EPL EPL SC 2025/26

My memory for things like team names is non-existent, so forgive me for the lack of recognition! Did you win? 🥳
You made a big move with a heap of NC lads in the early double, where I went a little more conservative.
I kept some trades up my sleeve for later DGWs that never came.
(Hence my gripe about game weeks seemingly being made up the week before! 🙄🤗)
[I had 2 (3 even?) boosts left at the end...did use all my trades tho eventually]

I have no idea what the Super League is, and so definitely won't miss it. 😂

Somewhat strangely, my best season in this version of the game coincided with my worst FPL finish for years. I'd built an impressive (to me... 😊) run of top 1% finishes over the last dozen or so years, but I was consistently one step behind last season. Never got any momentum.
(Although with the amount of "content" available these days Geelong people when to play chips and how to play D/BGWs, it's definitely getting harder to finish at the pointy end.

I do like to get creative with my team names, but last year was a real favourite, so I might go back to back.
(I've been messing around with something like Darwin's Bombed, but it's not really in the best taste...)
Yeah, I had a heap of trades so went with Pope, Trippier and Barnes. The Pope PKS got my around 26 pts and really nailed it. I still had a boost and transfer at the end as well, so I too go conservatively most times, but take risks when I can afford it.

The Super League 20 has been the top league for the last 4 seasons. It's comprised of 20 of the top 150 managers I can find. We have 14 of the top 46 this season.

Yeah, same here for FPL. Finished 500k, after a fair start. Worst finish before that was 250k. I've had 6 x top 17k finishes in the past. But you're correct, content makes it more competitive. Extra boosts also makes it easier to catch up. So it's no longer having the best players most of the time. You can 'fake' it with boosting successfully.

If Salah goes big I'll cop it I guess. Going to back him to drop in price and ideally get him after AFCON. I'm not paying top dollar for a guy already missing 5-6 games. He's also coming off a career best season.

Having given it some thought 44 trades through 38 rounds is not many, so I'll try to play it a bit like old school AFL SC. Start as many "keepers" as possible and maximise cash gen early and look to pick off the big guns as they drop in price.

I'm predicting there will be a lot of folk (like me) coming over from AFL SC where the trading pace is faster, so many will be out of trades long before the end.

Going to back Fernandes to hold his price better than Salah.
I was about to say, "You're handling this like AFL SC", but you beat me to it.
I disagree, as I starting playing AFL SC, and found it's different to EPL SC.
But clearly you understand the game plans, and that's the most important thing.
Wrong or right, it will be excellent experience for you, and you will no doubt hone your skills and be ready to challenge top spots in 3 years.

I was about to say, "You're handling this like AFL SC", but you beat me to it.
I disagree, as I starting playing AFL SC, and found it's different to EPL SC.
But clearly you understand the game plans, and that's the most important thing.
Wrong or right, it will be excellent experience for you, and you will no doubt hone your skills and be ready to challenge top spots in 3 years.
Oh I've no doubt it's different.

I played FPL for a season and lost interest and that may happen here. Found the timezones a challenge (NZT), due to the way the teams are not named until very close to the matches. (There was a chap here that won FPL a few years ago, and he got a bit of publicity near the end, sounded like his life was hell for the last month, he was basically not sleeping over the weekends)

I'm sure I'll make plenty of mistakes as I'm quite out of touch with the EPL these days, but it will fill the time until the AFL season rolls around again :)

Who do you see as the best cash cows btw?

The scoring in this game looks so volatile I'm struggling to pick cheap players.

Was planning on just taking the high ownership guys and correcting based on BE's
A lot of the high ownership is 'the blind leading the blind'.

Got for set piece takers. They take a cross and it hits their team mate, 0.5 pts for a SC. Their team mate has a shot with that pass, 0.5 pts for a KP. Pts for free, similar to guys that take kick outs in AFL.

Stach and KDH were taking SPs in pre-season.

I like Adingra of all SUN players. Good pts for his cameos for BRI last season. Now with more time, can amplify his scores.

Diouf and Truffert are popular DEF. I don't think they're the best, but when in doubt, follow the herd.
They have potential, just not proven at the highest level.

Leeds players offer great value. I think Rodon is the value pick of the $3.5m.
Ampadu is a favourite, but could see competition from new boys Bijol and Longstaff, even though I expect him to start GW1.

Dunk looks nailed now that Webster is out. Not sure of the BRI new boys, but I'd like to think he gets 4 weeks minimum.

Bogle isn't fit, but one for the watchlist, along with Grealish, McAtee and Rodri.

Great post. Appreciate the effort :thumbsu:

So in theory we're looking to ride the BE AND a good run. Expanding your example, start Adingara, hold for 2 months and hope for an increase to 7+ million, then sideways (or downgrade for cash) to a midpricers with a good run, ride them to 10mil then sideways again to a premo that's had a drop in price.

From my starting team I have 3 definite keepers (Bruno, Haaland, Palmer) and a couple of maybes (Sanchez/Watkins/Ekitike). If I get lucky I need 5 upgrades, which feels much more doable with 44 trades.
Doubt you'll have Adingra for 2 months. Cash gen in this game is far quicker than AFL. They don't 'moo' too long.
If you see $2m profit, it's a good trade, so usually you take it if the spike score is about to drop off.
Calculating BEs isn't definitive. It varies from season to season, and even changes within the season.
The best guide I can give, is that $1m is 1 pts (maybe more like 1.05 pts). And deviation from the BE is $75k for 1 pt.
So to make $1m profit, the player would have to be 14 pts above BE.
As for putting the profits to use, it's either grab a fallen premo coming up to a good run, and bottomed out BE, or bank it, grab another cash cow, then grab profit from a few and do an upgrade. Depends on options available at the time of course, like AFL.

Oh I've no doubt it's different.

I played FPL for a season and lost interest and that may happen here. Found the timezones a challenge (NZT), due to the way the teams are not named until very close to the matches. (There was a chap here that won FPL a few years ago, and he got a bit of publicity near the end, sounded like his life was hell for the last month, he was basically not sleeping over the weekends)

I'm sure I'll make plenty of mistakes as I'm quite out of touch with the EPL these days, but it will fill the time until the AFL season rolls around again :)
FPL doesn't have a rolling lockout, so is actually easier. This is a nightmare with rolling lockouts.
Gotta have excellent sleep techniques to manage this and life and function properly.

Current Draft

Usually just play FPL
epl1.png

Goalkeepers - Also considering Perri, Verbruggen & roefs (considering not having a GK loop)

Defenders - Probably would have Bogle if he was fully fit. Esteve & Joe Rodon are interesting at bargain prices

Midfielders - Still working through midfield options, heavily considering dewsbury-hall

Forwards - also considering Thiago, Haaland & Watkins

Final side (i think)

Cheap keeper.

Fairly stacked defence. Will rotate based on fixture, could go horribly wrong or very well

Cheap midfield. Happy to take a punt on Reijnders, im not overly confident but at that price he could excel. Plenty of bail out options if he is benched or does poorly. Sarr looks like a decent early option. Wont be a long term pick but 2 or 3 early spike games and he will have done his job. KDH is cheap. Dont really think he will get heaps of attacking returns but hopefully picks up a fair few misc points. Everton may be better at attacking this season with their new acquisitions? At 3.9M he doesnt have to do much. King seems to be in favour at Fulham. Cheap enabler, if he can get 60 minutes a week and maybe 1 attacking return early on he will be decent. Not expecting much at all.

Forwards are tough to pick i reckon. I simplified things by going with Salah and Haaland but then F3 is the big question. I really like Fullkrug but as much as i like him, there are more expensive options that i think will be awesome and still offer value even at their higher price point. Watkins, Wirtz, Saka, Gyokeres, even PODS like Gakpo or Rogers. I think id probably go Watkins given the fixtures but im happy to go for Fullkrug to make me cash and then ill assess the options. If i could downgrade Reijnders to a cheap mid and upgrade Fullkrug to Watkins in one hit i would do it. However, it doesnt make me enough cash and id have to drop a defender too and honestly i really like my 5 attacking backs structure. So Fullkrug is in.

For what its worth i did experiment with a no Salah team and while it was okay, i just cant go for it. If Salah starts on fire, you will have had to have nailed all of the 2 or 3 selections that you were able to make spreading the cash. I will say that a Haaland, Watkins, Wirtz setup also appeals and you can spread the cash in other positions but i still think it would likely be more beneficial to go Salah, Haaland & 1 of Watkins/Wirtz.

Screenshot 2025-08-15 at 9.41.16 am.png

Okay, I know nothing about this game so hoping not to come last, just picked some players who were under discussion in FPL 😂

1755215935068.jpeg

Good luck everyone!​

How does it work with emergencies when you have two players on the bench for the same position?
Lowest score. If you have 2 non players starting in a position and 2 on the bench, you only get 1 emergency score

View attachment 2395658
Adingra vs Harrison to make early money until Rodri is fit. Any thoughts on who’s best for cash gen?

Also still deciding on whether Walker should replace one of my three cheap defenders.
Not sure Yoro is a lock at United. Sounds like attacking full backs are better scorers in this format.

De Cuyper getting a lot of hype, Diouf @ West Ham, Hartmarr @ Burnley taking corners apparently.

I've landed on this team for now which leaves me with exactly zero pounds in the bank but there could still be some late changes.

Screenshot 2025-08-15 160157.png

I couldn't decide between Porro and VVD in defence so I got both but I had to go cheap in the midfield apart from Palmer to do it.

I'm not that sure if Grealish will be starting for Everton either, he hasn't been named as a starter in any of their predicted line ups that I've seen so far but I can switch him with Ampadu if he is named on the bench providing that Ampadu is a starter for Leeds.

Gotta admit, I did have a 5 minute stretch this afternoon when I removed Fullkrug, to the advantage of the value in the Mids...
...ended up deciding that a stronger defence was the play. I just don't think many of the cheaper D's will be worth it.
(I mean, there will definitely be a spike game or 4, but they'll be random players I haven't even considered).

I think Leeds are worth waiting for week 3 to assess. The 'perfect' potential correction trades.
It's a shame that Sunderland went out and recruited 2 potentially quality left backs...

3 mid-priced Defenders, no Salah, no Haaland. What could possibly go wrong?...

Good luck all!

EPL EPL SC 2025/26