MRP / Trib. Newcombe hit on Howe

Collingwood player being the victim spells major trouble for Newcombe since MC is running the show
Bullshit, he doesn’t does any favours. That was a bastard act last night, andthe prick smirked as he left the field. Hawks fans in the crowd joking a laughing about it all game. What a pack of grubs.

He was probably just smirking about having to leave the ground to do a 20 minute concussion test.

As if any player intentionally clashes heads with an opponent. Plug your brain in mate.

0 to see here. Two players going hard for the ball, clashed heads, and one ended up coming off second best. I saw nothing deliberate or malicious in any of that. Just an unfortunate accident. It happens sometimes in this game we all love. This is the AFL though, so who knows how their "minds" work with this sort of thing. They could just as easily choose to send him down the river purely on the outcome of the accident.

He was probably just smirking about having to leave the ground to do a 20 minute concussion test.

As if any player intentionally clashes heads with an opponent. Plug your brain in mate.
The AFL have said it doesn't need to be intentional.

The AFL have also said the player has to slow down and change direction when approaching the contest.

If the AFL have any consistency at all (and we know they don't), he's done for the last 2 games of 2025 and the first of 2026.

John Ralph said he made an attempt to tackle but to me it was more like a body check (essentially a bump). Hardly saw any movement of arms to actually grab Howe.

Given we know they take into account duty of care, I reckon he could be suspended. You can't just run into people recklessly and expect there to be zero consequences.

John Ralph said he made an attempt to tackle but to me it was more like a body check (essentially a bump). Hardly saw any movement of arms to actually grab Howe.

Given we know they take into account duty of care, I reckon he could be suspended. You can't just run into people recklessly and expect there to be zero consequences.

But Howe ran into him ? So Howe gets suspended from his own decision ?

Nope.

The contact with Howe was apparently 'severe', because Howe was concussed. Three weeks.

The contact with Newcombe was of a much lower level, because Neecombe wasn't concussed. Zero weeks.

That's how the amazing system works.

Nope.

The contact with Howe was apparently 'severe', because Howe was concussed. Three weeks.

The contact with Newcombe was of a much lower level, because Neecombe wasn't concussed. Zero weeks.

That's how the amazing system works.

May as well be playing netball

Soon you'll get suspended for tripping over a goal umpire that gets in the way of trying to mark or spoil the ball at the goal line.

Once he worked out he wasn't going to get the ball, and change direction to intercept the player he was in trouble based on previous MRP cases.

It should be 3 weeks.

I do wonder with finals on the horizon, if they relax the rules for a few weeks.

Are head on head collisions still considered High by the MRP?

I have no idea. But is it the same with tackling as it is with bumping? As in if you choose to bump you accept all responsibility even if it's a head clash? Then did newcombe really go to tackle? It's a chook lotto.

Love some absolute meat-heads trying to score points. Spot the differences between this contest and Steven May. Or rather, tell me exactly which part of Newcombe's shoulder makes contact with Howe's head.
Why does it have to be his shoulder that makes contact? He concussed the opponent who got to the ball first, whether it was with his shoulder, knee, head or arse that struck him is irrelevant.

Nothing to do with a shoulder, it's entirely outcome based. Second to the ball, had plenty of time to avoid, knocked him out cold.

And I do chordle at all the those saying it will be cleared as he didn't bump...

That was exactly what the AFL conceded in the May 3 week suspension
The AFL tribunal famously doesn't take into account precedence. It's why it's a kangaroo court

Don't think it was a bastard act. None of the Pie players remonstrated with him and even the supporters at the ground struggled to boo him

MRP / Trib. Newcombe hit on Howe