List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Hang on, I copped this last week on your little doggies board;

“Why you posting on this board”
And then king dog mofra would ban saints supporters for being “emotional” on any board unless we rubbed his belly

Callum Wilkie, August 17.

“I love playing at the footy club, I love being a leader of this club and being a vice-captain and just want this club to get better,” he told The Herald Sun.

“I think I am like every other Saints person who’s connected to this footy club who is a fan, member, employee, who just wants the signature of the No.7 (Wanganeen-Milera).

“If there is anything I can do to get that then that is what I’ll do and a few other key players. We are on this journey together and I want to drive it and anything I can do to make this club better I will.”

Source: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...k/news-story/fa665a1fea419906f551eb78b73ae343

Next topic.

Apparently according to 7News the "Fallout to Saints' big-money recruiting strategy continues"

Excuse me but what fallout? and how is it continuing? Haven't heard of a single player come out and request a trade yet.

Wasn’t what I asked you to do.

He will hold unless he gets what he wants.

Ross made clear we will let an uncontracted player go to the draft if we don’t get what we want

So for any oppo supporter. The media is out there.

It applies to:

• Wilkie
  • Marshall
  • Windhager.
Windy is not contracted. Be a big loss IMO. If we lose him but get Ryan and Aleer, something is really not right and I'd really begin to question where we're headed.

Didn't stop Jake Waterman getting 34 coaches votes in 2024.

And also, that's why I included the West Coast BnF results. BnF voting will factor in how players are performing while factoring in surrounding circumstances. Ryan hasn't finished top 7 in 2022, 2024 or 2025 despite playing 16, 17 and 20 games.

He may do better for us. Or may not.

I just don't get the excitement. People just seem fascinated by things that are new and shiny.

Let's hope he performs and contributes for 4 years- he'll be 32 in the last year of his deal.
That is truly shocking…

And if you compare Flanders stats to Windhagers at the same age than Windhager comes out in front.

His last 7 rounds showed he can win a lot of footy and seems to be tracking very well.

View attachment 2420023
Agreed.

But Flanders made the jump and provided an elite midfielders season - the question is whether windy can

Apparently according to 7News the "Fallout to Saints' big-money recruiting strategy continues"

Excuse me but what fallout? and how is it continuing? Haven't heard of a single player come out and request a trade yet.
Fallout is TDK and SoS from Carlton
Ryan from West Coast
Aleer from GWS
Flanders from GC?
CMAC from Hawks?
Merrett from Essendon?
Bont from Bulldogs? 🤣🤣🤣

Unless Wilkie asks for a trade. You can still rightly hold him to his contract, but the odds arein the favour of the player getting their own way from history.

Would be a Brad Hill type situation if true.

Dockers had us over a barrel because we’d already made promises to get him on board.

If on the other hand you’ve made overtures about getting him on board without being prepared to pay up then I can’t imagine he’d be toot thrilled with that.

sure,that makes sense,but surely windy wouldnt be insulted and would convey to the club"hey im a sainter for life,no interest in tassie,bump up the years"then the club would go down that path with him,

these posters running with the length of the offer as a certain insult are surely just digging for anything to blame on the club
Im not saying insult but if we just threw 2 years at him without knowing what he values (which im also not suggesting we did) then weve not managed it well.

The issue with Ryan (or anyone else) replacing Butler is replacing the pressure.

Butler looks cooked. I think the way Lyon sets up is as a press rather than individual chase downs. Perhaps that makes his best assets less of an asset too.

Every player inside forward 50 is expected to apply pressure and try to make that next kick a 50/50 and hopefully a turn over. Perceived pressure and lack of space are better than chasing one guy in a modern sport.

Windy is not contracted. Be a big loss IMO. If we lose him but get Ryan and Aleer, something is really not right and I'd really begin to question where we're headed.
The key distinction is that he isn’t a free agent.

It’s a fair trade or end up at west coast

That Achilles ruined Gresham.

We all forget, but his first 2 games in 2021. Was also having a decent 2020 before the stress fractures.

28.5 disposals
8.5 inside 50s
5.5 clearances
0.5 Goals per game
1 direct goal assist per game.

He looked a blue chip asset and set to turn into a game changer before that.

Im not saying insult but if we just threw 2 years at him without knowing what he values (which im also not suggesting we did) then weve not managed it well.
fair enough,but dont think its worth the air time being given by some,every club/organisation can improve a bit in areas,but to suggest windy is insulted by a length of time offer that is highly sort after all over the afl due to circumstances(tassie),is just a load of crap

the cash offer,maybe

Has the leap and hands to do it i like backs more then forwards as i think they do not get their flowers as much as they deserve and reckon the Viking would be a fantastic defender but i reckon he can be dangerous up forward as well

Good to have that flexibility as well if you need him to cover

Good time to be a Saints supporter

The problem with assessing the Windy situation from our perspective is that we don't know what the parties' respective positions are.

In other words, Windy might end up requesting a trade in any of the following situations:

1. We low ball him and offer him materially less that his fair market value.

2. We offer him a fair contract (while other clubs offer him significant overs).

If Windy leaves in situation 1, I would be very pissed. If he leaves in situation 2, then I have no complaints. The club should attempt to retain him, but it should not (materially) overpay him or allow any player to extort the club in the hope we come to the party. That is important both because it is simply bad list management, but also critically, because if the club acquiesces then it only causes more and more trouble down the line with future player contracts. Those bemoaning the precedent set by TDK and Aleer should understand this more than most.