List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

it's not the reason, but a reason

I know the Weddle's (Josh), we walked our kids to school together, I see his parents every week, they live literally 8 doors up, his mum bakes and takes them to the club every week, The family feel so involved in not only Josh's life but also those around him. It makes a difference

Us supporters see the cash and expect an outcome from that, but we don't see the hard work that families put into their partners/children's success.

Like any workplace, a happy one is far more likely to produce results.
The "Mrs Rowell" interview after the game showed how this stuff matters. I know it was his Mum not partner but just showed what needs to be done. The GC rooms after the game looked like my local footy club after a finals win. That part shouldn't be lost amongst the million dollar salaries.

I mean... We do this alot.

TDK is now $1.4 not $1.7 as reported BUT were not short changing Windy.

JSOS is $650 not $800 BUT we didnt low ball Battle.

Its all speculation and ive noted the bullshit media stuff but we cant ALWAYS be on the right side of this shit.

From all reporting we actually didn’t.

Battle told Ross he was staying and then decided to up and leave.

Whatever happened it wasn’t the financial offer we put forth.
Hawthorn’s offer included some money paid “off the books” 🤔

rv4dvwm.png

I don't think you understand where the Saints are at.
You have zero chance.
Unless Wilkie asks for a trade. You can still rightly hold him to his contract, but the odds arein the favour of the player getting their own way from history.

It depends on the player though, not every player will want 2 years because of Tassie and potential pay bumps, some would prefer security and balance.

People will disagree but i still maintain we ****ed up the Battle thing by not knowing the player and his values, if wed openly told Josh he is welcome to explore his options as we will but were all gonna be honest about it that whole scenario likely plays out differently (noting the outcome may have been the same but it would have been way less messy).

If Windy would value security and comittment more then offering him 2 because "its what players want" is a **** up as well.

Ive got no idea if any of the above is true, its all speculation but you gotta know your players.
sure,that makes sense,but surely windy wouldnt be insulted and would convey to the club"hey im a sainter for life,no interest in tassie,bump up the years"then the club would go down that path with him,

these posters running with the length of the offer as a certain insult are surely just digging for anything to blame on the club

Actually watched him in the game against Frankston Saturday night and was a class above everyone else. Elite kicking and just seemed to always have time to set players up and run to positions before everyone else. What a shame wasn't that level at the highest grade. Not sure what Melb do with him.

I always thought JB would do quite well as a Harry Sheezel distributor off the half-back line.

He’s a little bruise free but he’s got a decent grab and very good skills.

Unless Wilkie asks for a trade. You can still rightly hold him to his contract, but the odds arein the favour of the player getting their own way from history.
Go research SOS’s history as a list manager.

Shit doesn’t happen unless the man gets what he wants.

He's turning 30 with 2 years left on his contract. Uncontracted players of that age get to clubs they want to go to regardless of posturing and made up rumors.

So you don't understand a contract? He can ask for a trade, but if Saints say no, he has two choices, play for Saints or not play at all.
He wont be at your club. Stop dreaming

Was pure speculation if I’m honest.

If Ro and Windy leave.

Best case scenario would be turning them into Cmac and Flanders and we retain 7.

But there would be a world we maybe don’t land both and both of our guys leave - which should be 2-3 firsts.

That would be a disaster. Sets the clock back 4 to 5 years and completely unravels what looks like a load up to keep Nas and challenge before the older crew finish up. Probably sees guys like King and Snags at the end by the time we are set to go again. Absolute shit draft too so like getting a few picks in the 50s last year.

If Tassie are coming in then why would clubs be looking to have players come out of contract that year?

It makes sense for the players to push for the 2 if that's the direction they want to go, but not clubs.
yep agreed,as i said for the benefit of the player,its so prevelant that clubs are probably just assuming players are looking to sign contracts coinciding with tassies entry,so running with the"windy would be insuted by the length of the offer"line is just totally bogus

its got"cant find another mistake the saints made today to complain about,so lets go with windy was insulted by the 2 years offered"vibes

I am not a fan of sos's list management at carlton tbh
Wasn’t what I asked you to do.

He will hold unless he gets what he wants.

Ross made clear we will let an uncontracted player go to the draft if we don’t get what we want

So for any oppo supporter. The media is out there.

It applies to:

• Wilkie
  • Marshall
  • Windhager.

So you don't understand a contract? He can ask for a trade, but if Saints say no, he has two choices, play for Saints or not play at all.
He wont be at your club. Stop dreaming
Ok mate. 😂

Id happily bail on the draft and just get Fincher and maybe Voss at this point.

If we can retain a first and take a flyer on Mini Pou even better but as it stands we are bringing in TDK, Ryan, JSOS and then maybe Flanders and C-Mac, it seems were going win now and this years draft wont help that.
I agree with this post enormously only I would add that maybe we could take a few talls late in the draft to develop over the next three or four years

I am not a fan of sos's list management at carlton tbh
Hadn't been there for 6 years. Going well at the Saints. Too bad your LM's aren't as proactive, offering contracts to a player who the Saints wont trade because they were tucked on JSOS.
Really quite pathetic.

That would be a disaster. Sets the clock back 4 to 5 years and completely unravels what looks like a load up to keep Nas and challenge before the older crew finish up. Probably sees guys like King and Snags at the end by the time we are set to go again. Absolute shit draft too so like getting a few picks in the 50s last year.
How exactly would that situation set us back 4-5 years?

As long as Bulldogs are prepared to pony up a big price. Clubs know this when chasing contracted players.

Draft picks outside the top ten (in a weak draft) are not gonna get it done alone.

I get that they aren't at his production just yet.. but all could be, and at much less hit to the cap.

The cap thing is absolute insanity. Most of you argue that no matter what figure we pay to TDK doesn't matter but then get pissy about $100k x 4 years. The mental gymnastics are almost as athletic as Leeky Aleer.

Ryan Byrnes would cost less too.