Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

The Big 3 Victorian teams Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood into prelim week, to be joined by one of the QLD Nepos.
Geelong are very successful, but hardly one of the Big clubs
I’m just watching a replay of your 2017 qualifying final. It was your home game and Richmond supporters outnumbered you >2:1
Gee that was a fun day.

I’m just watching a replay of your 2017 qualifying final. It was your home game and Richmond supporters outnumbered you >2:1
Gee that was a fun day.
Not necessarily the biggest 3 vic clubs, but the 3 who have been up the pointy end the most regularly.

Any way. Shhhhhh. It's the Vicbias thread. We have to pretend to like each other and pretend we want to see each other beat the Non-Vic teams to rile the tinfoil hatters

All the travel and "being used to the ground" stuff isn't a non-factor, but they are mainly used as excuses to paper over losing cultures.

Like we comfortably lost to Fremantle at Subiaco in 2010, we came beck better next year, and again the next year after that. 2015 Prelim, we beat them in Perth, similar margin as in 2010. Plenty of excuses along the way.

I don't understand why fans perpetuate such a soft culture, Vic Bias is embarrassing.
You have cause and effect mixed up. When teams become elite, they can overcome disadvantages. Travelling across the country is a disadvantage, which is why players and coaches call it the hardest trip in football. Only having to overcome it once or twice a year must be nice.

Results from this study show that sleep the night before the game is of high importance to players as they are seen to prolong their sleep durations compared to other nights. No differences between conditions of any sleep or performance variable suggest that travel across 2 time-zones is not sufficient enough to have a significant effect on sleep quality and quantity and game day performance in elite AFL players.

This is from a survey on Australian rules footballers.

Now Jack for the 1 millionth time, show us some proof other than so and so said so?

I bet we get nothing a usual.

Must be nice having that advantage when the opposition has to travel west, eh?

I think you and I might be the only two people in South Australia who don't want to sack our coach after every final's defeat.
True..... Ken Hinkley had that 12 or 13 year run as Port Adelaide coach.

Port Adelaide fans hated Ken Hinkley no matter how well he was doing.

Port fans wanted him sacked after the 2020 season despite finishing top and a prelim final exit.

They also wanted him sacked in 2021 after another top 2 finish and preliminary final exit.

Port also wanted him sacked at the end of 2024 despite top 2 and another preliminary final exit. LoL

Results from this study show that sleep the night before the game is of high importance to players as they are seen to prolong their sleep durations compared to other nights. No differences between conditions of any sleep or performance variable suggest that travel across 2 time-zones is not sufficient enough to have a significant effect on sleep quality and quantity and game day performance in elite AFL players.

This is from a survey on Australian rules footballers.

Now Jack for the 1 millionth time, show us some proof other than so and so said so?

I bet we get nothing a usual.
Yeah, but does the study disclose who the footballers are sleeping with as a variable?

they buried the Bailey Smith stuff pretty quick

The Big 3 Victorian teams Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood into prelim week, to be joined by one of the QLD Nepos.
Yes, we felt the collective sigh of relief from across the border when it became clear you'd have atleast 1 Vic team in your GF again.

Its a win, win.

We wont have to hear your legends crying about being locked out of your GF, and the AvFL wont have to waste time and money on royal commissions into it.

Full-time professional athletes who jump on a 3 hour flight every few weeks......yeah that's difficult.

Not really #VICBIAS, but having Geelong, Pies, Hawks and Brizzy in the final 4 shows equalisation is about as "fair dinkum" as Net Zero by 2050.
It's bullshit.
Pies and Brizzy, father sons are eminently helping them stay high in the pecking order.
Geelong, Free Agency and canny recruiting. But Free Agency has really been an advantage for Geelong.
Hawks most impressive, as their recruiting has been excellent. Mitchell is as good as others say, I reckon.
But if you want to see these fellas playing in the Prelims for the next 10 years, you'll reap what you sow.
Oh and if Q'ld is now the 2nd biggest AFL state after Vic, as mentioned by Tony Cochrane last night on Ch 7, get rid of their ****ing academies.

Full-time professional athletes who jump on a 3 hour flight every few weeks......yeah that's difficult.
And that isn't a VIC bias thing anyway.

SA, NSW and QLD teams only do it once or twice a season also.

SA teams travel burden is less than some of the Melbourne based teams, but they try and align themselves to WA clubs...it is cute.

Gee that was a fun day.
Thats the one where Geelong supporters rang up talk back sooking they were intimidated by big bad Richmond right?

Not really #VICBIAS, but having Geelong, Pies, Hawks and Brizzy in the final 4 shows equalisation is about as "fair dinkum" as Net Zero by 2050.
It's bullshit.
Pies and Brizzy, father sons are eminently helping them stay high in the pecking order.
Geelong, Free Agency and canny recruiting. But Free Agency has really been an advantage for Geelong.
Hawks most impressive, as their recruiting has been excellent. Mitchell is as good as others say, I reckon.
But if you want to see these fellas playing in the Prelims for the next 10 years, you'll reap what you sow.
Oh and if Q'ld is now the 2nd biggest AFL state after Vic, as mentioned by Tony Cochrane last night on Ch 7, get rid of their ****ing academies.

It's the weakening of the draft and salary cap as equalisation measures. Draft concessions make the draft less of an equaliser and with the salary cap, good teams have to pay less to retain and attract players, so their salary cap goes a heap further - and it's the same with off-field staff in terms of the soft cap going further.

Free agency has opened up player movement in general, so it's advantaged the more attractive destinations, which Cats clearly are.
Yes. It has also encouraged clubs to remain attractive and not immerse themselves in the tank-rise-tank cycle. You can still do that if you want to, but at least there are choices.

Free agency has let Geelong trade in a few stars for unders. Free would be great, but unders is still better than overs. We still needed the Eagles to cripple themselves in acquiring Kelly, and Smith to stall at the Bulldogs (plus do an ACL) to make the last two deals possible though.

Yes. It has also encouraged clubs to remain attractive and not immerse themselves in the tank-rise-tank cycle. You can still do that if you want to, but at least there are choices.

Free agency has let Geelong trade in a few stars for unders. Free would be great, but unders is still better than overs. We still needed the Eagles to cripple themselves in acquiring Kelly, and Smith to stall at the Bulldogs (plus do an ACL) to make the last two deals possible though.

Yep. The half of the equation that's always forgotten is that a team like the Cats have been consistently disadvantaged by the system as they've been good for 2 decades and have thus had crap draft picks.

It's taken a combination of good management, natural advantages and luck to remain up the top for so long considering the draft disadvantage they've had.

But the wasy things have changed with the draft and the salary cap, it's become harder to rise and easier to remain at the top.

Yep. The half of the equation that's always forgotten is that a team like the Cats have been consistently disadvantaged by the system as they've been good for 2 decades and have thus had crap draft picks.

It's taken a combination of good management, natural advantages and luck to remain up the top for so long considering the draft disadvantage they've had.

But the wasy things have changed with the draft and the salary cap, it's become harder to rise and easier to remain at the top.
Personally I think it's a good thing that staying up the top or sliding down for a potential slingshot back up are options. Both carry risks. I guess the teams punished have been those in no man's land, who avoid the advantages either of the above options presents. Then again Geelong weren't too far off that between '98 and '06. Being well run is still the best advantage there is.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2