List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

The club has rated him at a price point and another club has offered significantly more to get him out.

There are a lot of midfielders coming through at the club at the moment.

It seems like a pretty standard situation to me.

Certainly nothing to wet the bed over but this is why I come here haha. For you guys 😍
Which we all know you have to do.

That’s what his best mate signed for.
Nas was offered 8, 10.

Come on, do better than this please. Stop wasting time. Think before you hit "post reply".

More relevant was Owens signing for 4.

It’s what Hall signed for.
Hall, as good as he was in that 6-8 game stretch, isn't a proven long-term quantity like Windy is. Windy has played 75 games over 4 years. Hall has played 23 games.

That isn't to say Windy is better, but its more understandable the club would offer Hall 2 than Windy 2 imo.

Also, Hall may have deliberately taken 2, to maximise his value in 2 years if he can continue his form. Totally different situation. And we don't know what the club's initial offer was either.

Blind Freddy knew Marshall was always going,club gets hopefully a top 15 pick plus well needed cap space
Didn’t he ask to go the Cats last year already?
There were definite rumours about him wanting out and the club saying no?
Much like Stuv.

Seriously you are all psycho ..if you have been reading to where naz hasn't signed until now ...*ing footy nuff nuff trippers ..go home take your kids for a walk or whatever ..you are all seriously insane ....to quote the deli lama ...it is what it is ...if windy doesn't want two mill over 4 years he can * off. Greedy ****er..
Can you please clarify where the Dali Lama quote ends? Is he a saints supporter?

A spinning top? TDK and Aleer have been known for months, JSOS spoken about but was a surprise, Ryan known for weeks, just nominated us.
We are a month out of Trade week. He is wrong to say we are spinning tops. Very calm and considered in my view.
I think it has been quite targeted. All the recruits address areas of our game that needed bolstering. It’s a weak and compromised draft and we have a dump truck load of salary cap due to front loading contacts and paying under it over the past two years.

Anyone that thinks we shouldn’t be bringing in mature talent and should be alternatively handing big contacts the existing playing list that has just limped out of the bottom four are off their heads.

If we could get the JSOS compo pick (likely end of r1) for swapping spots with Carlton (so they can get ahead of using their first for dean) so 7 -> TDK 9(ish) & 20(ish)

Would windy + 20 get us Melbourne f1 next year?

Could be some good business if possible.
Wouldn’t be trading into next years Tassie draft, would rather capitalise on the 2025 draft considering we’re almost ready to challenge according to our current direction.

Yeah fair call. You’d have to assume tassie (assuming all on track) will be swapping some of those picks for older heads.

Think 2027 is the first compromised draft.

Nas was offered 8, 10.

Come on, do better than this please. Stop wasting time. Think before you hit "post reply".

More relevant was Owens signing for 4.

Hall, as good as he was in that 6-8 game stretch, isn't a proven long-term quantity like Windy is. Windy has played 75 games over 4 years. Hall has played 23 games.

That isn't to say Windy is better, but its more understandable the club would offer Hall 2 than Windy 2 imo.

Also, Hall may have deliberately taken 2, to maximise his value in 2 years if he can continue his form. Totally different situation. And we don't know what the club's initial offer was either.
A proven long term Commodity?

Let’s be honest, all Windhager has proven as a long term ability is that of a tagger and a good one. Taggers however, very rarely last long term, as when their physicality and foot speed drop off even a little, it diminishes their value.

Windy hasn’t shown anything outside of that - that is better than Hall as a long term trait.

Halls footskills forward of the centre are elite and that will translate for a number of years.

And just like you don’t know what the clubs initial offer was to Hall. You don’t know if the club tried signing Windhager 12 months ago. You don’t know if the club has promised him a pay bump at the end of 2027. All you know was that the media said he needed his 4 years met to stay and that I told this board that the talk was he wanted north of 850k.

Guess which one is apparently closer to the mark tonight? It’s the “Tagger” wanting closer to North Melbournes/Melbournes offer.

So before you tell me to “think before you hit post”, you know absolutely nothing and here you are absolutely lambasting the club every chance you get. You were dead wrong about the salary cap. Still waiting on your “revised figures” btw.

A proven long term Commodity?
Yeah, that's what you call someone who's played almost every game since they arrived as an 18 year old

Halls footskills forward of the centre are elite and that will translate for a number of years.
You may be right but sport is full of people who perform for a short time and then drop off.

Sustainable performance deserves long-term contract.

Horses for courses.

But as you admit:

don’t know what the clubs initial offer was to Hall.
it may have been 4.

My comment was merely that a 2 year offer in that situation is more understandable to me.

You don’t know if the club tried signing Windhager 12 months ago. You don’t know if the club has promised him a pay bump at the end of 2027.
But we do know he was initially offered 2.

no matter how many times you try to avoid that point.
Here you are lambasting the club every chance you get.
When they deserve it yes.

Cheerleading and apologetics is useless. We should be demanding good things from our club.

You were dead wrong about the salary cap
I may not have got everything right about St Kilda's specific situation, because I wasn't aware of every single thing reported by every talking head. But I know more about the CBA and the cap than many of the prolific posters here and their half-baked apologetics.

Lyon must think Aleer can excel playing a role in a process driven, system structured defence.

His athleticism fulfills his role as a cog in this defence.

If his recruitment is based on his football smarts or instinct then it doesn’t make any sense.
Would Adrian Cole (last years NGA) do any worse than Aleer? He’s cost a lot less too! Very weird choice to pursue Aleer. Hope I’m wrong. Can’t see him offering any offensive capability, which was the knock on Cole.

Think 2027 is the first compromised draft.
I think Tassie will be made to trade picks for players; the clubs won't cop another GWS.

but as usual, the AFL hasn't set the parameters, so clubs will be trading blindly in regards to the future

Would Adrian Cole (last years NGA) do any worse than Aleer? He’s cost a lot less too! Very weird choice to pursue Aleer. Hope I’m wrong. Can’t see him offering any offensive capability, which was the knock on Cole.
One was playing in a final side yesterday. The other went undrafted by every club.

As much as the enthusiasm for Aleer is low, we dont need to exaggerate him to be the level of an undrafted kid.

The club clearly think Aleer has weapons that can be better utilised. I'm excited to see our plans for him. The interesting part of the puzzle now is where Hammer fits.

I don't want to lose Marshall even for a first, Geelong's first will be rubbish. Would rather keep him and see how it goes.

I don't see Flanders costing much.

Don't want to lose Windy. Really hope we can work it out.

Just on Aleer, I share the misgivings based on what I’ve seen, but…..

If the issue is his ability to read the play etc I can’t see a better footy brain combo than Enright, Wilkie and JSoS to get him up to scratch.