Preview 2025 Preliminary Final: Geelong v Hawthorn, 19 September 2025, 7.40pm @ MCG

It's gonna be wet so I think it evens out smith and holmes run being so contested .. we must stop danger his a great wet weather player don't let him smash through 3 tackles then give it to them 2 and will be okay

Oil up a medicine ball at training this week and throw it at the boys. Can’t afford missed tackles on that big shiny flog this week when he covers himself in lube.

I have a profound dislike of Bailey Smith. It's great to bring discussions about mental health into the mainstream, but it also doesn't excuse you from behaving like a ****ing flog.

The truest reflection on someones character is how they treat others - especially those who are in service industries. When I was putting myself through Uni I worked as a bartender, security, in construction, in call centres, even flogging horrible surveys door to door (worst job ever, I quit after kids with water bombs chased me down the street. No money was worth that, lol). That has shaped my perspective ever since - if you're the kind of person who punches down and is a self-entitled Karen to people who are just doing their jobs, you can go and get absolutely ****ed. I've backed out of hiring people and even business deals because I've seen how they treat others when they get a chance.

So screw Bailey Smith. Mouthed off at a female photographer just doing her job (which she was invited to do by his footy club), then fired off a text like it’s an apology. Same week as his coach was cautioned for abusing someone else who was probably just doing their job.

There is something rotten festering in the culture down the highway at that footy club and I can't wait to see the lads take it up to them this weekend. People like Ginni and Wiz cop a lot of grief from the media, but they are friendly lads who have time for people. Such a contrast to Bailey Smith who is a self-entitled Karen without an ounce of contrition. I hope someone collects him with such a hard tackle this weekend that his hairplugs explode.
Brilliantly put.

Read another post on another Big footy forum about how a poster was at a pub at Brighton having lunch with his young kids and JUH wandered in with some of his bikie mates and the posters kids wanted to go so hi and apparently JUH just totally ignored them like a total flog (to cool to acknowledge his fans I guess).

And then straight after that another player came into the pub (Jack Gresham I think?) and was very accommodating and gracious with the kids.

Those are the acts which tell you a lot about a persons true character.

The key is to hit them hard early. I think the cats might be sluggish early on after a week off. Dont let them settle right away. Boys need to be relentless with their pressure and ball movement for four quarters to beat this team.

Go Hawks, very nervous

The key is to hit them hard early. I think the cats might be sluggish early on after a week off. Dont let them settle right away. Boys need to be relentless with their pressure and ball movement for four quarters to beat this team.

Go Hawks, very nervous
Agree - the flip side being that they will likely have fresher legs for running out the game and finishing strong. We need to start very well and jump them

QUESTION FOR MEMBERS

If I am Kennedy Club priority member, and my mate has a hawthorn interstate membership and I combine the two barcodes into Ticketek tomorrow, does this impact the access to seats, or is it a free for all? Eg doesn’t matter the membership this week, as long as you have the barcode?

Cheers

QUESTION FOR MEMBERS

If I am Kennedy Club priority member, and my mate has a hawthorn interstate membership and I combine the two barcodes into Ticketek tomorrow, does this impact the access to seats, or is it a free for all? Eg doesn’t matter the membership this week, as long as you have the barcode?

Cheers
No impact, all membership barcodes work the same for finals tickets. It’s only GF tickets and priority acessss that changes should we happen to win this Friday.

Just remember it’s only 1 ticket per barcode.

No impact, all membership barcodes work the same for finals tickets. It’s only GF tickets and priority acessss that changes should we happen to win this Friday.

Just remember it’s only 1 ticket per barcode.

So, if i have 3 barcodes and want to take 2 extra friends i have to wait till general sales? Can't get them over the line in members only access?

Just on this whole thing regarding the two byes.

Under the old McIntyre Final Five, there was a chance that a team could have two byes, with the second bye coming before the Grand Final (which is the same as the second bye coming before the preliminary final in today's system). I wondered how many teams had two byes under the old system, and what outcomes they had.

The Final Five was in operation from 1972-1990 inclusive. I eliminated 1972 and 1990 from the analysis, because earlier finals in those years had draws, which meant a replay the following week and threw the whole bye / rest thing out.

For the remaining years, there were 9 years where the minor premier (who always had the first bye) got a second bye. The corollary from this is that in the 17 years examined, over half of them had a team with the double bye. For those years with a team with the double bye, the team with the double bye won 6 times (1974, 1979, 1981, 1985, 1987, 1988) and lost 3 times (1975, 1977*, and 1982). 1977 is a funny one of course, with the grand final draw and replay, so I'm not sure how to count it.

For the 8 years where there wasn't a double bye, the minor premier went out in straight sets 3 times (1973, 1980, 1983).

Either way, the idea that a double bad is a bad thing these days probably wasn't the casein the 1970s and 1980s.

I don't have the time to check on the last 12 or so years with the double bye; does anyone have the figures? Be interesting to see how it stacks up.

P

So, if i have 3 barcodes and want to take 2 extra friends i have to wait till general sales? Can't get them over the line in members only access?
Correct, between 10-2 tomorrow is a member sales require a barcode for each ticket. If you want to all sit together you will have to wait to GA and buy all your tickets together.

Got the Grandfinal ticket regsitration email last night
Starting to feel very real now
Lets get this one done then secure another flag.
Exactly the same for me Sturty. I bought Interstate Gold memberships for my son and I up in Brisbane at the end of last year more in hope than anything, but getting that email was the first time I thought “s#%t this is a real possibility”. His best friend and his Dad are mad Lions supporters so we are holding out hope for an epic road trip coming up together!

Hardwick or Scrimshaw ?
Dempsey spends most of his time on the wing (albeit running heaps both way).

Need Weddle to match him up and take advantage of his lack of one-on-one defensive skills