List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

We cant get upset if Windy leaves for money.

Thats how we’re getting TDK and JSOS.

Can’t have it all on our terms as much as we would like too.
It was going to happen eventually. Must be a bit on the outer if true. If they wanted to keep him, they could have kept him. We can't complain, we started this arms race.
He wanted four years, we offered four years, if he can get better money at a team with no coach and on the slide, well thats his call.
Leaves us with more draft capital and more money to go after someone else, if he goes, it isn't a disaster, would prefer him to stay but that's footy.

Okay, but by the same token and probabilities would he not also outweigh the shittest pick 7s of all time too? It’s a bit cherry picked.
Who's saying ? It's the shittiest pick 7 of all time.
The next drafts with Tassie entering will be the worst more likely unless they bat deep.
I think there's a few good FA's again next season.
Have a crack again next year
Who knows? If we have a good season next year
Butters may want to come

This doesn’t really make sense.

If he goes to another club, he is behind existing rucks anyway.
Not necessarily. The two Adelaide clubs are the biggest worry for mine, because they’re both likely to be in the market for a ruck in a big way (Adelaide if they miss out on Draper this year, and with ROB another year older, and Port I imagine will come for him in a huge way next year, and possibly even promise him their no.1 ruck role from R1 2027), especially given he’s from Adelaide.

If we don’t sign TDK it doesn’t really alter the fact that Dodson is OOC next year regardless. So it still doesn’t prevent a move.
It doesn’t alter the fact he’s OOC next year, but if he’s only behind Ro, then there’s a clear and obvious path for him to the no.1 ruck role, given Ro’s age, whereas if we sign TDK on monster money for 8 years, and he’s useless anywhere but ruck, where is the clear path to the no.1 ruck role that Dod would surely be after?

He’s got a short window of opportunity to make millions of dollars from either a football or basketball career over the next 15 years, so I doubt he’s going to like the idea of being behind TDK for up to 8 years of it.

It would be like if you’re a young, super-talented apprentice at a company and there’s one role you’re training for and want, and the company then goes out and head-hunts someone else on a huge contract to fill that role for the next 8 years.

What are you going to do when other companies (from your home town no less) start offering you a clear position in the role you want, as soon as immediately, and for a lot more money than the company you’re at is offering you to stay as an apprentice, or backup?

I imagine most young people these days in particular wouldn’t have to think too hard about that. They want it all, and they want it now.

Okay, but by the same token and probabilities would he not also outweigh the shittest pick 7s of all time too? It’s a bit cherry picked.
Of course. Draft picks are high risk, high reward.

I was highlighting the reward side obviously.

But if you wanna succeed long-term and not just achieve sugar hits, you take the long-term option. And if you kick a few goals on the reward side with long-term picks, that's when you really find success.

That isn't to say you'd never trade a high draft pick (Geelong traded pick 9 for Danger, Brisbane traded 6 for Neale... both adding other picks) but it's gotta be a gun.

I had a feeling this would happen.

If I get my Ross goggles on.

Midfield:

Macrae, Nas, Steele, Pou, Garcia, Hall, Box, potentially Flanders and CMac, or a one in 1000000 shot at Merrett.

Where does windy fit in?

The club like him, don't love him. That we know. If we get decent capital for him I can see the club parting ways. Especially if they think he's reached his potential already.

Id still keep him. These aren't my views necessarily. This one will sting if it's true.

Does anyone else think this is just the latest move by Windys agent to settle on a high price?
The words "Saints will have to move heaven and earth" are doing extremely heavy lifting and I guarantee you they are carefully chosen words.

The subtext just seems to be "meet our price"
Finey's just another mouthpiece
We’ve upped the cash and doubled the years from our initial offer to give him some long term reassurance.

He’s not a star, yet. Maybe he didn’t like hearing that from our list managers? (pure speculation)

Question his judgement going to the Dees frankly.
Gawn and May surely on their last legs. Oliver and Petracca shadows of
their former selves. No coach. Not sure there’s a huge upside.

...Question his judgement going to the Dees frankly.
Gawn and May surely on their last legs. Oliver and Petracca shadows of their former selves. No coach. Not sure there’s a huge upside...
I reckon they're a more attractive club with no coach than with Goodwin.

Back on Aleer.

I noticed in Caro's lates article:

On Saturday, the coach will be in the stands at Engie Stadium watching another defender, the Giants’ Leek Aleer, before making a final call on whether to pursue him.

https://archive.md/omP72#selection-3847.2-3847.168

So post Final's Game, if Caro was correct on this, do you think his game will have impressed RTB, or cooled his interested?

With JSOS on board now the need for Aleer is now less, even though they are different backs.

If Howard's medical progress has been good will the Saints still look to sign Aleer?

We’ve upped the cash and doubled the years from our initial offer to give him some long term reassurance.

He’s not a star, yet. Maybe he didn’t like hearing that from our list managers? (pure speculation)

Question his judgement going to the Dees frankly.
Gawn and May surely on their last legs. Oliver and Petracca shadows of
their former selves. No coach. Not sure there’s a huge upside.
It's a confusing one
You would think he'd be similar to Nas's view of the club
But Nas is getting $ 2 mill a year, l suppose
Being a 'out of contract' it seems he's just using that leverage to obtain a better deal.
Fair enough
Maybe Marshall & Wilkie would of used that too atm.
But wanting to leave purely for a slightly better deal is mind boggling really
Given the famous no.2 at our club
Some of his best mates are there.
Respected as an Aboriginal person with acceptional support facility
In our best 23
I dont get it.
Maybe he just doesnt get it?

If Dees are chasing Windy, maybe they are looking to move on Petracca an Oliver and go into rebuild mode?

Could see the Hawks wanting Petracca......and they have Pick 8.

It's a confusing one
Being a FA it seems he's just using that leverage to obtain a better deal.
Fair enough
In our best 23
I dont get it.

Windy is not a FA.

Contract Status: Out of contract at the end of 2025

But they told us Nas choice was swayed by staying with his best mate windhager :think:dont tell me the media lies.

What kind of an offer could Melbourne be offering a guy who's shown high value for less than a season. They trying to get to minimum cap spend if they offload 1 of Oliver/Trac?

Is Windy really that desperate for cash that he’ll go and join Melbourne in what will likely be some pretty lowly seasons for them? Seems strange to me.
Looks like he has gone.
A nasty reminder that a nice cup of coffee costs more than a Nescafe instant, in a scatchel.

It's a confusing one
Being a UFA it seems he's just using that leverage to obtain a better deal.
Fair enough
In our best 23
I dont get it.
Might not be about money, might be about finding more midfield opportunities to try and make his next contract have an extra zero