated:
7/9 games every weekend aren't worth watching. It doesn't matter.

Richmond supporters feigning indifference but posting anywhere and everywhere about how many weeks Tom Stewart should get
Mate, what makes your team different to every other team. Yes my mob has quite interesting fans but doesn't every team. Makes the world a colourful place. Stewart has not learnt since cleaning up Prestia right in front of me on the wing at G in 2022. I could give you quite a few examples of him getting off for similar stuff but why bother, I guess because it's Geelong it must be OK. 😉

In case you haven't noticed, this isn't the thread for your rant. In fact there is a dedicated thread in the Umpiring, MRP forum

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 21 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated