List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

We had a makeshift midfield this year
Pou out injured
Henry on a wing out injured
Windy found his wing
Nas & Hall looked good in there at times
Macrae & Steele provide the grunt work.
If we can get most of those players, playing together consistently well.
I think Steele may still be important to the set-up

Needs to play half forward more and sometimes a lead up forward...has good craft in both, and may help him extend his career (the role of mids is changing. As it stands I think Macrae offers a little more in there) Swapping with Pou doing the same thing.
Think it would worry other teams and makes us less predictable in the forward line.

That maybe the case, but it hasn't stopped Saints from being equal most successful club in terms of producing NGA draftees.

And AFL are re-mapping the zones which will be announced soon and every club has put in its request for the changes it'd like in the zoning.
“Equal”. Not a single top 20 pick and one inside the top 40.

Disagreeing with you isn't sooking.

It's just disagreeing with you.

Said I don't think he should be captain next year. That's clearly stating an opinion.

Here's a thought Joffa... you could allow people to have opinions. Disagree with them, sure, but not accuse of sooking... not telling them it's confirmation bias and other such drivel.

You think Steele should be captain? Cool. I don't. See how easy that is?
Here’s an idea. Maybe we are locked to honour Steele as Captain. Even if he doesn’t want it. He was chosen and it stinks to dump him. He does t deserve to be unceremoniously dropped? The one thing we can do is just continue the co captain thing. But even someone like Wood would be better. Except Wood might be marginal too 22 next year.

Apologies if this is the wrong thread for it, but what do you guys reckon we should be doing with Hunter Clark? I don't think we can play him in the midfield, and while I enjoyed some of his work coming off Half-back at the back end of the year, I also really want to see Travaglia play there full-time so he can start adapting to the speed and physicality of full-length AFL games.
The game could pass him by quicker than you think. Imagine if the Saints do nab both Cmac and Flanders (unlikely). Where would you play him? Players like Boxshall and trav could overtake him.

Half back is the only spot left for Clark. Still think there’s a place for him back there because we’ll need another good ball user if Nas will be spending more time in the middle and if it’s not him then I’ve got no idea who will take that role.
What’s his defensive craft like? I’m not too sure about that one and he could potentially leak goals.

Disagreeing with you isn't sooking.

It's just disagreeing with you.

Said I don't think he should be captain next year. That's clearly stating an opinion.

Here's a thought Joffa... you could allow people to have opinions. Disagree with them, sure, but not accuse of sooking... not telling them it's confirmation bias and other such drivel.

You think Steele should be captain? Cool. I don't. See how easy that is?
Steele being captain was a mistake. Most would agree.
I'd trade him

It seems that this late in the piece that Dogs have finally realised that they have poor backline.

Bevo has been way too obsessed with with having too many talls in their forward line.
Somebody suggested that Naughton should go back, but I’m thinking the Bont would make an outstanding key back.

1997: Crows fans singing oh when the crows come marching in as we walked out, or
2010: Pies fans screeching "Milney's a rapist"...??
Absolutely pathetic supporters with no grace!
What was more pathetic, and absolutely beyond disgraceful, was Richmond supporters chanting "dig a hole" while Lenny Hayes was being stretchered off the ground after doing his ACL in 2011.

Sport supporting can bring out the worst in people.

It's better the bottom dwellers are chanting graceless crap at the footy than actually fighting people like other times in human history, I suppose.

You bring forward the following year.

23 brings forward 24.
24 brings forward 25.
25 brings forward 26.

Which is why you writing down your newspaper sums of the salary cap and the impact of TDK/Jsos etc isn’t the dooms day prophecy you keep preaching around here.

Here are the reported facts.
  • our committed salaries as of this and last year was paid out using only 85% of our salary cap - Caroline Wilson
  • we have forward paid deals to bring it to 95% - Wilson Cleary Ralph Twomey etc
  • we have had Billings on the books for a few hundred K since 2023 trade. That finishes this year
  • we can spend 105% next year - reported to death
  • Marshall has only a small amount owing on his deal for 26&27. - Cleary.

So purely from a business, financial sense Marshall should be agitating to move to Geelong. As we have already paid him the majority of his wage for 2026 and 2027, a transfer to Geelong would have him financially double dipping.

The Saints could actually use this to their advantage as Marshall is contracted to the Saints for the next two years and we have already paid the majority of his salary for those two years.

As we have already taken the hit with forward paying majority of his salary and Marshall has banked most of it already, this could form the basis of a great deal. For instance if Marshall is owed only $200k per year for the next two years, this is a great negotiation plus for us. At Geelong Marshall would be a $800k+ player, a settlement could be where Marshall and the Cats agree that to get Geelong, he gets a $200k bump for the first two years at the cats, ie Cats would only pay him $400k for the next two years, instead of the $200 he is contractually committed to get at the Saints.

For this the Saints get a hugely advanced pick/s upgrade, as this allows the Cats to bring in Marshall and gives them further salary flexibility. You would imagine that the Gabby and SOS are across this and using this as part of a huge number of scenarios to advantage the Saints. Clever work.