Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

The part of Soapy’s post that says “SOS bidding on Dean is BS” should really be stickied at this point.

You know it will be a Bluemour that SOS will bid on Dean several more times in this thread in the next week alone.

Swans finished 10th this year, very hard to see them part with any of the key players we would want to get a deal done.

I still think Suns are in a better position in terms of players / picks to make a deal than the Swans or Cats are.
Agree, IMO I can only see the Suns able to get a deal done from here. Walter with another good player and a pick

Totally agree with you there. Has a fair amout of talent and a great attitude. deserves more game time in the seniors, but if he gets us Chesser, cya Binns.
Unfortunately for Binns his kicking ability is poor by AFL standards.
He can find the footy and has a great tank just cannot kick well enough and we have far too many on our list that just cant kick well enough.
Chesser has an elite kick and speed, we will just need to maintain his fitness to handle AFL Much higher upside in Chesser and he is a free hit so to say

You have to draw a line in the sand. If a so called leader wants out, let him go...He has failed to impact in every final, he has done crazy stuff in the last few minutes and cost us games, his best aint worth it we are just starved for success.

This makes me sick to say it, but how many times have other players from other teams put daggers through our hearts at the end of games to break our hearts? Multiple. That's the culture and type of players we need

Also, until the players band together and collectively admit that we are a bunch of losers we will never get anywhere

Finals time and they show players that stand up in the heat, big moments, big-game players.

There’s no highlights around of Charlie…

Some scribes are calling CC just a good footballer but overrated.

Motlop continues to have me torn.

He has a high ceiling potentially, but I can’t help feeling he has been misread both by coaches and his own perception. He is not and will never be Kosi Pickett 2.0. When he plays up the ground he becomes a straight line runner, he loses his agility. The bloke is an excellent crumber with good instincts when he plays deep. Has good x-factor. I get the game has changed and small forwards need to contribute substantially to defence. I don’t see him working for his fellow forwards Zac, Durds and Frankie can be seen working positionally and blocking whereas Mots seems to perceive himself as a playmaker. He has a tendency to swoop with a one out effort as opposed to presenting and working from there. For mine, he has to be a combo of pressure player and opportunist goal kicker rather than the desired mid/forward hybrid. He is not an endurance animal or a high possession type.

He has had some great moments over his short journey, but they are punctuated by too many seemingly half arsed efforts. I won’t denigrate his speed as he is capable of some high end pace, not so much off the mark though. The other issue is that like many, he is quicker offensively than defensively. His variations is significant unfortunately.

He is young enough to find a place in our long term forward line. He has enough ability. He is not inherently lazy, but does not recognise his shortcomings and work on them. Thinking the coaches should be more proactive with what he can bring, rather than expecting him to fit a stereotype. (Think that has been a Voss weakness trying to fit individuals to perceived hard and fast roles).

The flip side is that the name Motlop has never been synonymous with unconditional. The family is very talented, but historically seems to value mercurial over professional. Sorry if that is deemed offensive.
Nothing to be torn over..

Outside of zac Williams and more recently Frank the tank we dont have good small forwards.

Durdin in particular is way way below afl standard.

Motlop has a bit more aggression and looks like he could make it but he lacks speed/burst and isnt quick enough with disposing for quick snaps.

The line coaches who were contracted have left. We have 2 uncontracted line coaches still to go, Russell and Hansen. What's the bet that the monday after the grand final, we'll be announcing that both of those guys are gone as well, and we'll be announcing the arrival of two new line coaches.
I think Hansen was contracted. Russell and Clarke uncontracted.

Outside of zac Williams and more recently Frank the tank we dont have good small forwards.

Motlop has a bit more aggression and looks like he could make it but he lacks speed/burst and isnt quick enough with disposing for quick snaps.
It’s bad enough ZW has had to be repurposed into a fwd

Wheelo and Footywire both similar results.

Are you suggesting Petrucelle is a gun? key markers for a small forward including one percenters, tackles, clearances are all a little lower than Motlop. These are vital for a small forward. Most of the stats though are very close - same with Jamie Elliot at 21.

This is not even factoring in the delivery forward. Betts was on the end of Gibbs and Murphy. The service Motlop gets is not even close. Our mids crucify our forwards.

No, no, no, you don't get to UNO Reverse this :p

Your words: "Don't understand the s**t Motlop cops considering he's tracking almost identical to Eddie Betts for the same point of his career."

I'm not saying Petruccelle is a gun. I'm not saying Sexton is a gun. I'm not saying Henderson was a small forward. I'm saying that you can't use the fact that Betts had similar stats to Motlop at the same age as some kind of retort for criticism or critique of Motlop.

Betts having similar stats at the same age doesn't mean Motlop is going to morph into Eddie in the next few years, they're different players.

So my question was - why defend Motlop based on a tenuous comparison to Betts's early career numbers, when you could have plucked out Petruccelle or Sexton and drawn the conclusion that he'll end up as bog ordinary as either of them?

Continuity and some mid rotation time would do Corey the world of good.

We saw some reasonable footy from Jesse late in the year when inserted into the middle, Corey has the agility and capacity to get to contests, even win them, when he has no right to do so. IMHO if fit enough CD would go fine in that role.
Is OK at making and finding space in the forward line, reckon his ability to spread or to close down space would be valuable/more obvious in the midfield.

Zac is just a very clever footballer and seems well suited to life in and around F50 - good goal sense but also able to spot and execute damaging options.

Frank was finally played in a role that suits him. He'd excelled in the VFL all year playing as a HHF type with responsibility to bring others into the game. Improved output in the AFL was not surprising.

I don't think he'll be traded but I know for a fact he's keen to get to Geelong.

As everyone knows, Geelong have a few powerful, wealthy, unofficial inner-sanctum backers that are very, very good at manipulating player salaries or 'off-the-book' rewards.' Was told reliably the AFL's 'token' investigation into the last year was nothing more than a couple of phone calls...thanks to the power of Andrew Dillon's best mate, Geelong CEO Steve Hocking.

Sam Edmund's piece the other day suggesting Charlie would be happy to take a "pay cut" to play at Geelong made me laugh. These clown in the media don't think some of their players (or wives, partners & fiances) getting financially supplemented in other ways??

The AFL treat Geelong different to every other club in the league and i can reference many reasons why at another time. I don't mean to sound all conspiracy nutty but urge people to look at Geelong closely and don't fall for the incestual media lovefest in them from the likjes of Whateley, Mitch Cleary, Anthony Hudson, Dwayne Russell, David King, Tim Watson, Kane Cornes etc etc).

Hell, look at this week for example...coach & star player abuse and threaten two females to the brink of a breakdown...any suggestion of a sanction from the AFL or damning media? God no...they've got GWS private mad-monday costumes to worry about)
Yep totally agree.
They are held to very different standards.
They avoid any scrutiny and have plenty of vocal mouth pieces in the media.
They are not the pure as snow, just a well run club, everyone would like you to know.
That’s not to say that they are poorly run,
just get away with any scrutiny .

No, no, no, you don't get to UNO Reverse this :p

Your words: "Don't understand the s**t Motlop cops considering he's tracking almost identical to Eddie Betts for the same point of his career."

I'm not saying Petruccelle is a gun. I'm not saying Sexton is a gun. I'm not saying Henderson was a small forward. I'm saying that you can't use the fact that Betts had similar stats to Motlop at the same age as some kind of retort for criticism or critique of Motlop.

Betts having similar stats at the same age doesn't mean Motlop is going to morph into Eddie in the next few years, they're different players.

So my question was - why defend Motlop based on a tenuous comparison to Betts's early career numbers, when you could have plucked out Petruccelle or Sexton and drawn the conclusion that he'll end up as bog ordinary as either of them?

No where was an uno response made. Kept it 100% relevant to Carlton and moreso making a comparison to one of the best small forwards Carlton has ever had. Based on data to date why would a club delist a player with a similar form line? Your position is slipping.

It’s bad enough ZW has had to be repurposed into a fwd
Is very well suited to it, is valuable in the role and has performed well. Why is it bad he plays there?

(and don't give me 'he was recruited to play midfield' because that's a list management/salary cap issue).

Motlop is conditional - too many almost go there efforts. Too much straight line to nothing. Too much fail to see the field and team mates. Too many missed set shots. Not big enough to be a inside mid. Not fast enough or smart enough in congestion to be an outside receiver. Too many 'almosts' over and over and over again. Playing a couple of ok ish games in dead rubbers when your contract is up for renewal - is very predictable meh stuff and the Club has priced it accordingly.

Yep we would all like him to suddenly click. He can start with backing himself - around the deal he has been offered. He will find it hard to keep a spot if Evans form stays good and Williams stays on the park anyway. Evans has him covered for smarts and kicking efficiency and real tackles. Moir has him covered for factor X and kicking - that the bloke I expect a lot of growth in - as well as Kempy if he can come back strong. Carlton has a few too many smalls that arent finals quality on the books.
Well put

Any idea why he's considering leaving?
Probably sick of the abuse. I haven't seen many positive post about him on any of the socials. And he'd be reading much of it.

Why are our supporters so nasty?

Can't say anything positive about Motlop or Gov most places online without people jumping down your throat.

Is very well suited to it, is valuable in the role and has performed well. Why is it bad he plays there?

(and don't give me 'he was recruited to play midfield' because that's a list management/salary cap issue).
Yes, he is good there given how crap our depth is there. But speed and creativity off the half backline imo is more important and that was probably supposed to be his purpose aside from midfield mins.