Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion 2025

Tom Morris

@tommorris32

Mason Redman is contracted until the end of 2028, but at least three clubs - including both from his native SA - were made aware that he was frustrated and weighing up a trade request earlier this year. They were asked whether they’d be interested in bringing him in. As far as I can ascertain there was no genuine market for him given his contract status. Redman last week said he was ‘disappointed’ that Zach Merrett was exploring his options. Merrett was one of the key players in convincing Redman to stay when he re-signed in July 2023.

Oh boy wow wee.

Tom Morris
@tommorris32

Mason Redman is contracted until the end of 2028, but at least three clubs - including both from his native SA - were made aware that he was frustrated and weighing up a trade request earlier this year. They were asked whether they’d be interested in bringing him in. As far as I can ascertain there was no genuine market for him given his contract status. Redman last week said he was ‘disappointed’ that Zach Merrett was exploring his options. Merrett was one of the key players in convincing Redman to stay when he re-signed in July 2023.

Oh boy wow wee.

Mason Redman: "But when I do it it's cute."

Redman was uncontracted and stayed loyal to Essendon though.

Whilst I agree Merrett's probably done his time, he is the captain and has 2 years to run on his contract.

He also said at the start of the year lists should be smaller so star players and get paid more and ended up accepting a payrise before the season began.

I'd be pretty miffed if my captain talked me into signing long-term, then tried bailing the very next year(he explored a move to St Kilda) before basically walking out on his contract the year after that.

Whilst I agree Merrett's probably done his time, he is the captain and has 2 years to run on his contract.

He also said at the start of the year lists should be smaller so star players and get paid more and ended up accepting a payrise before the season began.

I'd be pretty miffed if my captain talked me into signing long-term, then tried bailing the very next year(he explored a move to St Kilda) before basically walking out on his contract the year after that.
Ahh Redman is currently contracted to 2028 and is out talking to other clubs. The exact same thing he took shots at merret for.

Mate, I dont think you get it; we're laughing at Essendon and we'll do whatever it takes to keep those laughs coming in. Back off with the reasoned and nuance discussion.

Ahh Redman is currently contracted to 2028 and is out talking to other clubs. The exact same thing he took shots at merret for.
Well, doesn't say he was talking to them, just says clubs were aware he was 'frustrated' and weighing up a request.

He hasn't gone out and met with an opposition coach, then refused to attend the BnF he'll win whilst being captain.

He probably also didn't convince others to stay at the club whilst looking for the exit himself.

Mate, I dont think you get it; we're laughing at Essendon and we'll do whatever it takes to keep those laughs coming in. Back off with the reasoned and nuance discussion.
Oh I never said I wasn't laughing at it.

Well-deserved after the carry-on when they beat us by 2 points this year, IMO.

Tom Morris

@tommorris32

Oh boy wow wee.

At this rate Matt Inness’s decision to leave is looking like a master stroke.

Going to get paid a shit tonne of money to high performance the remaining 7 players on their list.

Remember when Carlton and Essendon were big powerful clubs?

Me neither
I remember as a kid in primary school in Perth, there were a bunch of Essendon supporters amongst the kids. When I asked why they supported them over the Eagles, they just laughed and said because Essendon's a successful club.

Family moved to Tassie in '92, lots of WCE supporters down there, being the first non-VFL club to enter the league.

I wonder if those kids are still happy with their decision to support Essendon?

Fox Footy

@FOXFOOTY
·
17m

CURNOW TO Damien Hardwick is reportedly 'very interested' in Charlie Curnow... but two Suns are off limits in a potential trade.TRADE WHISPERS >> https://bit.ly/42nINGM

Wants Curnow...but won't give anything up for him haha

Fox Footy
@FOXFOOTY
·
17m

CURNOW TO Damien Hardwick is reportedly 'very interested' in Charlie Curnow... but two Suns are off limits in a potential trade.TRADE WHISPERS >> https://bit.ly/42nINGM

Wants Curnow...but won't give anything up for him haha
This is where we get involved in a three way trade with pick 2 and Chesser.

Eagles out pick 2 Chesser
Blues out Curnow and Moir 2nd rounder
Suns out Flanders and Davies. Pick 8

Eagles in pick 8 Davies and Moir
Blues in Chesser Flanders pick 2 (they have a hard on for CDT)
Sun in. Curnow blues 2nd

SO if Chesser/Moir is a wash, you're basically saying pick 2 for Pick 8 + Davies. Would have to think we can get more value than that for pick 2 to be honest.

The Chesser Moir part of the trade is skewed in our favour obviously. Chesser is gone, so if it's not Moir, who is it?

This is one of those trades where we get 2 mature players in for a slide down the draft order.

If it's not Moir, then no deal. Make the blues and suns get desperate for the deal and get who we want

I dunno, for a slide from 2 to 8 I'd be happy to pick up two mature players in the bracket we sorely need experience.

Maybe it's Moir, Davies, Windhager and/or Motlop, but I think a couple of them would make up the deficit in projected talent between 2 and 8.

Sun in. Curnow blues 2nd
No sure the Suns would do that, Davies, Flanders and Pick 8 for Curnow and a 2nd round pick

Davies didnt get a run until round 20....Flanders our of position all year. They're probably out the door anyway.

Flanders is worth a late 1st rounders
Davies a mid to late second rounder.

Patterson and Uwland will fill those voids in a way.

Curnow is worth 8, a late first and late second.

Mitch Cleary

@cleary_mitch
·
2m

The management of North Melbourne captain Jy Simpkin has started sounding out clubs to gauge interest in the contracted midfielder. With
@XanderMcGuire7
on
@7NewsMelbourne
:

Surprised Karamo Brown GIF by The Steve Wilkos Show

watching Essendon implode. Absolutely love it.