List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

So update, turns out my 7 year old and wife were fairly off the mark with who visited the school, this from my school below.
I think Luke Webster (assistant coach) might be a parent at the school and we seem to have uncanny access to 'eagles' players, multiple throughout the year.

View attachment 2388136
They clearly didn't confuse Hall for Petch

Yeah that's true, but it's dumb in other ways.

Namely for the fact we totally misread where our list was at and put all our eggs into another flag push when the cliff was unfortunately incoming for some of our senior players.

Had we just hit the draft with those picks, we'd have a much better age profile, potentially even Warner and Rivers in our team right now. Or we wouldn't, hard to tell. That's me just assuming we'd go after the WA talent.

Once again, not Kelly's fault, it's the clubs. His lack of leadership was definitely something they should've scouted properly though. Every man and his dog assumed Kelly would automatically take this "senior midfield leader" role through our rebuild for the last 3 years of that 6 year deal.. and as we've recently found out, he done anything but
Yeo is still on the list, shame he never plays
I see it as a bit like having priddis on the list but in reverse. Ppl on here still bag priddis out but he was literally the only guy who'd go and get the ball, over and over again. Far and away our best midfielder for ages. It wasn't his fault the club didn't draft anyone to take that mantle off him
Kelly was our best midfielder for a few years there, yeo was dead and we were just drafting KPPs and flankers.
Like you said ,not Kelly's fault, he held up his end of the bargain but we've had plenty of opportunities to draft/trade in mids to take over from him

See now this is what I dispute though cob.

Kellys form has dropped off a cliff completely. Yes he's not a leader, we all get that now, but him rocking up and getting 12 touches a game, like what happened with the majority of this season is well and truly on him not living up to his end of the bargain.

His contribution in 2025… until recently, has been borderline laughable.

That's entirely on Tim Kelly. All the attention is on Harley Reid and he still had his thumb up his ass. We aren't asking him to do too much, he's not getting tagged, we're asking for the bare minimum, and he failed to deliver it for 90% of this season.

The slaying of Cameron on the Pies board after the loss to Brissie wasn't very encouraging.
I'm ambivalent on Cameron, but keen for a price that isn't too exy (2nd rounder at max), but the Pies supporters being upset he didn't do the job in a top 4 clash is very different from our hope he'd be an upgrade on Flynn/B Will.

For us it's like upgrading our clapped out 40 year old Datsun 180B to a 2022 model Merc. Sure it's not a 2025 model, but it's still a ****ton better than what we are driving round.

At the end of 2019 -

Premiership/core players:
Kennedy - 32 : 22 games
Hurn - 32 : 21 games
Jetta - 30 : 22 games
Schofield - 30 : 14 games
Naitanui - 29 : 5 games
Shuey - 29 : 24 games
Redden - 29 : 23 games
Sheppard - 28 : 24 games
Hutchings - 28 : 18 games
Vardy - 28 : 11 games
McGovern - 27 : 23 games
Gaff - 27 : 22 games
Darling - 27 : 24 games
Cripps - 27 : 19 games
Yeo - 26 : 23 games
Barrass - 24 : 14 games
Sheed - 24 : 24 games
Rioli - 24 : 14 games
Duggan - 23 : 15 games
Ryan - 23 : 24 games
Cole - 22 : 14 games
Venables - 21 : 6 games

Developing/depth players:
Ah Chee - 26 : 1 game
Nelson - 23 : 13 games
Waterman - 21 : 13 games
Rotham - 21 : 4 games
Ainsworth - 21 : 0 games
Allen - 20 : 21 games
Petruccelle - 20 : 20 games
Brander - 20 : 2 games
Foley - 20 : 0 games
Edwards - 19 : 0 games
Williams - 19 : 0 games
O’Neill - 19 : 0 games
Cameron - 19 : 7 games

Kelly was 25 and played all 25 games for Geelong in 2019, finished top 5 in the Brownlow, top 2 in Geelong’s B&F and was named on the wing in the AA side

Hurn, McGovern, Darling and Yeo all made the 2019 AA team whilst Shuey, Gaff and Sheppard were all in the 40 man squad

To say we misread where our list was at in 2019 is Captain Hindsight areas at its finest. There was no reason not to believe we were right in the mix for another flag and that Kelly would add significantly to our midfield group

Aside from Kennedy and Hurn, our core players were all under 30 and the majority had played all or most games in 2019 with no indication of the injury carnage to come

In it’s first year the standalone WAFL side made finals, winning one and losing the other by less than a kick suggesting we had some decent talent coming through at the time - even if many of those players failed to come on as anticipated

There’s no way the club could have anticipated what was to come and how impacted the careers of so many key players would be derailed by injury. The belief would have been that list could contend for another 3 years before the core group of players reached 30 and beyond

The cliff came far sooner and more abruptly than anyone could have reasonably foreseen
This is post of the year.
Yes the list management was poor but also very unlucky

The following years we had to meeically retire Venebles, Shepperd and McGovern

Nic Nat had to return from a knee, was AA in 2021 and played 2 games after that

Gaff woke up one day and decided he would suck at football

Shuey and Yeo havent been able to get on the park since 2020.

All those players are top 10

With better luck our demise would of been alot better. Would of probably missed finals but not be statically the worst team over a 4 year period

Don't forget Cameron walking out on the AFL in 2021, Rioli getting banned in 2019 and leaving in 2022, and Winder getting into trouble forcing us to delist him.

You could also go back to Alec Waterman getting glandular fever and destroying his chance at being a midfielder. Being delisted in 2016

We've had the perfect storm of bad luck, poor draft picks and questionable list management.

I see it as a good thing that we imploded and lost a lot of players to injury.
It basically forced our hand to do a total rebuild instead of dragging it out to the now.
Other clubs e.g Collingwood with their older brigade playing g reasonably well, will implode in the next couple of years and have to rebuild while Tassie takes the cream.

I see it as a good thing that we imploded and lost a lot of players to injury.
It basically forced our hand to do a total rebuild instead of dragging it out to the now.
Other clubs e.g Collingwood with their older brigade playing g reasonably well, will implode in the next couple of years and have to rebuild while Tassie takes the cream.

yeah but Victorian clubs are usually the ones who benefit when all that 'talent' gets homesick

That was Simmos doing and was never properly explained,
He had some soft tissue injuries starting to mount up towards the end, but it did seem like a premature end to his playing career. Thought he had another year or two in him. Was very important for our ball movement from the back half.

At the end of 2019 -

Premiership/core players:
Kennedy - 32 : 22 games
Hurn - 32 : 21 games
Jetta - 30 : 22 games
Schofield - 30 : 14 games
Naitanui - 29 : 5 games
Shuey - 29 : 24 games
Redden - 29 : 23 games
Sheppard - 28 : 24 games
Hutchings - 28 : 18 games
Vardy - 28 : 11 games
McGovern - 27 : 23 games
Gaff - 27 : 22 games
Darling - 27 : 24 games
Cripps - 27 : 19 games
Yeo - 26 : 23 games
Barrass - 24 : 14 games
Sheed - 24 : 24 games
Rioli - 24 : 14 games
Duggan - 23 : 15 games
Ryan - 23 : 24 games
Cole - 22 : 14 games
Venables - 21 : 6 games

Developing/depth players:
Ah Chee - 26 : 1 game
Nelson - 23 : 13 games
Waterman - 21 : 13 games
Rotham - 21 : 4 games
Ainsworth - 21 : 0 games
Allen - 20 : 21 games
Petruccelle - 20 : 20 games
Brander - 20 : 2 games
Foley - 20 : 0 games
Edwards - 19 : 0 games
Williams - 19 : 0 games
O’Neill - 19 : 0 games
Cameron - 19 : 7 games

Kelly was 25 and played all 25 games for Geelong in 2019, finished top 5 in the Brownlow, top 2 in Geelong’s B&F and was named on the wing in the AA side

Hurn, McGovern, Darling and Yeo all made the 2019 AA team whilst Shuey, Gaff and Sheppard were all in the 40 man squad

To say we misread where our list was at in 2019 is Captain Hindsight areas at its finest. There was no reason not to believe we were right in the mix for another flag and that Kelly would add significantly to our midfield group

Aside from Kennedy and Hurn, our core players were all under 30 and the majority had played all or most games in 2019 with no indication of the injury carnage to come

In it’s first year the standalone WAFL side made finals, winning one and losing the other by less than a kick suggesting we had some decent talent coming through at the time - even if many of those players failed to come on as anticipated

There’s no way the club could have anticipated what was to come and how impacted the careers of so many key players would be derailed by injury. The belief would have been that list could contend for another 3 years before the core group of players reached 30 and beyond

The cliff came far sooner and more abruptly than anyone could have reasonably foreseen

The club is well aware of how fast our players fall off the cliff after 30. We were only 2-3 years away from most of those players going south with injury and performance quickly.

Kids need to be brought in to replenish outlr list quicker than other clubs who don't travel 80000km a year

Hurn is a rarity.

They ****ed up the 2017 draft taking brander and then ****ed it up by trading our future for Kelly.

No amount of spin absolves Simpson and Nisbett and co of this era we find ourselves in.

always perplexes me how people refer to the "draft picks" we gave up for Kelly but never talk about who the players were

they must've turned into really good players

It's irrelevant who THEY PICKED UP.

Its relevant who we could have picked up. There was plenty of talent for us to pick up and develop players with the picks we traded for Kelly.
4 picks .... 4 players for 1.

We didn't enter the draft in 2019 until pick 49 Callum Jamieson and in 2020 pick 52 Luke Edwards.

Yeah. Tell me again how it was a good decision.

Its relevant who we could have picked up. There was plenty of talent for us to pick up and develop players with the picks we traded for Kelly.

We didn't enter the draft in 2019 until pick 49 Callum Jamieson and in 2020 pick 52 Luke Edwards.

Then every club in the land has made mistakes as bad as trading for Kelly since 2019, because every club has taken a player before a better one, pretty much every single year.

That isnt how drafts work, every club has taken a player ahead of a better one in virtually every draft since the beginning of time. Any successful rookie has by default been overlooked by every club.

Kelly also didnt vacuum up 4 vacant list spots so I'm not sure what you mean by "4 players for 1"

It was perfectly valid logic at the time as Keys has outlined, and no one on here was screaming about it at the time.

See now this is what I dispute though cob.

Kellys form has dropped off a cliff completely. Yes he's not a leader, we all get that now, but him rocking up and getting 12 touches a game, like what happened with the majority of this season is well and truly on him not living up to his end of the bargain.

His contribution in 2025… until recently, has been borderline laughable.

That's entirely on Tim Kelly. All the attention is on Harley Reid and he still had his thumb up his ass. We aren't asking him to do too much, he's not getting tagged, we're asking for the bare minimum, and he failed to deliver it for 90% of this season.
Not many players play to their maximum til the day they retire, especially west Aussies(albeit he had a late start and plsyed in vic)but i agree he's definitely lacking some passion and the contract extension was baffling but copping attention from opposition teams for years in a piss poor team can wear you down i guess
Anyway happy to agree on some points but mainly I disagree that the tim Kelly trade set us back years

always perplexes me how people refer to the "draft picks" we gave up for Kelly but never talk about who the players were

they must've turned into really good players

Because there was a large collection of players we could've taken. You can't just go "Well those players didn't amount to anything so we didn't lose..." because it's a copout.

Warner and Rivers were around the mark as highly rated WA talent in that draft and I personally think we would've gone one of them, but who knows. In all likelihood it probably would've been Dev tbh.

I highly doubt we would've jumped in and drafted the exact player Geelong did in Cooper Stephens with pick 16. The other picks they used to secure Jeremy Cameron, who has been one of the best acquisitions they've ever had and on the verge of kicking 100 goals this season.

It definitely set us back as far as young talent on our list and age profile went. That's the bigger picture. We basically tapped out of 2 entire drafts.

Jamieson at pick 49
Johnson at pick 58.

Edwards at pick 52
Winder at pick 57.

Absolute trash.

The club is well aware of how fast our players fall off the cliff after 30. We were only 2-3 years away from most of those players going south with injury and performance quickly.

Kids need to be brought in to replenish outlr list quicker than other clubs who don't travel 80000km a year

Hurn is a rarity.

They ****ed up the 2017 draft taking brander and then ****ed it up by trading our future for Kelly.

No amount of spin absolves Simpson and Nisbett and co of this era we find ourselves in.
Why does West Coast employ list managers and recruitment managers if the head coach is apparently responsible for all list development decisions. :drunk:

It's a lazy and convenient answer to blame the coach.

Why does West Coast employ list managers and recruitment managers if the head coach is apparently responsible for all list development decisions. :drunk:

It's a lazy and convenient answer to blame the coach.

You obviously missed the part where I said "Simpson and Nisbett and co"

Meaning list managers etc etc. they all are responsible.

Something that I think often gets overlooked regarding our downfall is the number of concussion retirements we've had over the last 5 years. Surely it's the most of any club?

-Brad Sheppard was playing good footy and realistically could have played another 3 or 4 years
  • Dan Vennables, we will never know if he would have made it but he would be a 26 year old midfielder right now, something we desperately need.
  • Luke Edwards, probably was heading towards a delist anyway but thats another young midfielder lost to concussion.
  • Jeremy Mcgovern. Future HOF, All Australian and was arguably our best on field leader and still playing at an AA level.

I hope the club is pointing this out with our Priority pick application as well as the fact our natural picks have all slid massively thanks in part to the charity they have handed to other clubs.

He had some soft tissue injuries starting to mount up towards the end, but it did seem like a premature end to his playing career. Thought he had another year or two in him. Was very important for our ball movement from the back half.
Trained off during the COVID shutdown was the rumour

That was Simmos doing and was never properly explained,

His lack of professionalism was the gist of it. Jetta was never the most disciplined or best trainer off field.

When your talent wanes and injuries start to mount up then those 2 factors above don't buy you as much leeway.

Then every club in the land has made mistakes as bad as trading for Kelly since 2019, because every club has taken a player before a better one, pretty much every single year.

Yeah true but you don't sacrifice 2 drafts of top 50 players worth of talent for tim Kelly.
Carlton didn't even do it for Chris Judd and Kelly isnt any where near Judd.

At least if we held our 4 picks and told Geelong to **** off we had a chance at picking up at least 2 decent players that could be in our midfield with Harley reid now.

Imagine if we picked up Chad Warner and Devon Robertson out of those 4 picks. We would have an a grade and a big body mid to help reid right now.