Autopsy AFL 2025 Rd 24 - Lions v Hawks - Sun August 24th 7:20pm AEST (Gabba)

BRISBANE LIONS vs HAWTHORN - Who will win?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 6 6.9%
  • Lions by 7-20

Votes: 27 31.0%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 7 8.0%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 10 11.5%
  • Hawks by 7-20

Votes: 28 32.2%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 8 9.2%
  • Draw

Votes: 6 6.9%

Be interesting how far you roll the dice with Weddle/Day. Young kids so you probably can only roll the dice with one if they are remotely fit. What does Macdonald add to the side?
Weddle a chance if his scans are good Day no chance this year.

I would drop Macdonald seems a bit soft to me can’t carry those players in finals.

What are you talking about.
Goodness, any player who strikes another player in the throat, should be suspended period.

The player who was struck, could have had a significant life limiting injury, and died on the field.

I bet you were leading the hysterics when the suitcase failed to protect his head, giving Sicily the worst 3-match ban in history.

Won 1 more game than last year and we finished 7th at the end of minor round last year.

This year we had a much tougher draw than last year and basically had our best and probably most important player out for most of the year.

I think we did well to make the 8 but clearly need to improve a few areas to make the nextstep.

Pretty accurate summation. I think what was lost in the hysteria last year was some of those percentage numbers and that win run came against some pretty mediocre teams. I thought you were more a chance to ride the wave of momentum last year to a GF or better than this year with new players coming, etc.

Having said that, you have copped a bad run of injuries, especially these bone stress ones, which have probably cost you the 1-2 extra wins to really position yourselves best.

Next year will be interesting, another year in the system for Barass and Battle to develop more connection with Sicily and the other backs. Weddle, Day and Dear stay injury free. Probably just another consistent forward weapon or two away from being at the top.

‘Public record’, ha ha just stop, you’re getting worse and you didn’t start that well.

So his ex was making things up when she posted on his insta? Razor Ray just randomly picked him when asked which player he hated? When Beams called for him to be dumped from the captaincy for his poor character? Or do you need more examples from public record?

He's a shit bloke, and it's odd that you're so offended at people pointing it out.

You know the games are recorded don’t you, why just make up utter rubbish.

The angle of this shot was from right over the head of the kicker. He is clearly facing away from the flight of the ball and making significant contact with the oncoming player...

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250824_224815.jpg
    Screenshot_20250824_224815.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 12
Pretty accurate summation. I think what was lost in the hysteria last year was some of those percentage numbers and that win run came against some pretty mediocre teams. I thought you were more a chance to ride the wave of momentum last year to a GF or better than this year with new players coming, etc.

Having said that, you have copped a bad run of injuries, especially these bone stress ones, which have probably cost you the 1-2 extra wins to really position yourselves best.

Next year will be interesting, another year in the system for Barass and Battle to develop more connection with Sicily and the other backs. Weddle, Day and Dear stay injury free. Probably just another consistent forward weapon or two away from being at the top.
Need to improve the midfield looks like Worpel is off to Geelong so hopefully can upgrade him.

Our draw was much easier last year we ended up with 11 games against other top 8 sides only Brisbane had more.

Copped Gold Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane & Freo all away.

Doesn't matter, because if you make any contact with the body going with the flight of the ball it's a free kick.

Stop listening to Jono Brown. He doesn't understand how rules work. He makes his judgements based on vibes and whether it's for or against Brisbane...
Show me the rule where it says that. He had the right to watch the ball and go for the ball.

He used to actually dive when he played for Collingwood. Since coming across, he doesn't come close to say Joel Selwood behaviour when it comes to head-high tackles.
Is he a bit of a flog? Yes. But he has been a rock solid player most of the year. Even though he's done some stupid things (Grundy comment, early celes), his actual playing is worthy of respect. But again, people like him make the game interesting. Zorko, on the other hand, has been a champion for Brisbane, but not colourful at all on the field - you just find out that umpires, players, team mates, family members despise him.
Totally agree mate. Joel Selwood was a complete staging flog, not like Ginni who is now a good Hawks player. Joel’s play definitely wasn’t worthy of respect, despite his playing peers recognising him as the most courageous player 4 times during his career. But what would AFL footballers know???

By all reports that I heard, he was also an average teammate and gave next to nothing back to the Geelong community, so I am glad you brought him up, so we can see how great Ginni is in comparison.

I understand now, Zorko = flog, Selwood = flog who’s play doesn’t deserve respect, Ginni = does more flog things than either, but plays for Hawthorn so that makes him interesting.

Btw, the kids are still waiting for him and Wiz at the footy clinic.

Totally agree mate. Joel Selwood was a complete staging flog, not like Ginni who is now a good Hawks player. Joel’s play definitely wasn’t worthy of respect, despite his playing peers recognising him as the most courageous player 4 times during his career. But what would AFL footballers know???

By all reports that I heard, he was also an average teammate and gave next to nothing back to the Geelong community, so I am glad you brought him up, so we can see how great Ginni is in comparison.

I understand now, Zorko = flog, Selwood = flog who’s play doesn’t deserve respect, Ginni = does more flog things than either, but plays for Hawthorn so that makes him interesting.

Btw, the kids are still waiting for him and Wiz at the footy clinic.

Geez, touched a nerve I see. Let me break it down for you.

• The thesis seems to be Ginnivan is a flog because of staging for frees, and cocky celebrations.
  • I compared Ginnivan's staging to Selwood's (which nobody denies - including Selwood. Objectively he doesn't milk frees like Selwood (whose career frees per game dwarf that of any other pllayer), and you mustn't be watching many games if you subjectively think his tactics (since making the move to Hawthorn) are worse than Selwood's patented 'drop knees fling arm' routine.
  • So, if the argument is Ginnivan is a massive flog because he stages, you're a one-eyed hypocrite.

Need to improve the midfield looks like Worpel is off to Geelong so hopefully can upgrade him.

Our draw was much easier last year we ended up with 11 games against other top 8 sides only Brisbane had more.

Copped Gold Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane & Freo all away.
Yeah, Worpel will fill a need for us. The extractor role that TB should be doing right now, but he ruined it.

Not sure what you have in the pipeline, but may present an opportunity to fill from within. Not sure on his progress, but liked the look of Cam Mackenzie when drafted.

Yeah, Worpel will fill a need for us. The extractor role that TB should be doing right now, but he ruined it.

Not sure what you have in the pipeline, but may present an opportunity to fill from within. Not sure on his progress, but liked the look of Cam Mackenzie when drafted.
Cam has had an ordinary year but i am still optimistic he will have a good career.

Still think we need another mid.

No I wouldn’t. In fact if you check my post history you’ll see I don’t think our game is meant to be umpired perfectly. It’s a game of interpretation. Complain if you want but it’s idiotic to blame umps for a loss IMO
lol. they literally decide probably 1 in 3 matches and have a 4-6 goal influence on every game. It's the biggest blight on the game. Tonight is a great example. Game right in the balance and the ump completely stuffs it. Yes, his interpretation was incorrect and it ruined the game.

So his ex was making things up when she posted on his insta? Razor Ray just randomly picked him when asked which player he hated? When Beams called for him to be dumped from the captaincy for his poor character? Or do you need more examples from public record?

He's a shit bloke, and it's odd that you're so offended at people pointing it out.
You’re scrapping the bottom of the barrel to try and support an argument by saying Dayne Beams questioned Zorkos character. That’s widely acknowledged as just stupid and laughable. If you don’t like Zorko thats fair enough but trying to use Beams and Razor Ray to support it is amusing. As for his personal life I’m sure there are Hawthorn players who have not been the most faithful of partners.

• The thesis seems to be Ginnivan is a flog because of staging for frees, and cocky celebrations.
  • I compared Ginnivan's staging to Selwood's (which nobody denies - including Selwood. Hence the two frees a game record). Objectively he doesn't milk frees like Selwood, and you mustn't be watching many games if you subjectively think his tactics (since making the move to Hawthorn) are worse than Selwood's.
  • So, if the argument is Ginnivan is a massive flog because he stages, you're a one-eyed hypocrite.

• I compared Ginnivan's staging to Selwood's (which nobody denies - including Selwood. Hence the two frees a game record). Objectively he doesn't milk frees like Selwood, and you mustn't be watching many games if you subjectively think his tactics (since making the move to Hawthorn) are worse than Selwood's.

For me, it’s not just the staging. I would just personally hate to be a teammate of his. I’m old school though, I like humble champions and players who go about their business without needing to showboat. Pete Rose not Barry Bonds. Players that can get the job done without bringing negative attention to their club and teams. Josh Rachele is another, Bailey Smith probably as well. But if you love the personalities, that’s great 👍

Autopsy AFL 2025 Rd 24 - Lions v Hawks - Sun August 24th 7:20pm AEST (Gabba)