Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
If Voss rumour is true i really hope we dont end up with Simpson.

I know he won a GF but last few years they've been really bad and Simpson would have to be part of the problem ...playing the older guys.
I am not sure Simpson wants to get back in to coaching.

Sounds like he enjoys his media work and he is not short of cash courtesy of his 3 Hungry Jacks franchises.

It's just been replaced.
Doesn't change what's underneath. Still hard.
I just don't see how it goes any other way.
Do I want ANOTHER new coach? No.
Is Voss part of the problem? It appears so from the outside.
Is Voss the ONLY problem? It appears not from the outside.
I believe Voss could be a premiership coach with the right people around him (players, assistants, head office), but he doesn't have those people and if kept on, possibly never will.
Plenty of far better coaches have never sniffed a premiership.

I wonder if the cripps move(possible rumbling)is to with him finding out that vossy is possibly gone?

Could well be part of it ie: "I can't do another coach with a new style and have to establish relationships all over again".
What's he had, five coaches?

Could also be the realisation that there will be no premiership for him at Carlton, along with two young kids and looking to bring them up around family now that the dream is over.

Could well be part of it ie: "I can't do another coach with a new style and have to establish relationships all over again".

Could also be the realisation that there will be no premiership for him at Carlton, along with two young kids and looking to bring them up around family now that the dream is over.
Yeah that’s my line of thought. Can’t mentally do it all again.

Not just no, but **** no. We shouldn't be that deal... ever! That's worse than the Judd trade really. We gave them a generational talent (taken with pick 4 BTW), pick 3 and pick 20. We give up our captain, 2 first round picks for Reid, a mouthy kid who is FIGJAM, and a second round pick.

Not even the AFL would approve that deal.
Takes an even bigger chunk of the cap than what we're paying Crippa, and also kills Harry Dean, and Cody. Masterstroke :skull:
So bad the AFL might even go for it.

At this rate, I wouldn’t be shocked if it’s Wright who walks out to the podium instead of Voss and delivers the big announcement at the Round 24 post-match press conference.
At this point I also wouldn't be shocked if Wright is CEO, list manager, HOF, and Senior Coach come August 15th.

He's more of a tall forward, around 193... and around 150kg

Charlie replacement, gotcha!

everythings coming up milhouse GIF

I'm not saying Cripps doesn't go for a price we are willing to accept, but Judd is hardly the comparison. He was 25 (I think) and Cripps will be 31.
Cripps is what the Wet Toast needs atm. Judd was what we needed at the time.

Cripps is contracted, Judd wasn't. They got pick 3, Kennedy, and pick 20 for Judd. We should be expecting the same or better for a contracted player.

Depends on the pool of candidates.

Longmire, Simpson, Hinkley - there are a few experienced heads there if we want to go that route - certainly better options than last time we pigeonholed ourselves into a "coach without training wheels".

But it could also be that we've been talking to assistant coaches (may even have ostensibly been re: assistant coaching positions) and have determined that there are some really strong candidates available to run through an interview process.

In terms of timing - it might just be a good year to do it, with no other clubs seemingly in the market for a new coach.

Nicks, Macrae, Fagan, Scott, Longmuir, Hardwick, Mitchell, Kingsley, Bevo all seemingly locked in.
Carr already set to take over from Hinkley.
Cox, Yze and McQualter all new to their roles and unlikely be to unceremoniously turfed.
Lyon doing what he does best and getting his greasy tentacles firmly burrowed into St Kilda so it'll take a monumental effort for them to dislodge him again.

So besides us - it comes down to whether Melbourne pull the pin on Goodwin, Essendon punt Scott, or North somehow decide they think they can do better than Clarko. None of those sides represent an obviously more attractive proposition than we do, and conservatively I reckon the only one who will actually get sacked is Goodwin, and that's probably a 50/50 prospect at the moment.

Long story short...might just be the year to move on Voss where we'll pretty much have our pick of the market for a replacement if nobody else is hiring.

If anyone happened to watch 'Rose Gold' - the ABC story on the Boomers journey to an Olympic Bronze medal, Brian Goorjian was asked to return as coach at the tail end of the Boomers path.

He made a comment along the lines that taking over a young rebuilding is a 'good job'. Taking over a senior team on the verge or expecting success is a 'bad job'.

This Carlton squad has reached the end of its rise so we clearly now go into mini-rebuild mode so would be attractive to a coach wanting to coach a big club.

Wright must be thinking to himself. "what the **** have i walked into". Run Graham run. This club is a career killer for anyone who enters the doors at Ikon park.

Shambles of a footy club that has stuttered and spluttered its way in this comp for 25 years.

#Mod edit: Don't evade the swear filter

Last edited by a moderator:

Judd came over as a 24yo coming into his absolute prime.

Cripps is 31yo at the start of next season.

Let's not pretend there is not a significant difference there.

Depending on how the draft is rated and what picks WC end up with - maybe they'd give us a top 3 pick. But I think they'd want more than just Cripps in that scenario.

I will say though - if there is a way in which bringing Cripps over would convince Reid to sign for less than he's currently asking - that might be enough to get them to pony up big time.
Which part of Cripps is a contracted player did you not understand?

We don't have to trade him. If we do, we would expect them to pay what we wanted to release a contracted player.

If they want him badly enough, they will come to an agreement that we find acceptable. Otherwise, he stays a contracted Carlton player. What did we end up getting for Gibbs in the end? Picks 10 and 16 plus swaps of later and 2018 picks. Gibbs was 28 at the time and was nowhere near the player that Cripps is.

Wouldn't have thought so - moving clubs does exactly the same thing.

Second half is the most likely for me.

Doc tapped - "sorry mate, we're not gonna get you that flag, so we need to start playing the kids."
JSOS on his way - third gen Blue leaving for a comparable deal, seems he reckons there's no success coming here soon.

Change is afoot - coaching group (senior and/or assistants), head of football, couple of big name players, list refresh coming up, all points to a changing of the guard in on-field leaders. Cripps could have either read the room himself, or may even have either approached or been approached by Wright or others re: whether a move to WA is beneficial for both parties.

Cripps is contracted, Judd wasn't. They got pick 3, Kennedy, and pick 20 for Judd. We should be expecting the same or better for a contracted player.
Judd was 24-25, Cripps is 30 so big difference.
l still don't see it happening, if we have a new coach& football manager as expected, l expect some of disharmony in the group to resolve.

Which part of Cripps is a contracted player did you not understand?

We don't have to trade him. If we do, we would expect them to pay what we wanted to release a contracted player.

If they want him badly enough, they will come to an agreement that we find acceptable. Otherwise, he stays a contracted Carlton player. What did we end up getting for Gibbs in the end? Picks 10 and 16 plus swaps of later and 2018 picks. Gibbs was 28 at the time and was nowhere near the player that Cripps is.

I understand it perfectly well, thanks, Dram - you don't need to disparage people's intelligence just because they disagree with you on a player valuation.

I'd love multiple firsts for Cripps, I happen to think it's unlikely for a 31yo with a banged up body. Not impossible, but improbable. WC don't get enough value out of him for two years to be giving up multiple first rounders in the early parts of a rebuild. And while we might want more as a philosophical matter - if we're not contending in the next two years, and if we're happy to hand the captaincy on to the next generation, and if we're looking at attacking the draft or trade market to bring the list in line with the requirements of the modern game - then getting a mid first rounder for Cripps (plus steak knives) might be palatable, and preferable to just holding him for two years then getting nothing.

Personally, I like the Chesser angle. Right type of player for us, out of contract, VIC-born. He's not shown enough to be a straight swap, but it could well be something like Cripps and Motlop for the Hawthorn pick and Chesser - to me that would be us coming away with a satisfactory and beneficial return based on where the club is at.

they'd be crazy to do that, and as much as I loved Judd, we were crazy to do it too. Cripps might have 2 or 3 good years left, at best. Judd had a questionable knee but was for the most part, in his prime.

Takes an even bigger chunk of the cap than what we're paying Crippa, and also kills Harry Dean, and Cody. Masterstroke :skull:
So bad the AFL might even go for it.
Just for the "**** Carlton" moment.

they'd be crazy to do that, and as much as I loved Judd, we were crazy to do it too. Cripps might have 2 or 3 good years left, at best. Judd had a questionable knee but was for the most part, in his prime.
His groins were shot. He lost that explosive pace because Worsfold wouldn't rest him. Judd went from being the inside mid who explodes from the ruck contest to the inside mid who had to look to dish it out to an outside runner.

We went for him because we thought he was the former, and we got the latter.

His groins were shot. He lost that explosive pace because Worsfold wouldn't rest him. Judd went from being the inside mid who explodes from the ruck contest to the inside mid who had to look to dish it out to an outside runner.

We went for him because we thought he was the former, and we got the latter.
yes you're correct my memory is hazy, but he was also seen as a shortcut back to success and as the last 30 years have shown, there is no such thing. Not at Carlton, anyway. In any event, West Coast would be crazy to sell the farm to get Cripps.