Research Data gaps + big projects

I wonder if that’s the first U18’s carnival.

Seeing the complete set of U12, U15, U16 and U18 list with DOB, H + W and club of origin would be worth seeing and displayed.

Imagine, for example, seeing an U12 mention of Peter Hudson from about 1958 or Bob Skilton in an U16’s squad from about 1953.

Just above are my notes on the 1924 Carnival...I did this a year ago and I think I signed off on it, so to speak, aside from three things - that WA question mark, the Smiths representing Tasmania, and the Tas origin clubs for their players (might have stalled on that because of the Smiths, because it's actually a pretty easy task, can't remember). If I've gone to the trouble of creating the game by game ladders, then I would have settled on the scores, so the WA ? is probably accidentally left there. Hec Smith was one Smith, and the other guy (H.O.) was from Lefroy...I don't know who E.Smith is, but I suspect he was the more senior H.O.Smith, because Hec at this time hadn't gone on to be the champion he ended up being. I couldn't find any background detail on NSW and Qld players...would love that, I'd have the whole set then! Sources are all the mainland main papers, every Tasmanian paper, the 1947 Tasmanian yearbook by Jack Donnelly, and some random websites.
I'm quite certain this will be H. O. Smith:
1753156602906.png
1753156686311.png
1753156649450.png
1753156763938.png

This is Harold's brother, Eric:
1753156532008.png
He should be the E. Smith:
1753157535031.png
1753157574972.png

View attachment 2374413
View attachment 2374417
View attachment 2374416
View attachment 2374418

View attachment 2374412
View attachment 2374429
View attachment 2374430
Thanks 35Daicos - much appreciated! I've added the personal and family details to the profiles of Leslie, Eric and Harold "Nip" Smith as provided. The full name of "H. O. Smith" had been bugging me for some time.

On another note for recent research, I have been also working on the TFL records in its early years (along with Tasmanian representatives at carnivals) - with an emphasis on Cananore/Lefroy since the clubs were disbanded (in a way) post the second wartime competition suspension. For those interested, there are some quirky aspects of pre-1941 seasons of the TFL/TANFL, wherein not only was it not uncommon to cancel entire round-robins at the end of the season, but that the later rounds were worth more premiership points than the earlier ones. One season where this caused a headache was the 1936 TANFL season wherein there was debate as to which team had the "right to challenge" since North Hobart was on the top of the ladder but Lefroy had the best win-loss record. Shoutout to Bassoon for providing much of the pre-1941 match results.

Unfortunately for New Town / Glenorchy, there used to be quite detailed pages on the Glenorchy Magpies site (formerly a stats site), but it seems like it has been replaced by the club. I did capture all of the coaches before it was too late, but missed out on the rest (inc. captains).

Don't worry, it's all been archived!

Just click the link below and browse as normal:

Just above are my notes on the 1924 Carnival...I did this a year ago and I think I signed off on it, so to speak, aside from three things - that WA question mark, the Smiths representing Tasmania, and the Tas origin clubs for their players (might have stalled on that because of the Smiths, because it's actually a pretty easy task, can't remember). If I've gone to the trouble of creating the game by game ladders, then I would have settled on the scores, so the WA ? is probably accidentally left there. Hec Smith was one Smith, and the other guy (H.O.) was from Lefroy...I don't know who E.Smith is, but I suspect he was the more senior H.O.Smith, because Hec at this time hadn't gone on to be the champion he ended up being. I couldn't find any background detail on NSW and Qld players...would love that, I'd have the whole set then! Sources are all the mainland main papers, every Tasmanian paper, the 1947 Tasmanian yearbook by Jack Donnelly, and some random websites.
This is who I've currently got for the 1924 Tasmanian team (ignore the obviously incorrect goal tallies, haven't gotten around to updating those yet):
1753248448253.png
Some players I don't have any details beyond the first initial. If you happen to have those (and any other details, e.g. DOB/family), it would be amazing.

This is who I've currently got for the 1924 Tasmanian team (ignore the obviously incorrect goal tallies, haven't gotten around to updating those yet):
View attachment 2375195
Some players I don't have any details beyond the first initial. If you happen to have those (and any other details, e.g. DOB/family), it would be amazing.
I included a link to this in my post: https://tasfootymuseum.com.au/our-collection/#photos
There's names, clubs and photos of at least some of those players there (from c. 1923). A quick look shows it has Cumming, Gleeson and Trethewey for a start.

It doesn't have all the details you asked for, but it should help a fair bit.

Same with this link: https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/233522153

Edit: Oops, I just noticed that wasn't directed to me, but never mind!!

Gibbke
Re the 1924 Carnival:
If you are looking for club details of the Queensland players, perhaps this may be helpful.
1753338995851.png

I noted that you had "Unknown" on your list, so I left it included. A quick check of my "More Of The Kangaroo", and I saw it mentioned that Qld copped 4 injuries in the first game...and got progressively worse by the end of the carnival. By the end, we struggled to field a full team - so I wonder if "Unknown" may have been a ring-in of some manner.

Not that it is directly relevant to the carnival, but I also found that players Dalton, Gilchrist, Marsh, Ponting, & Wood were selected but unable to make the journey to Hobart.

Anyway, I hope this is useful for you.

Completely forgot about the WayBack Machine! Speaking of which, does anyone happen to know what happened to Draftguru? Luckily it's also been archived so I can continue to consolidate trade period data, but I'm curious about what happened there.

Self quote (big exposure of thyself) here.

View attachment 2374413
View attachment 2374417
View attachment 2374416
View attachment 2374418

View attachment 2374412
View attachment 2374429
View attachment 2374430
Gold. Thanks for this.

View attachment 2375195
Thanks for this, brilliant.

Gibbke
Re the 1924 Carnival:
If you are looking for club details of the Queensland players, perhaps this may be helpful.
View attachment 2375876

I noted that you had "Unknown" on your list, so I left it included. A quick check of my "More Of The Kangaroo", and I saw it mentioned that Qld copped 4 injuries in the first game...and got progressively worse by the end of the carnival. By the end, we struggled to field a full team - so I wonder if "Unknown" may have been a ring-in of some manner.

Not that it is directly relevant to the carnival, but I also found that players Dalton, Gilchrist, Marsh, Ponting, & Wood were selected but unable to make the journey to Hobart.

Anyway, I hope this is useful for you.
Thanks mate, this is great. Unknown was there simply because the team list in the paper only had 17 players. Would love to know your source - I do intend to do this in every carnival Tassie was involved with, which means more Qld sides...

View attachment 2375195
1754547245947.png
1754546480779.png
Maybe this^ is the C. Scott you're looking for>:
1754546890629.png
Looks like it, but what is his proper name?:
1754547218225.png
1754548527662.png
This should be his proper name (Charles), since he played with Scottsdale:
1754564206338.png
1754564892851.png
It seems Alan/Allan Nicholson moved to Queensland at some stage after the 1924 Carnival, and ended up playing for that state:
1754567582841.png
1754567795179.png
1754568498828.png

1754568657952.png

I think this would be the same chap all the way through:
1754568709245.png

1754568768752.png

A project that I have finally gotten around to starting is digitising all of my old Football Records/Budgets/Recorders/Programmes, etc. and converting them from print to PDF files.

I finally found a colour scanner that I was happy with at the right price recently and last weekend I began the process of digitising all my non-VFL/AFL editions (they are at the SLV website so no need to scan them myself any time soon).

I have a number of tubs to go through, so as you could imagine when they have all been done it will free up some space in the study. I have a 2TB drive to store them - these scanned editions will be combined with the recent ones that leagues are now uploading to their websites (WAFL, Gippsland, Mid Gippsland, Ellinbank, Warrnambool District, etc).

Depending on the condition of the editions, I am either guillotining the spine and feeding them through the scanner or, for the editions with thinner or older paper, I have been photocopying the pages two to an A4 sheet.

So, if you are about to have a spring-clean and you have some old records from metro or country leagues (any state or territory) packed away that could potentially be in the line of fire for disposal, then please message me beforehand so that I can have the chance to scan them so that they can be preserved in electronic form.

Even if they have rusty staples, scores written in, a bit of scribble on them or they are folded or dog-eared, I will try my best to get them scanned and save a little bit of grassroots footy history.

A project that I have finally gotten around to starting is digitising all of my old Football Records/Budgets/Recorders/Programmes, etc. and converting them from print to PDF files.

I finally found a colour scanner that I was happy with at the right price recently and last weekend I began the process of digitising all my non-VFL/AFL editions (they are at the SLV website so no need to scan them myself any time soon).

I have a number of tubs to go through, so as you could imagine when they have all been done it will free up some space in the study. I have a 2TB drive to store them - these scanned editions will be combined with the recent ones that leagues are now uploading to their websites (WAFL, Gippsland, Mid Gippsland, Ellinbank, Warrnambool District, etc).

Depending on the condition of the editions, I am either guillotining the spine and feeding them through the scanner or, for the editions with thinner or older paper, I have been photocopying the pages two to an A4 sheet.

So, if you are about to have a spring-clean and you have some old records from metro or country leagues (any state or territory) packed away that could potentially be in the line of fire for disposal, then please message me beforehand so that I can have the chance to scan them so that they can be preserved in electronic form.

Even if they have rusty staples, scores written in, a bit of scribble on them or they are folded or dog-eared, I will try my best to get them scanned and save a little bit of grassroots footy history.
Good luck with the project. I started 15 years ago with the WAFL Budgets, but have branched out into the Westside Football, club history books, Sunday football programs and most recently, the WAFL minutes from 1902 to 48. Currently scanning John Wood's book of Magarey Medallists and still have Cricketer and Inside Edge magazines to keep me busy during the summer months.

How much of the WAFL budgets do you have digitised?

I'll just throw this in here - absolutely any and every record or mag anywhere that mentions Tassie, anything - I'm interested! Even if I've already got the info in it, cross referencing is a big thing and my sources can be riddled with inconsistencies and typos...the more the better...!

In return, what I've got in context of the people I'm talking to here might be a bit meagre, but we'll see how we go...!

Were the WAFL minutes ever published for the public?

I’ve been uploading TAC Cup scores to AustralianFootball.com.

Have got through 1994–97 and am a third of the way through 1998, which leaves only 1999 to go until we have every single score up online, which will be quite the achievement. Venues and start times for every match from 1997 onwards too, and most from 1992 and 1993. It’s only 1994–96 where there are gaps (for now), but this should be able to be corrected so long as we can track down some U18-specific football records of the era.

Research Data gaps + big projects