Roast Collingwood to play Opening Round at MCG in 2026

The Saints would have requested it to be at the G. All teams want big home games against the biggest clubs. They will make big dollars on the non member ticket sales.
yes the AFL has committed to giving us 1 home game at the G. Our "Spud's game" in part to build a marquee game that we currently don't have, as we are the only club without a marquee game/derby.

If we could get this, as that commitment, vs Pies, in clear air, would be huge for our club.

yes the AFL has committed to giving us 1 home game at the G. Our "Spud's game" in part to build a marquee game that we currently don't have, as we are the only club without a marquee game/derby.

If we could get this, as that commitment, vs Pies, in clear air, would be huge for our club.
And IMO it would be fair as well. Spread the big home games around.

Wasn’t opening round specifically rolled out to give other states the limelight with the hype of the start of the season?

If it’s not the case anymore just scrap it and play 9 games and make it a normal round

And fwiw I couldn’t give a **** if it means Richmond V Carlton isn’t the first game of the season
The AFL simply can never admit they had a bad idea and revert to the way things were. They try to make adjustments which just makes it worse. Exact same situation with the ore-finals bye.

It is a Marquee game, isnt it? And the Alannah and Maddie fund-raising one with Richmond every year?

Wait so this will be another away game that’s moved to the Pies home ground?
I mean Saints play out of Marvel don’t they.
Or have they written that wrong on the twitter post.
Unpopular opinion, I didn't mind opening round with the NSW and Queensland sides hosting games to start the season.

One Thursday night game, one Friday night game, one Saturday Arvo game and one Saturday night game. Anyway the AFL will try and get Queensland and NSW fans

It was weird with the weather affecting 2 games. One of them was delayed and played in round 3 anyway. LoL

Unpopular opinion, I didn't mind opening round with the NSW and Queensland sides hosting games to start the season.

One Thursday night game, one Friday night game, one Saturday Arvo game and one Saturday night game. Anyway the AFL will try and get Queensland and NSW fans

It was weird with the weather affecting 2 games. One of them was delayed and played in round 3 anyway. LoL
Why the need for a NSW/QLD only round? Why not a regular round but put them in primetime? That's right, still need another all Vic blockbuster.

Its maximising revenue over what the fans want.

It is a Marquee game, isnt it? And the Alannah and Maddie fund-raising one with Richmond every year?
we are trying to position it as that, yes, played both Carlton and Essendon the last 2 years at the MCG. the Maddies Foundation and the Pride Game we have stopped doing.

given our positive off season so far, Nas' signature, could see 75-80k turning up, which would again be a huge result

Why the need for a NSW/QLD only round? Why not a regular round but put them in primetime? That's right, still need another all Vic blockbuster.

Its maximising revenue over what the fans want.
I can understand why AFL did the opening round this year. They wanted exposure for those 4 northern state sides.

I agree the AFL wants to maximize revenue.

AFL would be happy with GWS, gold coast and Brisbane making finals this year.

we are trying to position it as that, yes, played both Carlton and Essendon the last 2 years at the MCG. the Maddies Foundation and the Pride Game we have stopped doing.

given our positive off season so far, Nas' signature, could see 75-80k turning up, which would again be a huge result
That's pretty cool for you guys.

You said St Kilda was the only one without a marquee game, what about the Bulldogs?

Collingwood kissed on the dick as per usual.

Absolutely, having the latest start to pre season and then having to play a week earlier than most teams is definitely being kissed on the dick…

A win for Collingwood is not being used as a money making machine for every substandard club unable to survive on their own…

You just don't want to travel. That's the beginning and end of it. You'll travel to Tassie once every five years at best. That's also a guarantee. Ye sook, ye shall receive.

You can pretty much guarantee we’ll travel to Tassie every year to give them a boost, but hopefully by then GWS or Gold Coast can stand on their own 2 feet, or fold, so we don’t have prop up 3 interstate sides along with the 5 Victorian clubs who all rely on us to keep them alive.

Roast Collingwood to play Opening Round at MCG in 2026