Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
I could understand Cripps wanting out and being closer to family etc, but I also find it hard to believe. He's built different, strikes me as incredibly intent on finishing a job to the point of real stubborness and won't leave any stone unturned.

That and moving to the west arguably advances him no closer to a flag, even if it's Freo.

Anyway, if he does actually want out, it shows things really have blown up terribly inside the club.
I'd agree if we were still in the window, but we're clearly not and he knows there is no finishing that job in the time he has left. He knows after 10 years, 4 coaches, a number of rebuilds, etc, that it's going to take more than just getting a couple of outside runners and a new gameplan that everyone just magically clicks with, and prelim 2026 here we come.

I thought Cook was supposed to bring stability? Things have gone pear shaped rapidly under his watch.
He was initially brought in for 2 yrs with the idea he'd groom someone to replace him, iirc, and then he'd retire.

I think extending him perhaps was the wrong move by both parties. He probably should've stuck to his plan, and we should've as well.

I wonder if some strong conversations are due to be had.

Cripps had some comments last week

"You find out a lot about yourself, I reckon, (in) these times, not only as a player but as a leader, but also (about) guys around you, the ones that really want to step up and dig in versus, like I said before, the ones that want to step away,”

Who is it that wants to step away?

Its always fascinating isnt how people respond when the going gets tough

And its so obvious too

Crippa definetly had some players in mind when he made those comments

Holy hell, there's a fair bit to catch up on since yesterday...

Had a kids party in the arvo, by the time we got home needed to sort dinner and get the little ones to bed, figured I'd check the score and see if it was going to be a game worth watching. Whaddaya know, half time and we're up! Giddy up!!!

Watched the first half, checked the score again....faaaaarrrrrrrkkkk meeeeeee. Went to bed.

Now Cripps wants out, JSOS is gone, Charlie might go, Weiters and Walsh will stay, we're getting Reid, coach is Schrodingers Voss.

For what it's worth, here are some random morning thoughts from me:

JSOS can go, I don't care. I think him wanting out is emblematic of the issues at the club, but I don't think him going will actually negatively impact us all that much. If anything, maybe a third gen Blue leaving to the Pies for a comparable contract will have a few on the board reassessing the state of the club. Though if we're honest, most of the time the people on the board are more interested in their position on the board than they are in putting their name to a call for major change.

If Cripps wants out, whether it's cause he's burnt or because he/his family want or need a move to WA, I'm honestly fine with that too. I've been on the record for a while now as being somewhat unimpressed by his captaincy. He's a ripping bloke, he's an absolute warrior, but his leadership is "get on my back boys, I'm taking you with me", and the rest of the list have for far too long been quite happy to take that piggy-back rather than put their stamp on a game.

On the potential trade return for Cripps, I think people are kidding themselves if they think we get much more than something equivalent to about Pick 8-12. He's contracted, so we can always say no, but he's 31 and won't command a top 5 pick, let alone multiple mid first rounders. If he really wants out, I could see it being a pick around 10-15 (depending on what the other club have to work with), plus a future second or something of that nature. Maybe we can squeeze a surplus to requirements young kid in the deal while we're at it.

On his reasons for wanting out (caveat: if it's true), I think it supports a suggestion I made re: Doc. That the club have determined a flag is not coming while he's still playing footy, and told the leaders that. Someone in the footy department may have also tabled the possibility of a change in captaincy. Cripps and Doc had their pact as leaders - stick together, lead the club to a flag. Doc's gone, Cripps is near the end, if a flag ain't coming and if the captaincy is a good chance of being handed off - maybe from his perspective it's time to think family rather than footy.

I'm also genuinely unfazed if Charlie wants out. He has the potential to get us the most return via a trade, so letting him go and giving guys like Lemmey and HOK their chance as a second KPF alongside Harry next year might be the key to making this half detonation of the list work. TDK's compo might end up just covering Dean, JSOS's compo is going to be in the 20s or perhaps even later, Cripps potentially a pick in the teens. They essentially cover themselves on a one in, one out basis. But Charlie is the one who could net us 2-3 handy players, and allow us to address multiple needs.

Weiters and Walsh in a captain/vice captain partnership could very well work, though I do get concerned when your captaincy options are both former Pick 1s. They may have high standards, but do they have the genuine understanding of the limitations of their "lesser" teammates, or will their expectations be somewhat unreasonable based on their own lived experience. I'd love to find a bit more of a journeyman type, but not sure we have any great candidates there. Newy too old and coming back from a bad injury, Hewett maybe? Cerra too passive for mine. Too early for the likes of Hollands and Cowan. Would be a tough discussion behind closed doors I think.

Feel like Voss's tenure is hinging on who could replace him. If Longmire wants to coach, I think we ditch Voss and make the play for Horse. If there isn't anyone of that stature available, we might let Voss see out his contract, try to get someone like Simpson in as an assistant to see if an experienced support for Voss is able to unlock the best from him, and then if 2026 doesn't show what we want it to then Voss can simply not be renewed. At that point, we could either promote Simpson if we think he's the right fit, or we could look for an untried first timer with the knowledge that they'd have Simpson to help them navigate the early stages.

And finally....what the hell is going on when the players come out half asleep for Doc's retirement game and Weiters' 200th, but a week later come out breathing fire against Freo after flying over to WA? Bizarre!
ily

I’m not panicking at all.
For me, it’s not who we lose, it’s what we replace them with.
If players want to ‘jump ship’, maybe they’re been identified as being part of the problem. They did develop under the ‘winning doesn’t matter’ culture under Bolton after all.
All our ‘stars’ are contracted, so if other teams want then, come at us. We have the upper hand.
Will get whatever compo for TDK and JSOS, so can either use that in ready made talent or gun kid.
Can easily turn this around very quickly if we’re calculated and calm, not panicking and crying for ‘full blown rebuilds’ like so many are doing.
I feel the same. The list in its current state has run its course where we need to pivot accordingly, not rebuild

BTW I'm really over the terms rebuild and premiership window. In my opinion these have done nothing but set us up to fail

I could understand Cripps wanting out and being closer to family etc, but I also find it hard to believe. He's built different, strikes me as incredibly intent on finishing a job to the point of real stubborness and won't leave any stone unturned.

That and moving to the west arguably advances him no closer to a flag, even if it's Freo.

Anyway, if he does actually want out, it shows things really have blown up terribly inside the club.
Maybe it has nothing to do with the club. Patrick is from WA. If his wife is also from WA, that means both their families are likely from WA. Maybe since they’ve started a family, they want their families to be closer to their child and have that support.

Harry Edwards, Campbell Chesser, and Pick 3 (to jump the Dean bid)… and as a gesture of goodwill, we’ll even throw in Rhys O’Keefe’s highlights package.
I'd say no chance Pick 3 would be on the table for Cripps. But with the draft being what it is and the Allen compo, they might do it. Esp. with Cripps contracted and their current state.

as others have said I don’t think we’d be getting a king’s ransom for Cripps.

Oldish and coming off a poor year.

First rounder and some change . Have they got any VIC kids with some potential?

Maybe a bundle with McGovern/Cripps gets us a bit more.

Freo have Jack Delean and Neil Erasmus off contract at the end of this year.

Erasmus is a bit of a poor man's Cripps - big bodied mid, was touted as being a good accumulator and a decent threat when rotating forward. But he's averaging about 17 touches a game this year (in full games), and has only kicked 2 goals in his 35 games at senior level. If we needed a cheap inside mid in return for Cripps, he'd be an option, but I don't know that's really the angle we'd take with Hewett, Cerra, Lord and Campo on the list already.

Jack Delean is the one I'd look at - small forward, hasn't featured yet in his two seasons since being drafted, but kicked goals for fun in his junior days. Very much a specialist small forward rather than being a repurposed failed mid. Doesn't fit our current small forward mould of being able to get up and down the ground to help defend all over, but if we're going to tweak the gameplan he'd be worth a good look. Problem might be that he's an SA native, so if either of those teams show interest he's probably more likely to head home.

West Coast have Campbell Chesser and Rhett Bazzo off contract who might be worth consideration.

Bazzo is a KPP, second round pick back in 2021. Hasn't featured much at senior level, no idea if that's injuries, development or that he just hasn't shown enough. If we need a replacement for JSOS while Dean and HOF develop, he could be one to look at. Is a WA native though, so if they want to keep him I imagine he'd re-sign.

Chesser, like Delean, is one who probably fits our needs better. 22yo quick outside mid, with good enough ball use. First round pick in 2021, missed most of this season with a preseason ankle injury, but returned on the weekend and picked up 17 touches and a goal against the Dees. VIC boy. Could play wing or half back too.

So for me - if we're asking for a player back in a potential Cripps trade with the WA clubs, it's Chesser from WC and Delean from Freo - think both help address existing needs and have shown enough at their respective levels so far to be potential Best 22 types (even if not outright guns).

I feel the same. The list in its current state has run its course where we need to pivot accordingly, not rebuild

BTW I'm really over the terms rebuild and premiership window. In my opinion these have done nothing but set us up to fail
Reckon Adleiade were well truly out of teh premiership window last year

This year they have come roaring back in so quickly they are on track to defenestrate themselves

Harry Edwards, Campbell Chesser, and Pick 3 (to jump the Dean bid)… and as a gesture of goodwill, we’ll even throw in Rhys O’Keefe’s highlights package.
A monthly zoom call from David Rhys-Jones might be able to snag us Harley Reid in the trade.

That was a negative scenario and I wish we knew more about those machinations. From the outside i would have thought fitzy was great president material.
Because Fitzy is Carlton first and shennigans second. He wouldn't come into the club to run it as a status symbol. He'd be business first, and our business is football. So, all the board members who are just there for the status of being on the board of one of the big 4 AFL clubs would be quietly encouraged not to stand for re-election. He would surround himself with people knowledgable about the running of the club as a sports club.

Well surgery on a bulging disk and removal of part of it is no small procedure.
Don't need to bee a Doctor to figure out that wont be the same again.
and yeah, before the age of 24.
But as you point out, i'm no doctor so I'm sure the club will have his best interests at heart and not rush him back...
My nephew just had that same surgery at 33.

Because Fitzy is Carlton first and shennigans second. He wouldn't come into the club to run it as a status symbol. He'd be business first, and our business is football. So, all the board members who are just there for the status of being on the board of one of the big 4 AFL clubs would be quietly encouraged not to stand for re-election. He would surround himself with people knowledgable about the running of the club as a sports club.
Exactly right. Was a threat to the ego playground

as others have said I don’t think we’d be getting a king’s ransom for Cripps.

Oldish and coming off a poor year.

First rounder and some change . Have they got any VIC kids with some potential?

Maybe a bundle with McGovern/Cripps gets us a bit more.
I'd ask for the Allan compo pick (which will be pick 2) and a second rounder for Cripps and our TDK pick(maybe pick 8 or so).

Take pick 2 to the draft and use the second rounders to bring in Dean. Jagga, pick 2, Dean and Walker in 3 years. There's the ground floor of the rebuild done.

Maybe since they’ve started a family, they want their families to be closer to their child and have that support.
He is a multi millionaire who could easily employ multiple au pairs or move some family members to Victoria for a few years. Its not like he is going to live back on the farm and commute to Perth for training etc.

As a West Australian FIFO is his preferred living arrangement