List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Our list stands at 44 after the retirements of McGovern and Sheed

36 - main list
6 - rookie list
2 - Cat B

Dewar had to be shifted off the rookie list to the main list since he’s been at the club for 3 years now making it a 37/5/2 split

Most obvious delistings from the uncontracted players seem to be Jamieson, Hunt, Petruccelle and Rawlinson (R). That only opens up 4 list spots with Allen opening up a 5th if does leave as a FA

Barnett is contracted but has had a poor year and could be delisted and paid out

Cripps and Bazzo appear to be receiving new contracts. Champion will follow soon enough you’d expect

Leaves the following in limbo

• Chesser
• Cole
• Newton (R)
• Livingstone (Cat B)

Based on Allen and TDK getting Band 1 compo and Hawthorn finishing 7th we have picks 1,2,14,20 and 32 at least to use (draft or trade) plus the possibility of adding 2-3 NGA players and a F/S using late picks or adding as Cat B rookies if there’s no bid we need 8-9 spots opened up

From the above we only have 5, maybe 6 if Barnett is cut, meaning we need to we need to create at least 2-3 additional spots through a combination of other delistings, trades out and additional list spots as part of an assistance package

Shows why getting granted some extra list spots is so important and why retaining Cripps could be considered a mistake
They must know something re J Cripps that we don’t know, kicking the odd speccy goal doesn’t seem enough.

Otherwise it’s just jobs for mates which is the policy that has helped to get us in this unbelievable mess.

They must know something re J Cripps that we don’t know, kicking the odd speccy goal doesn’t seem enough.

Otherwise it’s just jobs for mates which is the policy that has helped to get us in this unbelievable mess.
Probably has to do with the fact that the only non-key forwards who have shown they have anything to offer for us this year are Ryan, Cripps and Brockman.

Owies and Long don't seem up to it, Champion is a couple of years away.

The club is well aware of how fast our players fall off the cliff after 30. We were only 2-3 years away from most of those players going south with injury and performance quickly.

Kids need to be brought in to replenish outlr list quicker than other clubs who don't travel 80000km a year

Hurn is a rarity.

They ****ed up the 2017 draft taking brander and then ****ed it up by trading our future for Kelly.

No amount of spin absolves Simpson and Nisbett and co of this era we find ourselves in.
For the condition they left the club in they should be stripped of their life memberships

I just cannot get my head around a list strategy to bolster the reserves. If that’s what we’re doing we need to change the reserves system.

I love Crippa but his retention is mind blogging. 34 in April and hopefully Hewett, Sharp and Cumming rotating through the flanks.
Why is it that all these legends of the club don't hang around for a year after retiring and play WAFL to help the club that made them in the first place.

Our list stands at 44 after the retirements of McGovern and Sheed

36 - main list
6 - rookie list
2 - Cat B

Dewar had to be shifted off the rookie list to the main list since he’s been at the club for 3 years now making it a 37/5/2 split

Most obvious delistings from the uncontracted players seem to be Jamieson, Hunt, Petruccelle and Rawlinson (R). That only opens up 4 list spots with Allen opening up a 5th if does leave as a FA

Barnett is contracted but has had a poor year and could be delisted and paid out

Cripps and Bazzo appear to be receiving new contracts. Champion will follow soon enough you’d expect

Leaves the following in limbo

• Chesser
• Cole
• Newton (R)
• Livingstone (Cat B)

Based on Allen and TDK getting Band 1 compo and Hawthorn finishing 7th we have picks 1,2,14,20 and 32 at least to use (draft or trade) plus the possibility of adding 2-3 NGA players and a F/S using late picks or adding as Cat B rookies if there’s no bid we need 8-9 spots opened up

From the above we only have 5, maybe 6 if Barnett is cut, meaning we need to we need to create at least 2-3 additional spots through a combination of other delistings, trades out and additional list spots as part of an assistance package

Shows why getting granted some extra list spots is so important and why retaining Cripps could be considered a mistake
I feel like we are preparing for more list spots as a assistance package for us. I think Livingstone goes given he hasnt been tried yet and we go with 4 Cat B players as part of assistance and we go with Williams/Evans/Walley/Champion as Cat B players we pre-list. With the above in mind we are probabkly better off to just take 4 picks in the main draft only and use the picks to get in mature agers.

If we go at it like that we then have 5 spots available for just pure draft picks of that picks 1,2,14,20,32 package. We then clearly need 2 mature age players at a minimum. IMO we could just delist Barnett to make it 6.

Its easy for us to go light in this draft if we get 3 young players for free at the other end so in that case we could take 4 picks, get 2 mature agers in and finish up there

My opinion only but think Jack was given a bit of a raw deal by the coach earlier in the season when Archer kept getting picked ahead of him for no real reason as Archer couldnt find the goals and things have just gone south from there - and for whatever reason Jack seems to be carrying more condition than he did last year. I can remember Mark Stone raving about Jack’s potential last year and more or less said “watch this space” - so it’s a bit weird how much Jack has fallen off the perch.
J Williams had a terrific game as a ruck forward vs Gold Coast last year. Maybe this is the positional route he needs to look at? Hard to do that though when both Archer and B Williams are also in contention.

Jack Williams is pigeonholed as a guy who cant ruck for some strange reason... given that when he goes and rucks he actually does it well

Jack Williams is the reason we need a clear out of assistant coaches. Rigid thinkers dont really nurture or grow young talent that well

We are the opposite of that Simpsons scene when Homer cuts everyone

hqdefault.jpg
\
Mini - "Good practice guys. Now for the easiest part of any coaches job, giving out contracts. Although I wasnt able to give all of you 1 year contracts, I have kept alot of you. Kelly is staying, Cripps is staying, Bazzo your re-signed. Barnett, I cant figure out what position on the football field to play you in, thats why I have to keep you. Unfortunately the rest of you have been let go. Except Chesser, Cole and Newton"

At some point you've just got to get over this, and stop being so hysterical about it.

Everything passes, so shall this period.
How many years is that going to take in your opinion. I've been a paid up member for 33 yrs and have been thru good times and bad times, these last 3 seasons have been the worst ever and there is no sign it will get better any time soon.

Why is it that all these legends of the club don't hang around for a year after retiring and play WAFL to help the club that made them in the first place.
Because once they retire from AFL they mentally and physically need a break. They aren't staying in training (at AFL level), to play reserves. It's unfair to ask it of them as well.

Because once they retire from AFL they mentally need a break. They aren't staying in training (at AFL level), to play reserves. It's unfair to ask it of them as well.

Often it's because their bodies are completely shot as well

I'd say we've offered an unders contract to Cole and he's seeing what's available on the free market. We may be happy to see if he can attract a band 3 or 4 pick before we re-sign him

How many years is that going to take in your opinion. I've been a paid up member for 33 yrs and have been thru good times and bad times, these last 3 seasons have been the worst ever and there is no sign it will get better any time soon.
Unfortunately ranting and raving on Bigfooty isn't going to make us better. Try some meditation or deep breathing exercises

There's likely WAFL rules around it that mean that to keep them in the WAFL tier means they're effectively a new recruit - which could cost a lot in terms of the limited space that the Beagles have to play with for topup players.

Lol just get over it mate....just remember as we go through another season next year of losses, getting flogged and only winning 3 games that you've been told to get over it.

Just pay your membership, suck it up and stfu because some flog on big footy told you to.
Geez louise

I'd say we've offered an unders contract to Cole and he's seeing what's available on the free market. We may be happy to see if he can attract a band 3 or 4 pick before we re-sign him
Band 3 is end of second round (so pick ~40 odd based on last year), or in the third round.

I'd rather just keep Cole. We need to keep players in his age range. He's a passable AFL level player. We can't play all kids otherwise it will get worse.

This isn't a compute game where you just ditch everyone over 25 and add 18 year olds.

Go outside and yell at clouds. You'll feel better for it

Band 3 is end of second round (so pick ~40 odd based on last year), or in the third round.

I'd rather just keep Cole. We need to keep players in his age range. He's a passable AFL level player. We can't play all kids otherwise it will get worse.

This isn't a compute game where you just ditch everyone over 25 and add 18 year olds.
Yes passable, experienced and right age group V a kid that may or may not make it in 3 years

There's likely WAFL rules around it that mean that to keep them in the WAFL tier means they're effectively a new recruit - which could cost a lot in terms of the limited space that the Beagles have to play with for topup players.

We don’t go anywhere near our points limit for top up players, I think we could easily afford to keep on one or two delisted/retired players, as we’ve done in the past with Nelson, Brayshaw and McInnes.

Don't disagree but maybe we have some trade targets in mind that will require picks.
If there is one area of the ground that we can afford to lose a player, it is the HBF/back pocket.
Allan/Hough/Grego/Baker/Duggan/HJ/McCarthy/Ginbey/Maric even Dewar has been playing there