Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

The club has been extremely strong both privately and publicly that Charlie is untouchable and won’t be traded, they aren’t gonna change this stance for some role players especially when Charlie has 4 years left on his contract.

If Charlie gets traded it’s gonna be for unbelievable haul and overs in our favour. That’s why I don’t believe Charlie will get traded because that offer is close to impossible.
Nail head

Had an interrupted pre-season this year. Has had elite stats otherwise. Do I really need to defend CC 😂

Gulden great…I like Blakey or Rowell as well.

You asked what else he could have achieved. He achieved that level in 2 seasons out of 10, so my suggestion is he could have achieved more. He may still achieve more. He is not beyond reproach though. He didn't play like he was hampered a lot this year, he played like he didn't care as a lot of them did. Then when we make changes at the end of the year, because of the shitty year we had, he wants to leave because of the solution to the problem he helped create. We're no guarantee of getting him to play with 100% intensity for us ever again, if he wasn't invested in 2025, and we hold him to his contract.

Seriously, Gulden, as many suggest here is Sydney's best player. How do the Swans sell it to him, who is contracted until the end of 2028 btw, to come to Carlton so they can get arguably, Carltons best player, and for Gulden to have to come to Melbourne to play with our dregs that are left? :think:

Someone explain it to me.

That's one aspect that is constantly overlooked - we don't just need to convince Sydney to part with an elite player, that elite player needs to be open to moving, and moving to Carlton.

I think that's why GC is a more likely partner. Walter is the name doing the rounds, and as a young player yet to establish himself in their best 22, I think we'd have a better chance of selling a move to him than someone like Gulden, even with Walter being a local up there. Could pretty much promise him a starting spot alongside Harry, and pair that pitch with a generous contract of whatever length works for him - long term for security, or shorter term to give him the ability to renegotiate sooner if his form warrants it.

We already have these types in the team.

Hewett, Newman, Cripps, Cerra etc.

Our issue is we don't have literally any closing speed on our list outside of Saad and even he's starting to look a bit slow out there at his age.

Football brains are essential to a team, but in the modern day you also need the athletes around them or you end up with a list like ours that is treacle slow and get burnt to a crisp in any sort of open transition play game.

Of course, you need a mix; it's always been that way, but over the past twenty years or so, there's been a tendency to prioritise athletes, even if they have little footy nous or skills.

I don't care how fast they are, if they can't deliver the ball to a teammate's advantage, if they can't assess options and deliver quickly, they are useless imo.

You asked what else he could have achieved. He achieved that level in 2 seasons out of 10, so my suggestion is he could have achieved more. He may still achieve more. He is not beyond reproach though. He didn't play like he was hampered a lot this year, he played like he didn't care as a lot of them did. Then when we make changes at the end of the year, because of the shitty year we had, he wants to leave because of the solution to the problem he helped create. We're no guarantee of getting him to play with 100% intensity for us ever again, if he wasn't invested in 2025, and we hold him to his contract.

It is a long way to catch up if you miss a good pre season and Charlie started on a modified program. I don’t think our players were managed enough; resulting in a high number of injuries again this year.

The exodus of off field people would suggest that this is a lot more than just changes going on at the club. We played finals last year.

He will definitely be back with a solid pre season. I don’t think it is an attitude problem.

I don't who else we will be connected to this off-season.

But i fully intend to speculate wildly.

Kinda cool we are landing Connor McDonald to join Darcy Jones and Caleb Serong

The club has been extremely strong both privately and publicly that Charlie is untouchable and won’t be traded, they aren’t gonna change this stance for some role players especially when Charlie has 4 years left on his contract.

If Charlie gets traded it’s gonna be for unbelievable haul and overs in our favour. That’s why I don’t believe Charlie will get traded because that offer is close to impossible.
Privately not quite as strong as publicly … but agree this is the likely outcome.

So Flog McClure on the latest ep of the tradies podcast today said that speaking to people around the Charlie situation over the weekend, the only club that looks like could do a deal is Gold Coast.

Sydney have sold the vision to Charlie but don’t want to offer anyone good or who we are interested so won’t be able to get a deal done. The player we want from the suns is Jed Walter, suns reluctant to give him up.
Deffo not shooting the messenger here, just whinging out loud, but...
Why in the Absolute **** would we want to trade Curnow for Jed Walter?

2025 Stats
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-gold-coast-suns--jed-walter
2025 HighsCareer Highs
Disposals​
Kicks​
Handballs​
Marks​
Goals​
Tackles​
Hitouts​
Clearances​
0​
Goal Assists​
Inside 50s​
Rebound 50s​
Supercoach​
AFL Fantasy​

We already have these types in the team.

Hewett, Newman, Cripps, Cerra etc.

Our issue is we don't have literally any closing speed on our list outside of Saad and even he's starting to look a bit slow out there at his age.

Football brains are essential to a team, but in the modern day you also need the athletes around them or you end up with a list like ours that is treacle slow and get burnt to a crisp in any sort of open transition play game.

I don't think Cripps has a good football brain. Adequate I would say. He regularly ignores the best target to go long, or take the game on himself.

Newman has a good footy brain. Cerra so-so. Hewett is pretty good.

A lot of talk re Walter being involved in the Charlie trade should it happen.Theres a couple of players who I’d take way before him.

Bailey Humprey and Will Powell.

Would improve us immediately.

If they want to leave. They are walk up starts for an exciting finals side that will only get better.

2025 Stats
2025 HighsCareer Highs
Disposals​
Kicks​
Handballs​
Marks​
Goals​
Tackles​
Hitouts​
Clearances​
0​
Goal Assists​
Inside 50s​
Rebound 50s​
Supercoach​
AFL Fantasy​

A few points.

Walter is a 20yo KPF, his season stats for 2025 aren't super relevant. We'd be expecting his best footy to be 4-5 years away and hopefully last 5-8 years from that point on. So losing Charlie and getting Walter would indicate the club think we're at least a few years off being a genuine contender, and believe we're better served with a young KPF to develop alongside Harry rather than playing two KPFs who have probably both nudged past their zenith. From a list profile standpoint, we're probably better off staggering our KPF ages rather than having an all eggs in one basket setup where both could retire within 12 months of eachother, having held out any developing talls that were behind them.

And if Walter was involved in a Charlie trade, it wouldn't be a straight swap, we'd want more. Charlie for GC is a massive boost right in their opening finals window. He could legitimately be the difference between making up the numbers and clinching a flag. As such, if they want him then they should be moving heaven and earth, not haggling.

GCS selected Walter at pick 3, he’s not yet 21 and contracted. He’s a 195cm KPF.
What do you people think his value is compared to Curnow?

You lose draft pick value as soon as you drive off the lot. KPPs take time to get going so they are all potential for about 4 seasons. His value is probably around Pick 10-15 now IMO. Mind you, with Charlie coming off an injury-plagued low performance season ... we have to get clubs to see his value based off his best form, while they have to get us to see their young players value based on potential. If we don't rate Walter on potential, then it's fair for others to rate Curnow based on 2025.

2025 Stats
2025 HighsCareer Highs
Disposals​
Kicks​
Handballs​
Marks​
Goals​
Tackles​
Hitouts​
Clearances​
0​
Goal Assists​
Inside 50s​
Rebound 50s​
Supercoach​
AFL Fantasy​

I don’t think we want to trade Charlie at all, but if he’s going to continue to kick up a fuss and be a distraction there’s a significant chance to cash in. In our position every player should have a price especially one that isn’t buying in.

I see Jed Walter as a Charlie clone, 8 years younger. Yes he is unproven but we’d shake them down for another pick/s because of that. If we don’t see ourselves as a flag threat in 2026 (which I don’t) it should be a serious consideration. He’s a top tier rolled gold talent, clubs spend decades without getting near a KPF as talented as him. We actually do very well in developing them which would make me confident.

Consolidate next year, pump games into Smith, FRP, Dean, Moir, Carroll, Cowan, Lord, Wilson and HOK, add Walker, then attack free agency with our new found cap space. Weitering, McKay, Walsh still under 30, I think if we play it right we’d be an attractive proposition.

Charlie is brilliant but we’ve had him for 10 years and we haven’t won squat. There’s a way we can win here imo.