Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Can't see how we would get a Walter type without moving on Curnow. And isn't Flanders an example of quality for quality's sake given he wants more midfield time and he's not a massive POD from who is already there?
Me either. and yes quality for qualitya sake. They are just the players mooted this year as 'potentially gettable - via charlie) and are quality.

I'm not even sure i want them or more importantly, whether someone like a Flanders would even choose Carlton in its current plight over a better more successful club option.

Flanders would reek of last minute desparation rather than planned list mgmt. I would ask what has our club been doing in a planned way over 4 years!!!

To be in our current position of bringing in an ex bulldog in Buku, Petrucelle, and Chesser is simply reactionary and poor.

IF, we landed a butters or quality similar type and with the addition of jagga a fit Walsh, chesser and few other bits and pieces we are well and truely up to our eyeballs in the season imo

A few bits a pieces?

• Key defender
  • Rebounding defenders
  • Midfielders with speed
  • Small forwards
  • 3rd tall forward
  • Wingers that aren’t terrible
  • Midfielders with pace
  • An AFL grade ruckman

Yep, only half a team short 👍

A few bits a pieces?

• Key defender
  • Rebounding defenders
  • Midfielders with speed
  • Small forwards
  • 3rd tall forward
  • Midfielders with pace
  • An AFL grade ruckman

What’s the difference between midfielders with pace and midfielders with speed?

The way I see it, is the club will be doing everything in its power to land as good a players as possible, to give us every possibility next season of being there or bouts.
The only way I see us going a little bit more down the rebuilding path is that if where forced to.
Eg. If curnow goes and we can’t get very good players back in the deal.
If we end up taking the picks and also can’t pry good player(s) from other clubs and are forced to go to the draft.

Straight swap for Butters?

Think he has more upside than what we would get in return.

Was angry with him after the final last year and although results were mixed demonstrated endeavour throughout the season that I hadn't really seen from him

Have more belief that if it clicks it'll really click for him but we need the penny to drop.

Was angry with him after the final last year and although results were mixed demonstrated endeavour throughout the season that I hadn't really seen from him

Have more belief that if it clicks it'll really click for him but we need the penny to drop.

I don’t think it will ever drop.

He’s far too slow for his position. Can’t teach speed.

And his forward craft is miles off, he’s a crumbing forward who doesn’t know how to crumb.

Two different types of speed

1. Burst speed out of pack, stoppages, etc

2. Consistently fast

Many players have one and not the other

They list multiple valid points and you pick out the one minor error in the post.
Pretty much it's all spot on as areas we need to improve the list. Could argue about that third tall forward as I think with Kemp and Moir we have that covered but I agree with the rest.

We have too many players that lack athletisim. We lack footy skills across the wing and half back- hence the link to Chesser. We lack a dynamic midfielder who can break away from stoppage. We lack a genuine small forward- not an undersized mid being shoe horned into a small forward role as basically all our current small forwards are. We lack a good ruckman. We lack another genuine key defender- not intercepting types like Haynes. With JSOS and probably Gov leaving we lack a third tall- hence the link to Khamis. We lack a young developing key forward after cutting Lemmey. Not saying we can't contend but it would be much easier if we address these deficiencies.

They list multiple valid points and you pick out the one minor error in the post.
Pretty much it's all spot on as areas we need to improve the list. Could argue about that third tall forward as I think with Kemp and Moir we have that covered but I agree with the rest.

We have too many players that lack athletisim. We lack footy skills across the wing and half back- hence the link to Chesser. We lack a dynamic midfielder who can break away from stoppage. We lack a genuine small forward- not an undersized mid being shoe horned into a small forward role as basically all our current small forwards are. We lack a good ruckman. We lack another genuine key defender- not intercepting types like Haynes. With JSOS and probably Gov leaving we lack a third tall- hence the link to Khamis. We lack a young developing key forward after cutting Lemmey. Not saying we can't contend but it would be much easier if we address these deficiencies.
It was a joke mate chill 😂

What capacity?
What do you think * would accept?

In no particular order of importance:

1. He'll come at a much lower price than Butters.
2. He's every bit as good as Butters, arguably better (goes missing less).
3. We get plenty from TDK,. JSOS..etc.
4. Sounds like they're interested in Guv, as a piece of the bigger puzzle.
5. I reckon it's come down to whether Merrett reckons, or could be convinced, that we can seriously contend in the next 1-3 years...
6. I reckon Charlie would be happy to stay if we bring a Merrett into the fold...

Kane Farrell Please.

Merrett would cost at least a first rounder, around a million a year in salary, is about to turn 30 and might want out of * because he is sick of losing and their list is going backwards...

He is a gun, but if he leaves it won't be to us...
2 firsts, just depends on where they land…
What did Brisvegas give us for Fev... a dual Coleman winner.

They gave us a 20 year old Lachie Henderson and pick 12.

We gave them a 29 year old Fev and our second round pick (pick 27). We also paid 100k of his salary for the next 2 years.

As for the Judd deal, we offered them a straight swap of Fev for Judd. They said they wanted a young talent and so we offered a choice of Bower and Kennedy. They leapt on Kennedy.
Always wonder why they didn’t choose Bower over Kennedy 🤔

In no particular order of importance:

1. He'll come at a much lower price than Butters.
2. He's every bit as good as Butters, arguably better (goes missing less).
3. We get plenty from TDK,. JSOS..etc.
4. Sounds like they're interested in Guv, as a piece of the bigger puzzle.
5. I reckon it's come down to whether Merrett reckons, or could be convinced, that we can seriously contend in the next 1-3 years...
6. I reckon Charlie would be happy to stay if we bring a Merrett into the fold...
Have a friend who works in the Essendon membership space and says he is a horrible human.One of those my s*** dosent stink people.Very arrogant as well.

Would like to think we’re getting rid of these sorts of players.

The way I see it, is the club will be doing everything in its power to land as good a players as possible, to give us every possibility next season of being there or bouts.
The only way I see us going a little bit more down the rebuilding path is that if where forced to.
Eg. If curnow goes and we can’t get very good players back in the deal.
If we end up taking the picks and also can’t pry good player(s) from other clubs and are forced to go to the draft.
Stating the obvious here but this is already the most interesting off season I can remember.

Even more than in 2015, which was all about the draft.

It’s not even close to end of finals and there are so many balls in the air and moving pieces for the blues. We’re basically being reported on daily like it’s mid trade period.

Mostly interesting because there’s a hope that we just need a mini reset and can bounce quickly (I’m in this camp), but if it doesn’t work we could be stuck in no man’s land with compromised drafts upcoming.

It’s an enormous few months for the club

A few bits a pieces?

• Key defender
  • Rebounding defenders
  • Midfielders with speed
  • Small forwards
  • 3rd tall forward
  • Midfielders with pace
  • An AFL grade ruckman

Key defender - Dean will come in and play a supporting role early, he's well regarded, physically advanced for a draftee, and has been learning our "system" for a few years. Wait and see how the off season goes, I think we're a good chance of signing Ethan Phillips as a rookie or SSP as depth too.

Rebounding defenders - Khamis if he plays back will help a bit, Newman back will help a bit, Carroll another year will help a bit, Chesser will probably help a bit (from defensive stoppage moreso than kick-ins). Honestly, I think rebounding personnel is 50% of the solution, and the other 50% is fixing our movement and presentation ahead of the ball.

Midfielders with speed - Jagga will help a bit, Chesser will help a bit, Wilson another year will help a bit, Walsh with a full preseason will help a lot.

Small forwards - feel this is one we won't be able to do much to address this off season, and we'll be relying on better system and delivery.

3rd tall forward - Kemp back, maybe Khamis, another preseasom into Moir, another preseason into HOK.

Wingers that aren’t terrible - suspect this year for Ollie was a development year, and in 2026 he'll be back on his natural wing. Chesser will see some time there, Wilson, Carroll, Walsh, etc. Could see us looking at Sholl. This is as much about how we use our wings as it is about the names though.

An AFL grade ruckman - Pitto can do the job with support from HOK. He's not elite, but he's shown he can be solid, and solid gets the job done most weeks. Improve our speed around the ball (as above) and we'll be better able to play off opposition tapwork too.

A lot of our issues can't be fixed with one player, it'll be about making better use of multiple players and using their strengths rather than parking them in the 2s because of their weaknesses. Hawthorn, Collingwood, Geelong, Brissy etc. do this very well, we need to as well.