Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
Looks like my mail on Lloyd was good but Voss not so good. Apologies for the wrong info. I haven't heard anything new but personal opinion is Voss isn't entirely safe and won't last till the end of his contract.
Doesn’t matter whether your right or wrong mate.
Keep sending them in!
You will win some and lose some! But the rumours make the place imo

100%. Voss may not know it (or want it) but the club needs people that will challenge his ideas as much as support them.

surely the below is not too much to ask!?

Danny Daley - Head of Strategy & Ball Movement
Jimmy Bartel - GM of Football
Daniel Pratt - Senior Assistant.
Ken Hinkley - Coaching Director
How do you know Davies wouldn’t challenge him? That’s a pretty big leap

So you put Charlie's lack of effort for much of the season down to not being fit?

He has never had the work rate and second efforts of Jeremy Cameron, that's just demonstrably wrong.

The lack of effort from Curnow and several other senior players is at least half the reason we are in this position.
TBH even though they have JC, I'd be dangling Charlie in front of Geelong. Curnow for Dempsey straight up I'd do.
Charlie is a Torquay boy, and fits the Geelong surfer mould. I'd rather keep Harry and develop Moir/Kemp.

How could you watch them and think it’s the effort losing them games?

Good lord.

Have you seen the skills, lack of speed and structure

Teams just absorb our initial pressure, then once they wear us down, they systematically destroy us.
I absolutely believe the effort of some of our senior players is in question and I want to see them gone. Period. We need to get them off the list.

Sammy Edmund just linked us with Matthew Egan and Chris Davies for head of football role on Sportsday. Hinkley unlikely to join, wants a break.

It's way to hard to tell off one game. Acres is way too hard to read. Capable of so much, good and bad.

The whole team showed urgency in that last quarter. Hard to know if they doing it for Voss, themselves, or each other. They got a sniff and lifted, but like most times when that happens, we left too much to do too late.
If Cottrell is fit I’d much rather he get a game ahead of Acres.

Acres is one the players we should make a ruthless decision on this off season IMO

What does Hinkley bring that Voss does not already know, having been a Hinkley Protege?. Also Hinkley is an huge upgrade on Lloyd but he is not a winner. Appointments via premiership environments please
would 2007 and 2009 premierships at Geelong count as premiership environment?

Believe it or not but he (allegedly) fought like hell to get back the week before he did and even then he was thoroughly underdone.

I believe he went into the season with the mind raring to go and the body unwilling to do what he wanted it to do. Consequently, over time he's dropped his head more and more losing faith in himself so the output was the opposite of what he would've been happy with.

I really don't blame him for considering his options at the point when he did. He and his team would be kidding themselves if they didn't have those chats. I'm glad that they've arrived at the decision that he and the club both agree on and we move forward.
Hey Wickzki.
After looking around do you think Charlie can come back fully motivated and committed to us again ?
I know he wanted out and was disappointed it couldn’t happen so I’m worried he’ll just go through the motions.
What do you guys reckon ?

What does Hinkley bring that Voss does not already know, having been a Hinkley Protege?. Also Hinkley is an huge upgrade on Lloyd but he is not a winner. Appointments via premiership environments please
Hinkley wouldn't be replacing Lloyd - he'd be more like director of coaching (or similar title). You'd have a seperate football manager.

I doubt whether Hinkley will come over anyway. He'd be due a break you'd think. Do a bit in the media for a year and suss out his options for a while.

Hinkley was hugely rated before he came across from Geelong. He had immediate impact at Port and won far more than he lost. imo he never had the cattle for a flag but he slightly overachieved with the list he had most years. Port fans have brainwashed the general footy fan into thinking Hinkley is the worst coach of all time.

I agree it's a bit eye-rolly that we reunite him and Voss, but I guess he would know Voss' strengths & weaknesses more than anyone else and could hit the ground running vs. someone getting to know Voss, and potentially entrusting him with areas he shouldn't.

Biggest concern for mine is, I heard directly from a former Port player that Ken was/is brutal in making players play through injury. He better leave that in Adelaide.
Hinkley absolutely had cattle for a flag, in at least two seasons - you don't make prelims by accident. That said, yes, the Power fans have been vicious in their assessment of Hinkley (we aren't alone on that front). In all seriousness, he wouldn't be the worst option for us although I hope that scenario doesn't take place.