Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

In short though - Tasmania does not have the money for this. To build it will cost a similar amount of money as Perth Stadium, in a city one eighth the size, and that will at best have one third the events in any given year. Note that any Tassie team will be playing some home games in the north of the state too, if they want any supporters there.

If you build a stadium in Hobart, it's more like Kardinia Park, not Docklands.
They won't be playing any games in the north mate.

Of course Tassie has the money. It's an infrastructure project that has a net positive for the Tassie economy for the next 50+years.

Take Kardinya park out of Geelong and watch that place dive economically. The cats existence is closely entwined to its entire local economy.

Watched that Gettable episode in full which is the first time I’ve bothered to do so this year. Quite a bit to takeaway from it - not much to get overly enthusiastic about from a WCE perspective but there were some little nuggets of hope

Some of these have been touched on already but my takeaways:

• Chesser likely to attract pick 34 or 44 from Carlton - noting also that the Blues are also chasing Khamis from the Bulldogs who Twomey said is in that same range. We’d be wise to request/accept 34 early and move on before it goes to the Bulldogs.
• Butler more likely to stay than go which is understandable. Might be worth throwing a 3 year deal at him rather than the 2 years he’s been offered by Hawthorn and at more $$ than they’re willing to/able to match (within reason - just because we have cap space we shouldn’t be paying players more than their worth)
• Ah Chee almost a lock to request a trade to Adelaide so put a line through him.
• Starcevich looks a good chance to join us even if Twomey is struggling to get his head around the trade over FA part of his acquisition- and that Brisbane get nothing for him if he leaves as a FA to any club
• Ryan definitely going to St Kilda but no mention of a trade value or an acknowledgment that he’s contracted so we need to be happy with what’s offered
• Our request for as many as four additional rookie spots looks set to be granted and, importantly, with the ability to prelist our NGA players. That would be a significant win
• Also mentioned that we might get a priority pick which we can trade - Twomey bizarrely links that to the Starcevich deal so Brisbane get something which seems unnecessary/unrelated. An extra pick(s) would be handy especially if it’s end of R1 or a R2 tied to our finishing position this year and/or next
• Either way we’ll know Monday/Tuesday next week when the assistance package is ratified by the AFL commission
• Still no clarity on what, if any, changes will be made to the bidding system for next year although placing a higher premium on early bids (top 5) seems more likely than the R1 lockout initially suggested. In true AFL fashion though, that decision might not be made until after the trade period meaning clubs will be trading future picks without knowing what the rules will be for bid matching in 2026.
• There’s talk of clubs in the bottom 4-6 being given additional salary cap space to chase free agents - could be handy for us chasing Chad Warner in 2027 given the probability we’ll still be in that part of the ladder even if we do improve in 2026/27
• Carlton are likely going to put their TDK compensation pick up for trade. Will be pick 10/11 depending on Draper compo for Essendon and might be more achievable as a trade up option than the Port pick held by Gold Coast
• Draper FA compensation is line ball between Band 1 and 2. Silvagni will be band 2
• And big surprise, Robertson a good chance to land at West Coast
cheers, our request for 4 rookie spots would be huge for getting our NGA prospects like you mention.
Hope the rookie spots are for more than 1 year, 3 would be reasonable as if we get and end of 1st round pick 19 would be less than half of what NM got recently.
Sounds like we have asked for more than we expected and the VAFL are seemingly trying to meet in the middle.

They won't be playing any games in the north mate.

Of course Tassie has the money. It's an infrastructure project that has a net positive for the Tassie economy for the next 50+years.

Take Kardinya park out of Geelong and watch that place dive economically. The cats existence is closely entwined to its entire local economy.

If they don't play in Launceston, they will get zero support from the northern half of the state. Tasmania is like taking north of the river vs south and ramping it up by a dozen magnitudes. A Hobart only team will not be supported in Cascade country. A Tasmanian team can't run without the support of the entire state.

As for Tasmania being able to afford this - they're by far - and a massive distance far - the poorest state in Australia. A stadium is not a panacea for this, and it will be a long term cost for the state.

It will have seven or eight AFL games and maybe six BBL games a year. And that's it. That's about a third the use Optus gets, with a third the capacity. There's no way it doesn't lose money and lots of it, that takes away from a state that is reliant already on handouts. And if you set the ticket prices at a level that will make the stadium pay for itself - well Hobart is also the lowest income capital city in the country. So you'd risk not even being able to sell the tickets.

Kardinia Park is nothing on the scale of this stadium - and the Geelong area isn't that much smaller than Hobart's drawing area. And, crucially, Geelong is a day trip out of Melbourne, so opposition fans from smaller Vic clubs that draw Geelong there can actually visit. Hobart (or Launceston) - it's a plane trip.

Tasmania deserves a team because they've been a critical part of the history of the sport. But they don't deserve to be bankrupted doing it.

#Bigwhitepoo??

Seriously, I’m not searching that B.

I’ll end up with my name on a list, and a please explain from Mrs SaC…

I think it had something to do with the removal of a certain ingredient/chemical regularly found in dogfood.

And now we can move on.

If they don't play in Launceston, they will get zero support from the northern half of the state. Tasmania is like taking north of the river vs south and ramping it up by a dozen magnitudes. A Hobart only team will not be supported in Cascade country. A Tasmanian team can't run without the support of the entire state.

As for Tasmania being able to afford this - they're by far - and a massive distance far - the poorest state in Australia. A stadium is not a panacea for this, and it will be a long term cost for the state.

It will have seven or eight AFL games and maybe six BBL games a year. And that's it. That's about a third the use Optus gets, with a third the capacity. There's no way it doesn't lose money and lots of it, that takes away from a state that is reliant already on handouts. And if you set the ticket prices at a level that will make the stadium pay for itself - well Hobart is also the lowest income capital city in the country. So you'd risk not even being able to sell the tickets.

Kardinia Park is nothing on the scale of this stadium - and the Geelong area isn't that much smaller than Hobart's drawing area. And, crucially, Geelong is a day trip out of Melbourne, so opposition fans from smaller Vic clubs that draw Geelong there can actually visit. Hobart (or Launceston) - it's a plane trip.

Tasmania deserves a team because they've been a critical part of the history of the sport. But they don't deserve to be bankrupted doing it.
What north vs south of the river debate? North sucks, there's no debate.

In fairness, those goobers don't have a clue about anything WCE.
BRI are going to have to trade/delist a minimum of 6 players as they have OA, Draper and maybe Langford coming.
They also have Annable, Prindable, Bridge as academy players coming in.

Starcevich out, Ah Chee out and salary cap bursting I would expect some fringe players will make way.

McKenna, Craven, Joyce, Dev, Tunstill, Beecken would be vulnerable to make list spots and salary space available.
We could do worse than Dev and Tunstill on our list even if they are on short term minimal $$ and will improve our depth and WAFL side for minimal outlay and potential good soldiers.
I still think WC are in the Ah Chee race, especially if ADE are all in on Petracca!

Yeah, it's hard to justify this stadium economically. They're really trying to sell the multi-use aspect of it but they'll ultimately have less than half the footy games that Optus does, they don't have the population to get the big acts that fill up Optus (just in the next few months you have Metallica, AC/DC twice, and Ed Sheeran twice), plus rugby union/league matches, and major international cricket matches. It's one thing for WA, a wealthy state with lots of natural resource revenue, to take on massive public debt. It's quite another for a state of a half million people whose economy relies heavily on tourism, forestry and opium.

Apparently another problem with the stadium is that Tasmanian cricket is not happy with what is being proposed as the roof and orientation of the stadium will mean a constant shadow over the pitch on days when the sun is shining which will mean that they don't want to play there.

I happened to be reading about this yesterday, Tas Cricket reckon their problems aren’t unsolvable and they won’t hold up the process: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2025-09...support-macquarie-point-afl-stadium/105774588

We are back to let’s get Dev day…..

The club should be looking to swap Chesser into Starcevich. Lions should not get anything better than that as they get nothing if he leaves as a FA.
All clubs win, Blues get Chesser, Eagles get Starcevich and the Lions get a late 2nd to early third round pick they wouldn’t normally get.

The only reason I can see anything higher going to the Lions is that the offer isn’t going to trigger band one for Allen and so the Lions are having to chip a bit more in.

Watched that Gettable episode in full which is the first time I’ve bothered to do so this year. Quite a bit to takeaway from it - not much to get overly enthusiastic about from a WCE perspective but there were some little nuggets of hope

Some of these have been touched on already but my takeaways:

• Chesser likely to attract pick 34 or 44 from Carlton - noting also that the Blues are also chasing Khamis from the Bulldogs who Twomey said is in that same range. We’d be wise to request/accept 34 early and move on before it goes to the Bulldogs.
• Butler more likely to stay than go which is understandable. Might be worth throwing a 3 year deal at him rather than the 2 years he’s been offered by Hawthorn and at more $$ than they’re willing to/able to match (within reason - just because we have cap space we shouldn’t be paying players more than their worth)
• Ah Chee almost a lock to request a trade to Adelaide so put a line through him.
• Starcevich looks a good chance to join us even if Twomey is struggling to get his head around the trade over FA part of his acquisition- and that Brisbane get nothing for him if he leaves as a FA to any club
• Ryan definitely going to St Kilda but no mention of a trade value or an acknowledgment that he’s contracted so we need to be happy with what’s offered
• Our request for as many as four additional rookie spots looks set to be granted and, importantly, with the ability to prelist our NGA players. That would be a significant win
• Also mentioned that we might get a priority pick which we can trade - Twomey bizarrely links that to the Starcevich deal so Brisbane get something which seems unnecessary/unrelated. An extra pick(s) would be handy especially if it’s end of R1 or a R2 tied to our finishing position this year and/or next
• Either way we’ll know Monday/Tuesday next week when the assistance package is ratified by the AFL commission
• Still no clarity on what, if any, changes will be made to the bidding system for next year although placing a higher premium on early bids (top 5) seems more likely than the R1 lockout initially suggested. In true AFL fashion though, that decision might not be made until after the trade period meaning clubs will be trading future picks without knowing what the rules will be for bid matching in 2026.
• There’s talk of clubs in the bottom 4-6 being given additional salary cap space to chase free agents - could be handy for us chasing Chad Warner in 2027 given the probability we’ll still be in that part of the ladder even if we do improve in 2026/27
• Carlton are likely going to put their TDK compensation pick up for trade. Will be pick 10/11 depending on Draper compo for Essendon and might be more achievable as a trade up option than the Port pick held by Gold Coast
• Draper FA compensation is line ball between Band 1 and 2. Silvagni will be band 2
• And big surprise, Robertson a good chance to land at West Coast
Interesting that Blues putting that TDK compo up for trade. Could be because they want out of this draft, could be for later picks to trade for Chess haha

It’s up for trade because a Harry Dean bid likely occurs just before it. They’ll ideally want to get back a pick this year + a future, but who knows as they have Cody Walker next year who’ll go top 3.

It's beautiful just beautiful royalty has come home. Welcome Dev.

He needs to be taught a lesson and the lions DNA should be scrapped from DNA.

He needs to play WAFL for a substantial stint until he learns the wce way. He needs to earn his stripes and prove he is loyal to the blue and gold.
He does not get the privileged to wear the wce jumper those before has worn yet.
Don’t go early. Apparently has interest from Vic clubs. Apparently preferred to head to Collingwood last year over the Eagles…. Where he would’ve played VFL

You always want to pick up great players but sometimes the timing doesn’t work out.
I don’t think we’ll see any big names but I’ll be happy if we can improve the list without coughing up any draft capital.

Liam > Steele
Hopefully with St Kilda being so busy it close to a straight swap if both parties are keen to get it done. We maybe hand over a late pick too. No harm done

Starcevich
Brisbane get no compo if he walks as a free agent anyway and they also have a busy trade period coming up. Hopefully we get him with a late pick

Dev
He’ll probably be delisted anyway, so it’s a free swing or a very late pick. He’s not going ever be an A grader, but if we are looking to turn him more of a defender mid ala Graham, then it’s worth a crack, even for depth if we’re losing guys like Chesser and Petch

I think we should be aiming to to choose the best 2 draftees, then sit back and watch the mess happen around us and then wait for offers. I can see Essendon needing to justify the Merrett situation and reaching for our top picks.

There’s still weeks til the draft and it’s the Wild West out there, offers are getting thrown around left right and centre. If there’s a target we think we can get, then by all means, take a swing like everyone else.

Otherwise, keep getting these kids games, show improvement and big time players will naturally be more inclined to want to come here again.

It’s up for trade because a Harry Dean bid likely occurs just before it. They’ll ideally want to get back a pick this year + a future, but who knows as they have Cody Walker next year who’ll go top 3.
Could we involve Chess in a pick upgrade for 11 rather than getting 34?

With the likely NGA pre-listing we’re going to have a lot of picks with minimal spots.

Chess and 19 -> 11
Everything else to GC for 7
2 and 11 for 5 and 6

Leaves us with 1,5,6,7 which is the perfect spot to have picks.

Dev Robertson... 24 years old, still hasn't played 50 games yet. Played 6 games in the past 2 years. Never had more than 19 disposals.

I know the Lions have a stacked midfield, so there's no shame in being unable to break into it. But he seems decidedly vanilla to me.
His VFL stats are vastly superior to the WAFL stats of most of our players.