List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

No we’re spinning like a top.

What’s really happened is we became frustrated and impatient so rather than continuing what looked like a quite rebuild we threw a Hail Mary.

I could speculate on who’s driving this but it’s high risk and far more likely to wind up a failure than a success. We’re the Cleveland brown of the afl. Clubs don’t do much damage in our phase being conservative but you can sure as hell blow the place up for a decade in a hurry if you get too creative.

Yeah I get it, why not us, screw the afl, fly the black flag, we all want to win and win now not in 5 years time. That doesn’t mean the conservative or negative are wrong.

I know it’s not popular but unless there’s a part 2 coming soon I don’t fancy our chances.
Who have we lost so far? ... a bunch of C & D graders and "maybe" 2 current best 22 ..... who don't seem to moving the needle ... and maybe they dont even go

Maybe we are spinning like a top because we havent done anything thus far?

Yet now that we are ... people are still finding ways to complain and whinge

We had cap space to use and had to use it or lose it

Damned if you do ..... damned if you dont

I would honestly say a lot are under rating him or just assuming he's already peaked (hard to imagine as a 22 year old )
He went pretty good this year. Particularly second half of the season. Disposal improved considerably along with decision making.

But with the amount of mids we have coming through, it's understandable if the club rates him at 600k. And it's also understandable that another club want to pay significant overs to get him out. If what is reported is true.

It would also be completely understandable that the club believes Phillipou, Garcia, Boxshall and Hall will provide more than Windy down the line as mids. And will need decent contracts at some point across the next four years.

It's going to be difficult to keep everyone in a successful team, which we are hoping to be.

It wouldn't be that farfetched to think list management is planning ahead.

And the most amusing thing is that before Mark Fine said anything, the general consensus was Windy was likely to say.

Amazing what Finey can do to the fragile psyche of some supporters.

If we lose Marshall and Windhager.... that's a pair of own goals by St Kilda.
Are you going to piss and moan until we win a flag, or are you going to continue after we've won one as well?

I scored 99% on an advanced maths exam in high school, and my father's response to the news was to ask why I didn't score 100%........

You remind me of him.........

Initially is in the past
Initially matters because it shapes expectations and signals to the player the value the club places in them

I think the 5 year offer from others is overs.
I agree- but so are the offers St Kilda is making to every player under the sun.

You obviously want us to match
I'm suggesting if the initial offer hadn't been so insulting, fair chance Windy would've re-signed much earlier in the piece.

I remember people here wondering why he hadnt re-signed. Then the news emerged he'd been offered 2 years. I thought... "no wonder!!!"

St Kilda may have dug ourselves a hole

If anything yes, Windy has been, durable & dependable.
That's important to the team.
100%

Durable- something JSOS and TDK haven't been.

JSOS - 68 games in 6 years.
TDK - amazing first half of the year. Struggled 2nd half, apparently due to a throat injury.

Consistent effort- something Ryan apparently hasn't given. People here are making excuses for him because he's been in a crap team. So what? Windy's played 1 final in 4 years and he gives 100% every week.

But those guys are worth 4, 5 and 8 year deals. "Initially".

Inept by St Kilda.

I scored 99% on an advanced maths exam in high school, and my father's response to the news was to ask why I didn't score 100%........
That's the type of people we need on our list management team

Half the fans around here are just half-baked apologists

Reminds me of 2 things

1. The firm by John Grisham. Great book.

2. Ideologues who support one side of politics (left or right) every single time, regardless of the evidence on any particular issue.

It's bizarre.

Would be very tempting for RoMa. Pretty much everyone who has gone to Geelong over the last 10 - 15 years has gotten a flag out of it. Jeremy Cameron, Rhys Stanley, Tyson Stengle, Isaac Smith, Zach Tuohy. They've got a knack of topping up with experienced players and not dropping off. I imagine the sell would not be too hard, it's probably more if the club can be satisfied in a trade and also if Rowan is dead set on leaving or just interested.

I’m absolutely loving how our trade targets Aleer & Flanders have been disguising themselves as spuds in finals week no less.

SOS & Gubby are definitely running some elite covert undercover MIA operation in order to dilute trade values.

Worth every penny of the soft cap those two.

That’s called a contract negotiation chief.

If we offered 4. They would have then asked for 6.

We offer 800k they ask for 900k
Again what's your point?

Stick to the point.

Starting with 2 was insulting. Crap effort by St Kilda. It may have contributed to Windy looking elsewhere.

But to your comment, players like Windy don't get 6.

Again what's your point?

Stick to the point.

Starting with 2 was insulting.

That’s what his best mate signed for.
It’s what Hall signed for.

But it’s insulting for windy.

See your narrative.

Again what's your point?

Stick to the point.

Starting with 2 was insulting. Crap effort by St Kilda. It may have contributed to Windy looking elsewhere.

So if Windy goes to Melbourne you think we are going to regret it?

You think that Windy will move the needle for Melbourne?

Roma played with Ryder in tandem & they made a final.
Probably needs to suck it up, & hope for the same with TDK
He did say he is employed by the StKilda fc & will do anything that they ask of him
The Geelong offer would be enticing to him though.
No harm in having a meet & greet
But understand, that's it got to be in the best interests of the St.Kilda fc. If he leaves
Which l just can't vision an offer that's of benefit to us
Flanders a no, too much of a grey area with him.
Him maybe, if Windy leaves but that's just getting desperate.

Again what's your point?

Stick to the point.

The opinion a couple of weeks ago was that players only wanted two years because there could be big money on offer from Tassie.

You'd be ok with letting one of our best young players walk to save 150k ish a year assuming you'd be happy to pay him 650k all whilst while we're meant to have the biggest war chest in history?

Windy on 800k > Aleer on 650-700

2 years younger twice the player atm
True but different positions/players so comparing apples and oranges ..... and I want to keep Windy and don't see any sense in Aleer

Seriously you are all psycho ..if you have been reading to where naz hasn't signed until now ...****ing footy nuff nuff trippers ..go home take your kids for a walk or whatever ..you are all seriously insane ....to quote the deli lama ...it is what it is ...if windy doesn't want two mill over 4 years he can **** off. Greedy ****er..

Who have we lost so far? ... a bunch of C & D graders and "maybe" 2 current best 22 ..... who don't seem to moving the needle ... and maybe they dont even go

Maybe we are spinning like a top because we havent done anything thus far?

Yet now that we are ... people are still finding ways to complain and whinge

We had cap space to use and had to use it or lose it

Damned if you do ..... damned if you dont
A spinning top? TDK and Aleer have been known for months, JSOS spoken about but was a surprise, Ryan known for weeks, just nominated us.
We are a month out of Trade week. He is wrong to say we are spinning tops. Very calm and considered in my view.

Not the best place for this but I havent seen it mentioned elsewhere;

Boxshall came 2nd last night (on 52 votes) in Sandy's BNF despite only playing 9 games.

McLennan won on 56 votes playing 15 games.

It's easy to see why Boxshall is rated highly internally.
Yep, a weak list that was.
But good on the Box