Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
I understand it perfectly well, thanks, Dram - you don't need to disparage people's intelligence just because they disagree with you on a player valuation.

I'd love multiple firsts for Cripps, I happen to think it's unlikely for a 31yo with a banged up body. Not impossible, but improbable. WC don't get enough value out of him for two years to be giving up multiple first rounders in the early parts of a rebuild. And while we might want more as a philosophical matter - if we're not contending in the next two years, and if we're happy to hand the captaincy on to the next generation, and if we're looking at attacking the draft or trade market to bring the list in line with the requirements of the modern game - then getting a mid first rounder for Cripps (plus steak knives) might be palatable, and preferable to just holding him for two years then getting nothing.

Personally, I like the Chesser angle. Right type of player for us, out of contract, VIC-born. He's not shown enough to be a straight swap, but it could well be something like Cripps and Motlop for the Hawthorn pick and Chesser - to me that would be us coming away with a satisfactory and beneficial return based on where the club is at.
Cripps in a different system along with Reid could get another 3-4 years out of himself.

Wick and I have been talking on FB messenger, and if the AFL decides to create a first round pick (possible late top 10) that the Weagles need to trade for a veteran to help them out, I'd like to see that pick plus the Hawthorn pick coming our way. Or that pick and a couple of good young players.

The Eagles would potentially still have picks one and two in the draft if Allan attracts a band 1 offer. Otherwise, it's a band 2 end of the first round pick that they could bundle with the Dawks pick to trade higher.

As for Harley Reid... just ****ing no. Good player, yes... extreme white line fever... yes. He's going to be getting reported a couple of times a year I reckon. Just can't stop himself.

Would be surprised to see Cripps ask to leave, at least publicly. There may be some exit interview conversations and an agreement that I'll be open to a move should something reasonable come up, otherwise I'm happy to stay.

In any case, I think his captaincy days should be done. He seems to get debated as a leader a lot, but I've always rated him. He lead by example and attempted to demand buy in, though unfortunately he never had club wide support and was a lone man most of the time surrounded by incompetent coaching and list management. He's got to be cooked by now in that space. He can still be a leader, but I the time is right to relieve him of that burden. Relieve being the operative word, just go out and lead by example still without all the extras on top.

While Weiters is maybe the obvious choice, I'd much rather a younger reset, someone like Walsh. Not sure he'd want it as he's got fitness questions, and has his own queries around whether he's staying, but I'd love the young leaders to step through now.

I am not sure Simpson wants to get back in to coaching.

Sounds like he enjoys his media work and he is not short of cash courtesy of his 3 Hungry Jacks franchises.

90% of these guys are 'career coaches'. I'd say if the North Melb job came up he'd jump at it given his history. Not sure about us though.

Gut feel is we'll go with a real 'relationship' coach...someone like Adrian Hickmott accompanied by a wise, experienced head like a Longmire or Hinkley.

Going to be a rough 2026 thats for sure.
Not so sure. It will be bumpy but I’m easily more excited for next year than I was for this year.

Aside from a reset of the footy dept, we will see:

• Newman back (will make a huge difference to on-field standards)
  • Jagga
  • Harry Dean
  • Continual growth of current crop of kids (Cowan, Carroll, Lord, Young, Moir, Wilson, Campos)
  • Important role players back (Kemp, Cottrell, a bonus if Elijah?)
  • Whatever we get for TDK compo should he go
  • Senior players refreshed and (knocks wood) fit - Walsh, Cerra, Harry, Charlie, Weiters

Not saying Flaggers ‘26, but there is more blue sky ahead (pun intended) than many can see right now.

yes you're correct my memory is hazy, but he was also seen as a shortcut back to success and as the last 30 years have shown, there is no such thing. Not at Carlton, anyway. In any event, West Coast would be crazy to sell the farm to get Cripps.
True. Somewhere in the middle is where we'll meet. Cripps will get to the Wet Toasts, and we'll get something and/or somebod(y)(ies) that will set us up for the future.

Not so sure. It will be bumpy but I’m easily more excited for next year than I was for this year.

Aside from a reset of the footy dept, we will see:

• Newman back (will make a huge difference to on-field standards)
  • Jagga
  • Harry Dean
  • Continual growth of current crop of kids (Cowan, Carroll, Lord, Young, Moir, Wilson, Campos)
  • Important role players back (Kemp, Cottrell, a bonus if Elijah?)
  • Whatever we get for TDK compo should he go
  • Senior players refreshed and (knocks wood) fit - Walsh, Cerra, Harry, Charlie, Weiters

Not saying Flaggers ‘26, but there is more blue sky ahead (pun intended) than many can see right now.
Can i just say I hope not to see harry dean until well into the back end of the season, if at all

Over playing kids who get beaten up due to the physicality of the senior game

let them run around in the twos for the majority of their first year while they get stronger

LOL... you don't know what the **** your talking about. Two time brownlow medalist, 5 times All Australian, club best and fairest dog knows how many times, and the current captain of the club.

In comparison, Judd was the captain of the Weagles, a brownlow medalist, Norm Smith medalist, and a premiership captain. What did we pay for Judd again? Pick 3, pick 20 and the guy who turned out to be one of the best forwards in the business.

So if Cripps was to leave. The very least we would want for him would be 2 first round picks. One in the top 3. He is still contracted, so we don't have to trade him. Judd was out of contract and wanted to go home to Victoria.

Cripps goes at a premium.
Judd was 25 when he requested a trade, Crippa is 30 and slowing down big time. There is 0 chance we get 2 firsts for him, I genuinely be shocked if we did get a first at all in a hypothetical trade. Early first/late second at most.

Not that i buy he is going, but WCE may want him as guidanace for Reid, so may be willing to pay overs for what he otherwise would be worth? idk

Reckon (hope) crippa stays anyway

Cripps has been so driven for success I can't see him leaving to go to a club like WCE and go through more rebuilding.

I feel like he could be a good addition to Adelaide, their 1 query right now is midfield and clearance player depth, he'd be someone they'd seriously look at imo.

Could well be part of it ie: "I can't do another coach with a new style and have to establish relationships all over again".
What's he had, five coaches?

Could also be the realisation that there will be no premiership for him at Carlton, along with two young kids and looking to bring them up around family now that the dream is over.
Totally agree with the second part. You could see how emotional he was in Doc's farewell speech with the realisation that the dream was over for them to play in a premiership side. Almost like the end of the era for them, where they've given their all for the club, but it wasn't meant to be.

I'm probably one of the only ones on here that hopes he gets to play his final days back in his home state with his family. He's earned it, and no-one could begrudge him that opportunity in the twilight of his career. Many have criticised him on here with his leadership style or 'selfishness' on field - and everyone has the right of an opinion - but the fact is that he led us to within 3 goals of playing in a grand final....which is something that no other Carlton captain has achieved in a quarter of a century.

So what would be his value right now in a trade? It's a really tricky one cos the club won't hold out on a trade, so you'd imagine it'll be a mutually agreed figure. Assuming it's WCE, they're getting a 2x Brownlow Medallist, 4x All Australian, and 5x B&F Winner - and will most likely be their next captain after Oscar Allen departs the end of the year. He would be a great mentor for their young midfield - especially Reid, who's in desperate need for an experienced on field mentor.

We aint getting a war chest for him....I would hope that we get a mid 1st round pick at the least, which unfortunately is a fairly modest return in what is reportedly a weak draft. But I can't see us getting anything more for him.

Just on a side note, we HAVE to get Cowan into the leadership group. If he does stay at Carlton after Tassie join the comp, he should be on a very short list to be our future captain.

Cripps has been so driven for success I can't see him leaving to go to a club like WCE and go through more rebuilding.

I feel like he could be a good addition to Adelaide, their 1 query right now is midfield and clearance player depth, he'd be someone they'd seriously look at imo.
if he did that, i'd be stalking him for signatures of all my carlton paraphenalia

Cripps in a different system along with Reid could get another 3-4 years out of himself.

Wick and I have been talking on FB messenger, and if the AFL decides to create a first round pick (possible late top 10) that the Weagles need to trade for a veteran to help them out, I'd like to see that pick plus the Hawthorn pick coming our way. Or that pick and a couple of good young players.

The Eagles would potentially still have picks one and two in the draft if Allan attracts a band 1 offer. Otherwise, it's a band 2 end of the first round pick that they could bundle with the Dawks pick to trade higher.

As for Harley Reid... just ****ing no. Good player, yes... extreme white line fever... yes. He's going to be getting reported a couple of times a year I reckon. Just can't stop himself.

Yep - a mid-first-round compo pick would hit a helpful sweet spot. Hypothetically, if it's Pick 11 (ie. after the non-finalists), slides to 12 with the Allen compo, slides to 13 with the TDK compo, slides to 16 or so with some bid matching going on (some will be matched with picks prior to this selection) - that paired with the Hawks first rounder (applying the same adjustments, would be Pick 18) is a starting point.

16 plus 18 plus a player for Cripps. Its probably better for us than making them trade up as well, because the hope would be that the TDK compo sneaks in before Dean, then we could match Dean with one of these picks and use the other.

I actually think it will be a lot more enjoyable than this year, at least we'll be building towards something

On this forum, it really depends. There are (were?) members who thought we’d get a new coach, bring in a couple of players and go again for the 8. To them, this is the worst case scenario that TDK, JSOS, Cripps?, Curnow? and potentially others are leaving. It also means the “failure” of the rebuild.

Others have fully accepted that massive changes will happen and we’re going to be in for some pain before we get better. Easier to accept for this lot, including myself.

I wouldn't be shocked if Wright walks out the door!!
Are you kidding?

This is a dream gig for Wright.

He's been through reboots before, this is his first CEO job, one that he’s coveted.

It’s a dream come true for a football CEO looking to make his mark.

He’ll be like a kid in a candy store - not having to convince anyone to change.

Instead - everyone is asking him - what’s the best way to change?

Show us the way home brother!

gun idea GIF

So I feel like I should comment on the Cripps thing.

It's far from a certainly, he has said he is happy to go home if we go full rebuild and start again.

No jack and no HOF next year, backline will be super thin.
Thanks for the update - I hope the club commits to a rebuild.

We can’t build a flag side with Cripps being the main mid and he doesn’t have the positional flexibility to play elsewhere