Phantom Draft RF 2025 Draft Rankings

If I had money on two players who keep ticking all the boxes and would justify higher rankings it would be Cumming and Dovaston. Barker would’ve been in that group as well if it wasn’t for his knee injury.

Cumming just has everything you want in a modern day player, good work rate, natural footy IQ can play in every 3rd of the ground and has good balance between his inside and outside game. If his SANFL form keeps up I expect him to push that top 8 even top 5.
Hoping we can get barker with our 2nd rounder now, he'd compliment sharp and cumming well if thats who we take

Thanks for your latest update.
If Wc are going to get picks 1 & 2 I would like Dursma & Sharp
Who would you take at 1 & 2 ?

If I were you I’d take Sharp and either Duff-Tytler or Lindsay. Sharp is just about guaranteed to be 200+ gamer, oozes leadership and would form a pretty tough 1-2 punch with Reid.

Duff-Tytler high risk/high reward but you are potentially getting a game breaking ruckman who can also push forward and have an impact.

Lindsay would less risk, but would provide some outside class and game breaking ball use that you desperately need. Also has plenty of leadership credentials.

With Pick 19 I’d try target one of the outside runners like Barker, LeRay, Rodrieguez, Farrow ect. Again, they are going to compliment what you already have.

Pick 32 try and go with a tall like Curtin. If you don't take Duff-Tytler. Curtin would be good as he can develop at either end of the ground.

Walley and Evans as high ceiling NGA's and imo that's a very very strong draft hand in what's considered a weaker draft.

Hoping we can get barker with our 2nd rounder now, he'd compliment sharp and cumming well if thats who we take

Will be interesting to see if Barker gets there. I think Barker, Dovaston and Farrow are the 3 who would be trade up targets for contending teams who are wanting specific player types (wing, small forward, half back).

Not at this stage mate, need to see a more extended form.

Really do like his composure behind the ball though and in a GWV team that has a lot of poor disposers his ball his really stands out.

STATE COMBINE ADDITIONS​

Rod Ali - Vic M, Eastern Ranges
Brodie Atkins - Vic C, Gippsland Power
Blake Chambers - Vic M, Eastern Ranges
Cooper Collins - QLD, Gold Coast Suns
Jack Cook - SA, Woodville-West Torrens
Ryder Corrigan - NSW/ACT, Murray Bushrangers
Archie Dollman - Vic M, Oakleigh Chargers
Nicholas Driscoll - Vic M, Northern Knights
Riley Hamilton - NSW/ACT, Giants Academy
Jim Houston - NSW/ACT, Giants Academy
Jesse Johnstone - Vic C, Bendigo Pioneers
Blake Kelly - WA, Swan Districts
Leon Kickett - WA, Swan Districts
Tallis McMillan - NSW/ACT, Giants Academy
Sam Niklaus - Vic C, GWV Rebels
Dale Sutherland - WA, Perth
Harrison Wilson - NSW/ACT, Murray Bushrangers
Lucas Wooton - TAS, Tasmania Devils
Hunter Wright - Vic C, Bendigo Pioneers

Recruiters obviously now starting to take notice too.

Updated Rankings

• The more I watch of Farrow and Cumming the more their respective positions improve
  • Josh Lindsay falling, mainly because he is a purely outside player and I don't see him transitioning into the midfield
  • Added a few additional names to the 40+ who have AFL qualities that may see them get drafted

Updated Rankings.png

There is a lot of recycling here, names constantly thrown up that haven't performed. I'd love Fincher (Saints NGA) or Sharkie at the Kangas as both have smashed at Coates. Dylan Patterson got to go number 1.

Rankings change based on more games I watch. They aren't ever concrete. Who have I thrown up that hasn't performed?

I don't mind Fincher and Sharkie. Fincher in particularly rarely plays a bad game but I'd argue that he lacks some depth in his kicking, and his decision making can be very hit and miss.

Sharkie finds the ball a lot across half back and through the midfield but I just question his damage. Can also be prone to rushing disposals.

Rankings change based on more games I watch. They aren't ever concrete. Who have I thrown up that hasn't performed?

I don't mind Fincher and Sharkie. Fincher in particularly rarely plays a bad game but I'd argue that he lacks some depth in his kicking, and his decision making can be very hit and miss.

Sharkie finds the ball a lot across half back and through the midfield but I just question his damage. Can also be prone to rushing disposals.
Understand it's subjective and love the banter it creates but CDT at 2 too high as average at Metro, Coates form off and on and one VFL game had a few goals but haven't seen him demonstrate being top 20 but keeps getting thrown up there? Ludowyke poor at Sandy and terrible at Metro before knee - yes he can jump but no work ethic or consistency, X Taylor at 14 is 20+ picks too high as a basic role player as is Dovaston IMHO. Hunter Holmes didn't perform at Metro, not damaging at Oakleigh in the games I've seen.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion. This is merely RFs opinion.

Your opinion, rankings are for you and you alone (unless you're willing to share and put yourself out there). Of course rankings change as we still have what, 3 months until the draft. I'd suggest there are lots more changes to go.

It's an ultra fluid environment.

Everyone is entitled to to an opinion. This is merely RFs opinion.

Your opinion, rankings are for you and you alone (unless you're willing to share and put yourself out there). Of course rankings change as we still have what, 3 months until the draft. I'd suggest there are lots more changes to go.

It's an ultra fluid environment.
Understand, you know what they say about opinions :) No need for another subjective top 60 out there and of course they'll change over the next 3 months and enjoy every year watching it change. I like the "finds", everyone lists the popular picks but in reality a few shouldn't be there (IMHO).

RF's list is actually quite different from others. Again, it's merely what he thinks and this ain't his 1st BBQ. He's been doing his draft stuff on our board for a long long time (if you read his history).

Happy to give my justification for why I have them ranked where they are ranked! That's why I post, so that people can discuss.

Like with most talls, you are drafting them on upside potential rather than their output as a junior. As a ruck, you are going to hard pressed to find a more agile and higher end athlete than Duff-Tytler. He needs to work on his contested marking, but you'd think that would come as he adds size and strength. His balance, ground level ability and his athleticism has his ceiling as a someone like Luke Jackson. From memory, Jackson really only showed glimpses of his potential at under 18's level.

Ludowyke showed plenty as an underage prospect and was shaping up as a potential top 5 pick prior to this year. I think his fall down to around that 30 mark is reflective of the fact that he hasn't had the greatest of years. This draft isn't particularly strong for tall forwards, if it were, then you'd imagine he'd fall even further. Teams are still going to be happy to pay up for his potential, especially because he has natural forward smarts.

X Taylor is a modern day prototype intercept defender, you could make an argument that he is the best mark in this draft class. He is a solid athlete, has composure, natural defensive smarts and competitiveness. He has continued to improve as the year has gone on, and with hardly any genuine intercepting half backs in this draft pool I'm tipping clubs will pay a premier for his talent.

I wouldn't say small forwards are basic role players, they are a high priority to any list manager, as they are high impact. Defensive pressure and ground level play is a key metric for every club, that's why clubs are more than willing to give up top 15 picks for damaging small forwards. Kako (pick 13), Berry (pick 15), Watson (pick 5), Gothard (pick 12), and Rachele (pick 6) are recent examples of small forwards going early in drafts. Dovaston is the best performed small forward in the draft pool and has rarely played a bad game all year at any level. He has dynamic movement, elite ground level game, natural forward craft and elite agility, not to mention that fact that he kicks goals regularly. Personally, I'd have Dovaston ahead of Kako, Berry and Gothard at the same age.

Holmes' output this year has been pretty disappointing, I was hoping he'd have more of an impact. Originally I had him pushing the top 20 but he has fallen down 15 or so spots. You could easily have him outside the top 40, but with his athleticism he is really suited to the modern game so it wouldn't surprise me if a club pulls the trigger earlier.

Mate are you going to have a quick gander at the WAFL finals this weekend? There are some players like Kaiden Summerell (EF), John Coleman (WP), Matthew Radojkovich (EF), Leon Kickett (SD) and Samson Jennings-Hopkins (CL) who hit their straps post state squad selection. I've ranked them quite high as the season has progressed and I think fairly so but I always prefer for others to decide.

I'm hoping to mate, but just depends on family commitments.

I've seen a few snippets of Summerall, but not enough to make a call on his AFL potential. Looks a smooth mover and a very natural accumulator off half back.

I haven't heard much about Coleman, his stat line on the WAFL site looks pretty good. What role does he play?

Kickett I've heard is starting to garner a bit of interest, particularly because of his speed and goal sense. The fact that he was added to the state combine suggests there are at least 3 clubs that are wanting to take a closer look. Looking at his highlights he looks very balanced and has good goal sense. What's his defensive impact like?

Samson Jennings-Hopkins is an overager yeah? Generally you need to be dominating to get much of a look in as an over ager. Statiscally, looks like he has had some really good games, but then others less so!

I'm hoping to mate, but just depends on family commitments.

I've seen a few snippets of Summerall, but not enough to make a call on his AFL potential. Looks a smooth mover and a very natural accumulator off half back.

I haven't heard much about Coleman, his stat line on the WAFL site looks pretty good. What role does he play?

Kickett I've heard is starting to garner a bit of interest, particularly because of his speed and goal sense. The fact that he was added to the state combine suggests there are at least 3 clubs that are wanting to take a closer look. Looking at his highlights he looks very balanced and has good goal sense. What's his defensive impact like?

Samson Jennings-Hopkins is an overager yeah? Generally you need to be dominating to get much of a look in as an over ager. Statiscally, looks like he has had some really good games, but then others less so!
Coleman is very much like, if not identical to Farrow. Defender, tallish, beautiful left foot kick. Sometimes I confuse the two. I would almost rate Coleman as the better left foot kick and indeed Sam Swadling confirmed that in a recent interview (sitting next to Farrow...lol) on the Bray and Ethan show. It was agreed that the WP colts boys rank Coleman as the number 1 kick in the squad. Not sure Coleman has the snazzy Farrow sidestep though.

Kickett has been given a midfield role lately and that has totally freed him up from the shackles of a forward pocket. Goes in hard, defensive pressure good because he has that yard of pace that enables him to chase down opponents.

I have Jennings-Hopkins listed as the number 1 overager in the comp. High impact mid who only came up from the country this year so I can see why he is playing colts. I guess he probably wanted to finish school down South. He is a 27/09/2006 so he was in that extra 6 months of school bracket if that makes sense.

The school system in tough on the July to Dec kids I guess. Particularly those in the country who want to finish school before moving to the big smoke.

Happy to give my justification for why I have them ranked where they are ranked! That's why I post, so that people can discuss.

Like with most talls, you are drafting them on upside potential rather than their output as a junior. As a ruck, you are going to hard pressed to find a more agile and higher end athlete than Duff-Tytler. He needs to work on his contested marking, but you'd think that would come as he adds size and strength. His balance, ground level ability and his athleticism has his ceiling as a someone like Luke Jackson. From memory, Jackson really only showed glimpses of his potential at under 18's level.

Ludowyke showed plenty as an underage prospect and was shaping up as a potential top 5 pick prior to this year. I think his fall down to around that 30 mark is reflective of the fact that he hasn't had the greatest of years. This draft isn't particularly strong for tall forwards, if it were, then you'd imagine he'd fall even further. Teams are still going to be happy to pay up for his potential, especially because he has natural forward smarts.

X Taylor is a modern day prototype intercept defender, you could make an argument that he is the best mark in this draft class. He is a solid athlete, has composure, natural defensive smarts and competitiveness. He has continued to improve as the year has gone on, and with hardly any genuine intercepting half backs in this draft pool I'm tipping clubs will pay a premier for his talent.

I wouldn't say small forwards are basic role players, they are a high priority to any list manager, as they are high impact. Defensive pressure and ground level play is a key metric for every club, that's why clubs are more than willing to give up top 15 picks for damaging small forwards. Kako (pick 13), Berry (pick 15), Watson (pick 5), Gothard (pick 12), and Rachele (pick 6) are recent examples of small forwards going early in drafts. Dovaston is the best performed small forward in the draft pool and has rarely played a bad game all year at any level. He has dynamic movement, elite ground level game, natural forward craft and elite agility, not to mention that fact that he kicks goals regularly. Personally, I'd have Dovaston ahead of Kako, Berry and Gothard at the same age.

Holmes' output this year has been pretty disappointing, I was hoping he'd have more of an impact. Originally I had him pushing the top 20 but he has fallen down 15 or so spots. You could easily have him outside the top 40, but with his athleticism he is really suited to the modern game so it wouldn't surprise me if a club pulls the trigger earlier.
All fair points, very thorough basis behind your points and fully support you're not looking for ready-made players but the potential to develop. Agree to disagree on X Taylor (time will tell) however concur that there's not a lot of options for that 190cm marking back. Keep the lists coming as the year roles on.

I agree, I’ve been watching Aaron Sharkie for years and was amazed he was left out of the last couple of metro games. I saw the VIC Metro B&F results and he polled in both games he played and got one less vote than Grjl who played two more games and is slated as a top ten. No knock on Grjl, but I believe Sharkie will be a Smokey later in the draft. Clean by foot and composed ball user.

There is a lot of recycling here, names constantly thrown up that haven't performed. I'd love Fincher (Saints NGA) or Sharkie at the Kangas as both have smashed at Coates. Dylan Patterson got to go number 1.
Finchers number one strength is that fact he plays better footy the harder it gets. Had the best vfl performance out of any of the under ages draftees. Gonna be a gun I reckon

Fincher ready-made AFL and doesn't play "junior" footy style that a lot of them play as was evident in his game in the VFL and doesn't stat pad.

Updated Rankings

• The more I watch of Farrow and Cumming the more their respective positions improve
  • Josh Lindsay falling, mainly because he is a purely outside player and I don't see him transitioning into the midfield
  • Added a few additional names to the 40+ who have AFL qualities that may see them get drafted

View attachment 2410302
On what planet or basis could anyone have Matt LeRay ahead of Jevan Phillipou??

imo at least Phillipou is more athlete than footballer. I concede he's been stuck out of position in SANFL league as well but he hasn't boosted his draft stock with his play. LeRay has great physical tools and well as far better skills and footy brain. Has shown ability to play on the inside as well as being a prolific wing at u18 champs. Depends whos got the pick really. If i was a top club that has all the time in the world to develop and a good culture i take JP, but if i need someone to play in their first season it'd be LeRay by landslide

I really like Phillipou, he is dynamic and is a pretty good athlete, but I’m not sure he ends up being a midfielder at AFL level. At times his disposal can seem rushed and he gets caught trying to do too much, far too often. I can see why others rate him, but to me there are some question marks on how his game transitions to AFL.

LeRay is elite for his position, as highlighted by his selection in the All Australian side. Has hardly played a bad game all year at any level. He knows his role as a wingman and he plays it well, keeping his width and running hard between the arcs. He has a real point of difference with his height as a wingman as well. Reliable disposal, solid overhead, good ground level player and has decent balance between his offensive and defensive game. If anything, I think he is a little bit underrated, but I do value players who can really play a specific role.

Likely that Jpou has far higher upside, but LeRay is going to be a solid & reliable pick beyond pick 15 imo.

I really like Phillipou, he is dynamic and is a pretty good athlete, but I’m not sure he ends up being a midfielder at AFL level. At times his disposal can seem rushed and he gets caught trying to do too much, far too often. I can see why others rate him, but to me there are some question marks on how his game transitions to AFL.

LeRay is elite for his position, as highlighted by his selection in the All Australian side. Has hardly played a bad game all year at any level. He knows his role as a wingman and he plays it well, keeping his width and running hard between the arcs. He has a real point of difference with his height as a wingman as well. Reliable disposal, solid overhead, good ground level player and has decent balance between his offensive and defensive game. If anything, I think he is a little bit underrated, but I do value players who can really play a specific role.

Likely that Jpou has far higher upside, but LeRay is going to be a solid & reliable pick beyond pick 15 imo.
Been playing on ball the last couple of weeks...