Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
All we have is seemingly pressure small forwards that tackle and harass but none of them hit the scoreboard with any regularity (I'm convinced this is down to poor coaching however).

I don't mind if Rosas comes in as the the real offensive threat. Our current smalls are aske to play the small forward role with defensive, back-pocket mentality.
They hit the scoreboard - just not the goals - Fogarty, White & Motlop (plus Evans before this week) are all going 50/50 at best Goals V Behinds. We can get a lot of improvement in their output just by improving the accuracy

Aware we needed to move on some players to rebuild and some were not by choice.

But there was definitely a blow it all to hell attitude like some supporters have now with Walsh, Curnow etc. That’s basically what we did and we suffered badly for a number of years because of it.

The logic was that we would get all these talented players with picks over the coming years.

The reality is outside of 2015 and TDK (not counting Walsh because he was the moss obvious pick ever) our drafting was abysmal and we suffered years of pain for a pretty ordinary return.

You will always have opinions on the extremes, but I don't think it was the attitude of the majority. Many were dirty on Henderson for checking out early in the season, but happy with what we got for him. I also don't recall predictions that we would be getting heaps of talent with draft picks, because we never really planned on bottoming out for years. Each draft year raises the spectre of trading players to get to the top of the draft though.

Fortunately or unfortunately, we have a lot of top end players who are out of form, and also potentially looking for success asap. I don't feel like anybody wants to blow it all to hell, and certainly wouldn't be if those players were playing well.

Jon Ralph reported yesterday that we are one of the Victorian clubs chasing Liam Ryan

As far as improved late season effort by some of our top players goes, maybe Voss' recent comments about how good the young kids have been has pricked a few higher-priced egos and spurred them into action. Don't know anything, just spitballing.

Which top players do you think improved late in the season? Maybe Cripps, potentially Charlie but it was such a small sample. I kind of feel that it was the younger guys who did almost all of the improving.

All we have is seemingly pressure small forwards that tackle and harass but none of them hit the scoreboard with any regularity (I'm convinced this is down to poor coaching however).

I don't mind if Rosas comes in as the the real offensive threat. Our current smalls are aske to play the small forward role with defensive, back-pocket mentality.
He's not a big, consistent goal scoring threat.

15 goals in 15 games at VFL level, with 1 game of 2 goals and another with 4, so lots of games with minimal impact.

I think they've tried to transition him into an upfield contributer instead of just a small forward.

Jon Ralph reported yesterday that we are one of the Victorian clubs chasing Liam Ryan

Why? Takes precious game time away from the Tank

You will always have opinions on the extremes, but I don't think it was the attitude of the majority. Many were dirty on Henderson for checking out early in the season, but happy with what we got for him. I also don't recall predictions that we would be getting heaps of talent with draft picks, because we never really planned on bottoming out for years. Each draft year raises the spectre of trading players to get to the top of the draft though.

Fortunately or unfortunately, we have a lot of top end players who are out of form, and also potentially looking for success asap. I don't feel like anybody wants to blow it all to hell, and certainly wouldn't be if those players were playing well.
There was definitely talk of us being on the bottom of the ladder for a number of years. The GWS fill ins etc were all part of Silvagni’s grand plan to eventually get us back to contention by accumulating all this talent in the draft.

All I am really arguing is that this notion that you can ship off a Curnow etc and just easily replace them is completely ridiculous.

Theoretically even if you get some picks and hit on them, a key forward won’t be ready for consistent impactful footy for a number of years.

That’ll be taking us backwards which doesn’t tie in with keeping Voss around and what Wright has said about us wanting to win more footy games.

Anyone implying we wouldn’t go backwards is being ridiculous.

We’re already going to be taking a hit next year with no TDK and no Silvagni.

I’d take Rosas every day and twice on Sundays and replace Fogarty

Which top players do you think improved late in the season? Maybe Cripps, potentially Charlie but it was such a small sample. I kind of feel that it was the younger guys who did almost all of the improving.

In terms of the change after Voss was announced to be staying:

TDK to my eye at least looked like he was playing with a little more urgency. Kind of aligns with the suggestion that St Kilda's offer might be trending down, or he is/was considering staying at Carlton.

Saad was much more attacking, still had that poor defensive lapse on the wing but he looked like he was trying to make a bit more happen the other way.

Acres was a bit more up and about.

Harry stepped up, but I'm not sure he was one who'd ever really checked out like some others had, seemed more form than effort.

I reckon Haynes and Hewett were par for the course in terms of their effort throughout the season. Cripps has tapered - more likely to be fitness-related though.

Weiters was one who I don't think covered himself in glory - looked like he knew he wasn't gonna be keeping up with the Suns' forwards and as a result he only seemed to be going at 80%.

Other than that - the rest of the team were kids and fringe players who don't have the luxury of picking and choosing when they try (their limitations are more around ability than application).

Could we not pillage Port Power, please?

I understand Voss has links there, but that's not a positive thing. Opposition and new voices are wanted, not his mates.
Head of footy is there to support

It's the assistants that are key for me

But agree on the point. Couldn't we pillage Geelong or Brisbane or something!

TDK to my eye at least looked like he was playing with a little more urgency. Kind of aligns with the suggestion that St Kilda's offer might be trending down, or he is/was considering staying at Carlton.

Saad was much more attacking, still had that poor defensive lapse on the wing but he looked like he was trying to make a bit more happen the other way.

Harry stepped up, but I'm not sure he was one who'd ever really checked out like some others had, seemed more form than effort.

I reckon Haynes and Hewett were par for the course in terms of their effort throughout the season. Cripps has tapered - more likely to be fitness-related though.

Weiters was one who I don't think covered himself in glory - looked like he knew he wasn't gonna be keeping up with the Suns' forwards and as a result he only seemed to be going at 80%.

Other than that - the rest of the team were kids and fringe players who don't have the luxury of picking and choosing when they try (their limitations are more around ability than application).

It's way to hard to tell off one game. Acres is way too hard to read. Capable of so much, good and bad.

The whole team showed urgency in that last quarter. Hard to know if they doing it for Voss, themselves, or each other. They got a sniff and lifted, but like most times when that happens, we left too much to do too late.

I understand Voss has links there, but that's not a positive thing. Opposition and new voices are wanted, not his mates.

Hinkley was hugely rated before he came across from Geelong. He had immediate impact at Port and won far more than he lost. imo he never had the cattle for a flag but he slightly overachieved with the list he had most years. Port fans have brainwashed the general footy fan into thinking Hinkley is the worst coach of all time.

I agree it's a bit eye-rolly that we reunite him and Voss, but I guess he would know Voss' strengths & weaknesses more than anyone else and could hit the ground running vs. someone getting to know Voss, and potentially entrusting him with areas he shouldn't.

Biggest concern for mine is, I heard directly from a former Port player that Ken was/is brutal in making players play through injury. He better leave that in Adelaide.

There was definitely talk of us being on the bottom of the ladder for a number of years. The GWS fill ins etc were all part of Silvagni’s grand plan to eventually get us back to contention by accumulating all this talent in the draft.

All I am really arguing is that this notion that you can ship off a Curnow etc and just easily replace them is completely ridiculous.

Theoretically even if you get some picks and hit on them, a key forward won’t be ready for consistent impactful footy for a number of years.

That’ll be taking us backwards which doesn’t tie in with keeping Voss around and what Wright has said about us wanting to win more footy games.

Anyone implying we wouldn’t go backwards is being ridiculous.

We’re already going to be taking a hit next year with no TDK and no Silvagni.

When you compare it to what these guys have shown for their careers, it seems you could replace the level with some good honest footballers. You might not hit the highs, but you also won't hit the lows and you won't be paying as much. What we really can't afford is for million dollar players to play like they have the last year or two, whilst they are nearing 30 and their value is decreasing rapidly. Sooner or later you have to make these decisions, rather than allow them to retire and have less coming up undernearth them.

Agree BB. I think the overall lift in the last quarter to me showed there wasn’t a disconnect or loss of the playing group by Voss that some have claimed.

That was the most pleasing takeaway for me.

When you compare it to what these guys have shown for their careers, it seems you could replace the level with some good honest footballers. You might not hit the highs, but you also won't hit the lows and you won't be paying as much. What we really can't afford is for million dollar players to play like they have the last year or two, whilst they are nearing 30 and their value is decreasing rapidly. Sooner or later you have to make these decisions, rather than allow them to retire and have less coming up undernearth them.
Curnow was playing well last season until his ankle gave out. Cripps won the Brownlow. Weitering was great. Walsh maybe not as good as 2023 but he was still pretty good.

l don’t think any of these guys are the problem long term and if you are to win a flag you need elite footballers like them. That’s the reality. Pies, Lions etc all have high end talents.

They’ve all been pretty useless this year i agree but this entire season has been a disaster. Starting with the coaching, the cutting of the list, injury management etc the list goes on. They have to take some ownership, but it’s not as clear cut as saying oh just get rid of one or two of them and find lesser players to do similar jobs.

The best thing for the club will be them avoiding blowing big salary on retaining TDK and getting rid of some of the mid tier players who are nowhere like McGovern, Acres, Saad etc

100%. Voss may not know it (or want it) but the club needs people that will challenge his ideas as much as support them.

surely the below is not too much to ask!?

Danny Daley - Head of Strategy & Ball Movement
Jimmy Bartel - GM of Football
Daniel Pratt - Senior Assistant.
Ken Hinkley - Coaching Director