Traded Brandon Starcevich - traded to West Coast as part of a 3-way trade with Brisbane and Fremantle

Why are Eagles fans getting upset at the thought of giving a pick they are potentially getting for free from the AFL to Brisbane?

Don’t give it to them then.
Just accept the swap of Allen for Starcevich and move on.

Of course they wont want this, it takes away from them the rort that is getting pick 2 for Oscar.
Great, we got a pick because we‘re in a historically terrible position. Let‘s just give it to Brisbane who are reigning premiers after rorting the system for the past 5 years…

Come on…

Great, we got a pick because we‘re in a historically terrible position. Let‘s just give it to Brisbane who are reigning premiers after rorting the system for the past 5 years…

Come on…
Will be 6 years after we continue the rorts again this season. Just sit back and admire it, you’ll live longer.

We would like to use any picks we get that must be traded on other things

Starc we know should be free, why spend more than you have to?

Have him for free mate, RFA Allen for RFA Starcevich. No compo picks for either team. done.

Will be 6 years after we continue the rorts again this season. Just sit back and admire it, you’ll live longer.
I’m not getting worked up about the farcical system, merely pointing out the hilarious idea that WC shouldn’t take advantage of it, despite other clubs doing so.

Not yet, likely to come before the end of the month. We originally requested to not have 2 diluted, 2 list spots, and pre-listing of NGA talent. However we recently pivoted to asking for a pacakage of picks similar to the North assistance in end of first rounders to be traded on for talent. They received 1 and then 2 the following year. I'd hope we get at least 1 this year and 1 next year. Or even a first and a second this year, and another second next year or something like that. Try and net Starcevich, Tylar Young, and then get in a pre-agents ear for the next 12 months.

I reckon the request for picks that you have to trade is pretty likely to be agreed to - because that supports more CONTINENTAL TYRES TRADE RADIO content.

If theres any truth to the Neale rumours, West Coast will have to trade for him. I could see Brisbane accepting West Coast’s 2nd rounder, which is as close to a late first as it gets. But wouldnt they want points instead of a higher pick? Or do the Lions need capital for draft targets?
Both. In this draft and future drafts.

You can sell the club because youve gotten 3 f/s who were worthy top 5/10 picks, and 2 academy kids now in the early parts of the draft all in the last few years. Youve traded away assets in those years to acquire elite players like Dunkley. Youve now used your current position as a strong team with 6! young elite mids coming through to attract free agents.
This is not some work of genius list management by Brisbane lmao **** me campaigner
I mean, getting Will, Jaspa and Dunkley in the one draft and trade period was some work of genius list management.
The pressure is on Brisbane to make the most of their premiership window, they will not find another KPF to the quality of Allen in free agency in the near future, and thats clearly a HUGE deficiency right now. Dont pretend dude.
What if I told you we had our own Riley Thilthorpe type prospect in our academy for 2027. (c'mon AFL don't change the academy rules just yet).
Allen is out the door anyway, he would find another club if you guys didnt get him.

Thats why we are asking for an exception this year??

Any trade we do would have to be unders for Starc, lets be honest Starc is not as good a player as Allen, a mid 2nd round pick would be more than adequate trade capital to get it all done.

If theres any truth to the Neale rumours, West Coast will have to trade for him. I could see Brisbane accepting West Coast’s 2nd rounder, which is as close to a late first as it gets. But wouldnt they want points instead of a higher pick? Or do the Lions need capital for draft targets?
Lions are getting Allen, Draper, and early second round pick for Starcevich and Kneel. That's an awesome off-season pickups.

I mean, getting Will, Jaspa and Dunkley in the one draft and trade period was some work of genius list management.
Lol?
What if I told you we had our own Riley Thilthorpe type prospect in our academy for 2027. (c'mon AFL don't change the academy rules just yet).
Even if hes that good, he would still be 18. Far off what a mature KPF can do. Itd take a few years minimum to be a #1 KPF, and we know Hipwood isnt it, while Morris is a 3rd tall

So how about Brandon Starcevich hey?

Lol?

Even if hes that good, he would still be 18. Far off what a mature KPF can do. Itd take a few years minimum to be a #1 KPF, and we know Hipwood isnt it, while Morris is a 3rd tall
Yes, but he and our U16AA KPD help extend our window further. As long as the AFL *don’t mess with the current system.

Can’t see the AFL changing the bid matching for a while, unfair to Eagles fans who’ll lose their ability to threaten bidding on academy players

Lions are getting Allen, Draper, and early second round pick for Starcevich and Kneel. That's an awesome off-season pickups.

Getting Draper is divine punishment for our greed at consuming draft and trade rorts.

Trading Neale for anything this year is a bad deal.

No one has it worse than us :(

Getting Draper is divine punishment for our greed at consuming draft and trade rorts.

Trading Neale for anything this year is a bad deal.

No one has it worse than us :(

It’s true. We have it harder than Geelong.

1million+ per season isn't worth a first round? Even an end of first round? Think you need to lay off the bathwater mate.
Given you would get nothing if he left via free agency. I doubt WC would bother if we had to give up a first rounder, in which case Starcevich stays or heads to another club for nothing in return.

Are't you sliding past the key oddity in that post: That you would be paying him a million a year??

I guess that’s a moot point, as whatever we’re offering him Brisbane doesn’t look like matching. But yeah, well done Starcevich if our recruitment team rates him as highly as some of these Brisbane posters.

Given you would get nothing if he left via free agency. I doubt WC would bother if we had to give up a first rounder, in which case Starcevich stays or heads to another club for nothing in return.
I think given where you guys are on the ladder, you should be on your knees thanking god that an elite talent is even thinking about leaving a premiership winning club who will compete for flags for years to come over a team who could only get 1 win this season.

Ok bud