List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Brad Hill was a positive until he didn't perform. I don't think I've ever been a Hill hater. I suggested he would frustrate fans before he came because he was very outside but thought he was worth chasing. I wasn't happy with the capital spent on him but never had a problem with him.

His first couple of seasons were a long way off his wage and the pressure came on him from the general footy public. You get big money in these deals but you wear the weight of it around your neck.
Had him lined up from the start, and now its TDK's turn. Obviously a pattern going on.

Brad Hill was a positive until he didn't perform. I don't think I've ever been a Hill hater. I suggested he would frustrate fans before he came because he was very outside but thought he was worth chasing. I wasn't happy with the capital spent on him but never had a problem with him.

His first couple of seasons were a long way off his wage and the pressure came on him from the general footy public. You get big money in these deals but you wear the weight of it around your neck.
I put my hands up as a Hill basher. But I think it's more to do with our list and system. We don't have a stronger enough midfield to be able to carry an outside runner like Hill, Hill needs to be fed and then have space to run and gun on the outside, we play a flood game and congest zones so Hill has no where to run, just trying to pick out needle from a haystack which results in turnovers.

So, like always.. Improve our midfield, everything else should improve too.. we have already started the midfield rebuild with a proper ruckman for a change, and potentially another young mid to replace Steele aging and battered body. Winghager may still stay hopefully. So, it's just Marshall and Steele out... they have been absolute warriors for our club but both have weaknesses, they will be better served in better teams (Geelong, GWS?) so win win.

Wilkie has often had to play as a negating defender this season.

Next season with more tall defensive options (Howard fit and JSOS or Aller) Wilkie will be able to play as Wilkie again, and that will make us a better team.

What do you mean by "Play as Wilkie again"?

Cal's never been a big intercept threat. He ave 2.4 intercept marks this year compared to a career best season of 2.7 in 2023.

His average spoils dropped this year from 5.4 to 3.9 but his career average is 4.3, so not far off.

Wilkie has always been a stopper first.

Yes, he can link up when we are looking to switch the ball and his possessions and marks rank right up there with the best in the comp, but he's a stopper.

Always has been.

Absolutely ****ing frustrating.

I’ve been ticked off about the handling of him since the first set back.

Million dollar assets need to be given that level of service to ensure they are on the park.

Kills me we put him through 2 arthroscopes before we did the proper job to diagnose it.
So we are confident we are on top of it now yeah ?

8 years late but i might finally get my wish and see liam ryan in saints colors.

what a time to be alive.

anyone who watched subi back in the day knows the show he would put on. legit saw him single to the bar on the hill one day how he take a hanger. then proceeded to do it.

Is he any good? Can’t say I’ve seen him play. I don’t recall any real meltdowns in here though when the hawks took him off us.

He's fine. Doesn't have any actual stand out traits yet but he looks like a solid citizen. He's behind a lot of very good mids and a lot have unique traits. At 21 you are still buying potential. He's from Phillipou's draft so he's not exactly an established player yet.

There is no-one in this draft that is an obvious stand out and most have question marks. I like Grlj but he's still potentially Zac Jones more than Zac Butters. Phillipou junior looks goodish but there is a few knocks on him too.

Widely reported means nothing except there is an echo chamber. It was “widely reported” that NAS was leaving, then that nobody knew if he’d stay or

The unhappy player thing was debunked the very next day.
There is ( rightly) so much we have no idea about, about what is happening behind the scenes.

For instance, until Caro broke the story, quite possibly fed to her by Ross as part of his Rucci rebuttal, there was not ONE inkling or leak about the fact that the club had met with and given bonuses to the senior players. Nobody had heard about it.

Not even “newshound” Morris 🙄 had a clue about it, or believe me it would have come out as a story of the Saints bribing their players to keep them happy.

8 years late but i might finally get my wish and see liam ryan in saints colors.

what a time to be alive.

anyone who watched subi back in the day knows the show he would put on. legit saw him single to the bar on the hill one day how he take a hanger. then proceeded to do it.

My dad and I physically went to the 2017 AFL draft held at Homebush. Got Richo, Coffield, Hunter Clark and Cam Rayner autographs. I actually walked up to Cam Rayner straight after he was picked as no 1 draft pick to congratulate him--a really nice kid.

We were sitting in front of a WA scout for the Eagles and he said Liam Ryan was going to be taken with their pick and he was a serious talent. Dad and I then wanted him at Saints lol. Everything coming full circle!

my take on it is i think Marshall will be traded to Geelong with the pick going to WCE for Ryan

i think they're trying to re-organise the list for the next 5 years. Ryan isn't so much about that... but i think there's very little point in spending that much of the cap on two ruckmen.

plus we need to find 2 goals extra a game and have more marking presence around the ground. Ryan helps facilitate that.

The injury bust issue is gonna be a risk until it's not but we've little alternatives at the moment. Since its going to be basically a full 18 months since he last took the field we've never seen what this filled out version of Max is actually like. I'll wait to be impressed, but like l said there's little alternative.

If he can get back it will make a huge difference to our chances. We look like we need a focal point and a couple of goals a week probably get us back up to the bottom half of the 8 range again with out too much else having to go right.

In 3 years that might be a win but short term I'm imagining that as a backwards step. Steele can play as a forward if needed. McKenzie looks like a solid vanilla mid.

Perhaps Ross and Steele don't really get on. It's going to be a hard sell to the general Saints fans losing Steel, Marshall and Windhager in one year. All three are absolute fan favourites.
Tbh I’d be most disappointed losing Windy - although I really like the other two, of course.
But Windy is the future we’ve been working on.

You'd think if there is no mention of us on FC tonight re JSOS and only Pies and Dogs are mentioned. It is likely a bs rumour
For what it's worth I was told he was coming from a mate who knows a heap of people in Carlton circles. Thought it was bull when he told me but he may be onto something.

what a time to be alive.

Don't watch much WCE, you reckon he still has value?

Carlton supporters absolutely melting down over Cody Walker. They want court action 🤣🤣🤣

So they should TBH.

The AFL just deciding to turn off bids for the first round next year would absolutely **** with teams list planning. The Blues would have been working based on the idea they were getting Cody for peanuts.

If the AFL really thought it was an emergency they would turn it off THIS year, but they need the Suns, Lions & Swans to all reach into the cookie jar one more time...

At the very least, the teams that have been ****ed (Us, Blues, Tigers, Eagles, North etc) should have F/S and NGA options banked until we match what the Suns have done.

If they end up with 7-10 extra first round talents, and then the AFL block everyone out, then we might as well all pack up for a generation.

It's a ****ing farce...

Sucked in to all the Ross haters

What has hating Ross got to do with this? Never actually seen anyone hating Ross. He's very likeable, this is more the work of Bassat anyway.

Tbh I’d be most disappointed losing Windy - although I really like the other two, of course.
But Windy is the future we’ve been working on.

Yeah, it seems to be completely against the build plan and real potential to cause a cultural fissure for no obvious benefit other than allowing more money for their fireworks display of trades.