Cam Rayner Dive

I was sitting behind the goal posts. Raynor was actually pinched relentlessly throughout by Mark O'Connor.I imagine that is what he was complaining about to umpires. I am actually surprised none of the fox cameras showed that. I may have video...will check.

We will feed Caro the counterpoints around pincher O’Connor and the multiple warnings the ump gave him prior to paying a free

I reckon after all the toe stamps and gut punches O'Connor copped he's entitled to give a little bit back. Both players committed a lot of niggling, but only one of them had a sook to the umps and only one of them flopped around like bloody Neymar.

Actually, I wouldn't mind seeing all that stuff stamped out: the shoving and nudging from O'Connor and the foot-stamping and jumper punches from Rayner. But you have to pay them all, starting from the opening bounce. You can't just decide to pick one out half-way through the game, just because someone's gone and had a sook to the ump and the other team is starting to motor away.

Brisbane may have gone into half time with the momentum, but by half way through the third I was confident we had the game because the Lions were still flapping their arms at the umps and we were playing the ball.

That behind the goals footage is shocking.

I have no love for Rayner - he is flirting with reputation damage - and Zuthrie had a brain fade - but the real issue here is the umpiring.

I will be amazed if we see that ump again during the finals. Should get a loooong “rest”

Imagine 15 players per game accost the umpires in the hope of a similar response.

Dangerfield is one of the worst in the comp for it and has been for nearly 10 years. Probably more responsible for the epidemic of staging, diving and generally piss weak play that plagues the comp these days than any other player.

Another incredibly physically strong, talented player who somehow thinks being a diving squib is necessary.

Okay. But I'm looking at that footage and the Essendon's guy knee falls on Dangerfield's ankle. How is that diving?

1757255502329.png

What's a Geelong player doing bumping a guy in the back 150 metres off the ball while his teammate is having a shot on goal.

100% got to reward the players playing the ball and not the body.

Raynor sucked in two Geelong players in about 30 seconds. Absolutely hilarious.

And now the Geelong sycophants in AFL house come out and say the first free wasn't there is even more hilarious.

And the Geelong supporters up in arms about their team and players taking the piss out of the rules and getting called out about it has me in hysterics.

I've enjoyed the laugh. Hard to find a good comedy these days.

Every day of the week it's there. There is no insufficient force, its either in the back or not and its 100% in the back, off the ball so contact shouldn't be needed. To make it worse that it's not even near the ball and the ball isn't in play is moronic by the Geelong player.

What's a Geelong player doing bumping a guy in the back 150 metres off the ball while his teammate is having a shot on goal.

100% got to reward the players playing the ball and not the body.

Raynor sucked in two Geelong players in about 30 seconds. Absolutely hilarious.

And now the Geelong sycophants in AFL house come out and say the first free wasn't there is even more hilarious.

And the Geelong supporters up in arms about their team and players taking the piss out of the rules and getting called out about it has me in hysterics.

I've enjoyed the laugh. Hard to find a good comedy these days.

Every day of the week it's there. There is no insufficient force, its either in the back or not and its 100% in the back, off the ball so contact shouldn't be needed. To make it worse that it's not even near the ball and the ball isn't in play is moronic by the Geelong player.

It's what defensive players do to attacking players dozens of times a game. If you put a camera on Harris Andrews, he would have used similar tactics on Neale regularly throughout the game. You let the forward or the star player "know you're there". You don't give them a bit more personal space because the ball isn't in your area; it's your job to make your opponent feel uncomfortable.

But Andrews wouldn't be doing anything wrong to do that on Shannon Neale and there is nothing wrong with what O'Connor did. They're coached that way - to play as close to the established lines as possible. O'Connor gave him a nudge that wouldn't have bruised a grape and Rayner (fully on guard because he's just been speaking to the umpire about his frustrations with O'Connor's tactics) has gone done like he was shot. Then we saw a better example of his core strength in the third when he actually had the ball and was breaking tackles left and right... I wish he always went down as easy as when he's looking for frees.

Every ex-player I've seen comment on it (including noted Geelong haters) has been scathing of it - if not necessarily Rayner's tactics, then certainly the umpire being played like a banjo. Because these players know that it happens constantly during a game and the umpire has randomly decided to pull one out of his arse and spark an 18 point turnaround.

Lawyer up?? You mean the afl tribunal lol. You can get done for staging involving contact, it just has to be grossly exaggerated in the context which it was.

It’s not a criminal trial mate, it’s just opinions, the footage is shocking
As in the Cripps case lawyers can overturn the decisions made by the Tribunal by appealing to independent judges.

It's what defensive players do to attacking players dozens of times a game. If you put a camera on Harris Andrews, he would have used similar tactics on Neale regularly throughout the game. You let the forward or the star player "know you're there". You don't give them a bit more personal space because the ball isn't in your area; it's your job to make your opponent feel uncomfortable.

But Andrews wouldn't be doing anything wrong to do that on Shannon Neale and there is nothing wrong with what O'Connor did. They're coached that way - to play as close to the established lines as possible. O'Connor gave him a nudge that wouldn't have bruised a grape and Rayner (fully on guard because he's just been speaking to the umpire about his frustrations with O'Connor's tactics) has gone done like he was shot. Then we saw a better example of his core strength in the third when he actually had the ball and was breaking tackles left and right... I wish he always went down as easy as when he's looking for frees.

Every ex-player I've seen comment on it (including noted Geelong haters) has been scathing of it - if not necessarily Rayner's tactics, then certainly the umpire being played like a banjo. Because these players know that it happens constantly during a game and the umpire has randomly decided to pull one out of his arse and spark an 18 point turnaround.

Rule 18.3.2 Section B. Can't hit the back.

Then further to Rule 18.3.4 which states contact is only permitted within 5 metres of the ball.

18.3.1 Goes on to state play the ball not the man.

Considering O'Connor was warned about it by an umpire and to play the ball, any leniency in contact is greatly reduced.

And the AFL threw the umpire under the bus for officiating quite leniently within the rules and spirit of the game.

Complete lack of integrity.

Rule 18.3.2 Section B. Can't hit the back.

Then further to Rule 18.3.4 which states contact is only permitted within 5 metres of the ball.

18.3.1 Goes on to state play the ball not the man.

Considering O'Connor was warned about it by an umpire and to play the ball, any leniency in contact is greatly reduced.

And the AFL threw the umpire under the bus for officiating quite leniently within the rules and spirit of the game.

Complete lack of integrity.

You have no idea what Rayner was complaining about and what the umpire warned O'Connor about.

If the umpire said to O'Connor "I'm watching you: any contact to his back, any nudges, it'll be a free kick" then yes, O'Connor couldn't really have too many complaints. But somehow I doubt that's what happened.

O'Connor's gone back, having been warned, to what always has been - and always will be - some bread and butter negating tactics of basically just maintaining touch with the opponent he's been tasked to clamp down on and the umpire has randomly decided to pay a free kick against him. If they want to umpire that way, fine. Good luck stopping Dangerfield, Cameron and Neale in the forwardline and Smith and Holmes in the middle. But they didn't pay anything like it, before or after that incident. You could have put your house on Rayner and Lohman not getting any cheap ones in the second half and of course they didn't. And that's obviously why it's so ridiculous.

The rules are the rules. They're probably the most open to interpretation in sport, because they all come under 'the spirit of the game'. So the umpires (like in all sports) talk to the captains or the teams before the game and advise them how the game will be umpired.

When does Cameron Rayner receive his 10 week ban from the mro?

Cam Rayner Dive