Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

He had 3 in 8 months.
No no no, they were all subsequently found to be other injuries, and not at all concussion related.

Nothing To See Here GIF by Giphy QA

Dev Robertson and other fringe players being targeted by us.
Presumably they get 3 years on $350 000?

What's Owies on, $400 000?

Let's face it, we have to pay overs for players in contending sides to come to us.

If we have to pay Starcevich an extra couple of hundred grand to get him over, just do it.
He makes us better.

Unlike some of the others we're looking at.

We've turned into Norf completely.

6 year deal is insanity.

Might as well double down and offer Jaidyn Stephenson 8 years whilst we've got room in the cap as well.
I think us linked to S May is worse ..would hate to see this flog at the club

EAGLES URGED TO PURSUE MAY

Former Eagle Scott Watters thinks Steven May “absolutely” should be a trade target for West Coast.

Reports this week stated Melbourne had told May to find a new home in next month’s exchange window, despite the 33-year old defender having a year to run on his contract.

It’s the first key move under new Demons coach Steven King as he begins to shape his list for 2026.

And ex-Saints coach Watters believes it’s an ideal opportunity for the rebuilding Eagles to add experience to their group.

“Steven May is exactly the type of player that West Coast should be looking at to help them transition from a deep hole of development to the next stage of opportunity,” Watters told The West Australian.

“He’s got two good years of football left in him to support that transition.

“Would I look at Steven May if I was West Coast? Absolutely. He adds something to them right now and right now is what they need.”

West Coast coach Andrew McQualter worked at Melbourne as an assistant in 2023 and 2024, while Demons assistant Sam Radford last month crossed to the Eagles to join McQualter’s team.

I think us linked to S May is worse ..would hate to see this flog at the club

EAGLES URGED TO PURSUE MAY

Former Eagle Scott Watters thinks Steven May “absolutely” should be a trade target for West Coast.

Reports this week stated Melbourne had told May to find a new home in next month’s exchange window, despite the 33-year old defender having a year to run on his contract.

It’s the first key move under new Demons coach Steven King as he begins to shape his list for 2026.

And ex-Saints coach Watters believes it’s an ideal opportunity for the rebuilding Eagles to add experience to their group.

“Steven May is exactly the type of player that West Coast should be looking at to help them transition from a deep hole of development to the next stage of opportunity,” Watters told The West Australian.

“He’s got two good years of football left in him to support that transition.

“Would I look at Steven May if I was West Coast? Absolutely. He adds something to them right now and right now is what they need.”

West Coast coach Andrew McQualter worked at Melbourne as an assistant in 2023 and 2024, while Demons assistant Sam Radford last month crossed to the Eagles to join McQualter’s team.
**** no - massive ****head and will be 34 at the start of the season.

Some dickheads-only club in their flag window will grab him (Hawks).

Dev Robertson and other fringe players being targeted by us.
Presumably they get 3 years on $350 000?

What's Owies on, $400 000?

Let's face it, we have to pay overs for players in contending sides to come to us.

If we have to pay Starcevich an extra couple of hundred grand to get him over, just do it.
He makes us better.

Unlike some of the others we're looking at.
Yup we have to spend our money on something

We pay Yeo to sit on the sidelines working at 96fm for the year so why not try to improve our list with someone who will at least play

BIG FOOTY BOARD: WE HAVE ALL THIS MONEY AND ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING! WE NEED TO OVERPAY PLAYERS TO COME. WHY WONT THE CLUB DO ANYTHING?

ALSO BIG FOOTY BOARD: I CANT BELIEVE WE ARE OVERPAYING FOR STARCEVICH AND WE ARE OFFERING TOO MANY YEARS! TYPICAL WEST COAST.

As others have mentioned his concussion issues have been widely exaggerated. He has been given a clean bill of health and Brisbane are desperate to keep him offering him a long-term deal as well.
I hope we’ve scrutinised the “only 1 concussion” thing carefully. Not so long ago he’d had what 3 or 4 concussions? Was that misrepresented? Who revised the medical diagnosis on that and how credible is it? As anyone who’s worked in the medico-legal field will know, medical opinions can vary wildly, and it’s often not difficult to find a doctor to support an optimistic or pessimistic prognosis to suit.

Players and their managers work very hard to present an optimistic picture when there’s a large pot of money at stake.

I hope we’ve scrutinised the “only 1 concussion” thing carefully. Not so long ago he’d had what 3 or 4 concussions? Was that misrepresented? Who revised the medical diagnosis on that and how credible is it? As anyone who’s worked in the medico-legal field will know, medical opinions can vary wildly, and it’s often not difficult to find a doctor to support an optimistic or pessimistic prognosis to suit.

Players and their managers work very hard to present an optimistic picture when there’s a large pot of money at stake.
Lions are offering him 5 years - you think they'd be across it.

**** no - massive ****head and will be 34 at the start of the season.

Some dickheads-only club in their flag window will grab him (Hawks).

Reckon he ends up at Collingwood, they’ve been desperate for help for Moore since Murphy was forced to retire

BIG FOOTY BOARD: WE HAVE ALL THIS MONEY AND ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING! WE NEED TO OVERPAY PLAYERS TO COME. WHY WONT THE CLUB DO ANYTHING?

ALSO BIG FOOTY BOARD: I CANT BELIEVE WE ARE OVERPAYING FOR STARCEVICH AND WE ARE OFFERING TOO MANY YEARS! TYPICAL WEST COAST.

I'm all for targetting some players and luring them over with our apparentl "war chest", even the need to offer longer/larger contracts isn't lost on me.

I just think Starcevich is the wrong target. Wrong player to be doing this with. Find someone who's actually good, for a position that we need.

Not this:

1758247981448.png

Having another "lockdown defender" to go with Hough just seems totally low priority to me, as is using his U16 form to justify throwing caution to the wind and thinking he can be a capable AFL midfielder.

Go after Jack Steele with this coin, or Alex Davies, or Walter, or Brayden Fiorini, or any number of alternatives that have a better cost/risk/benefit associated.

I'm all for targetting some players and luring them over with our apparentl "war chest", even the need to offer longer/larger contracts isn't lost on me.

I just think Starcevich is the wrong target. Wrong player to be doing this with. Find someone who's actually good, for a position that we need.

Not this:

View attachment 2430158

Having another "lockdown defender" to go with Hough just seems totally low priority to me, as is using his U16 form to justify throwing caution to the wind and thinking he can be a capable AFL midfielder.

Go after Jack Steele with this coin, or Alex Davies, or Walter, or Brayden Fiorini, or any number of alternatives that have a better cost/risk/benefit associated.
You don't think he's a 10x better upgrade on Cole?

Not this:

View attachment 2430158

You're presuming we haven't/aren't.
Money isn't the only lure for a player. We are not exactly a destination club......

You don't think he's a 10x better upgrade on Cole?

Nope.

Personally i don't get the Cole hate, i actually rate the bloke for what he is and think it's very bizarre we rushed into stupidly long contract extensions for Hutchinson and Kelly whilst leaving Cole, a solid role player hanging.

So i'm the wrong person to ask on that one.

1758249040843.png

I know stats aren't the be all and end all, particularly for defenders, i get that.

But when you've got Tom Cole, a bloke who doesn't even yet have a contract for 2026 beating him in basically every single metric you know he's not worth it and your club is about to do something wrong.

Can you imagine an oppostion team offering To Cole a 6 year deal at 900k per season?

Funnily enough Tom Cole actually probably has more of a right than Starcevich to play midfield as well, as dumb as that sounds. From memory Cole played mid at times in U18's and can clearly find the ball a lot more than Starcevich can.

1758249247316.png

Not this:

View attachment 2430158

I think the idea is to free up Hough to go into the middle. He looked good there initially but ran out of puff later. Would like to see him after a full pre-season training for midfield.

Teams are built from defence!
Hed,Ginbey,Hough,Starcevich,Macarthy,Bo A,Grego.
That’s starting to take on a really good vibe.
We are probably a half away from needing another big man but Ginbey plays above his height and the way he hits the contest will scare a lot of forwards in years to come.
Hough can shut down smalls.
Starcevich can shut mediums.
Mac and Bo give us speed out of defence.
I can’t see why people aren’t starting to get excited.

I think the idea is to free up Hough to go into the middle. He looked good there initially but ran out of puff later. Would like to see him after a full pre-season training for midfield.
I don’t think Hough looked that good in the mids at all and is a better defender than he is a midfielder as well as being a better player than Starcevich.

I like that Starcevich is clean and one touch so I do like the idea of him in our backline but I just wish we had some decent experienced mid options to bring in too.

If the idea is to free up Hough to go into the middle (something i fundamentally disagree with, but anyway) there's surely better ways to go about that than trading in Starcevich on that sort of deal.

Honestly. Greggo and Bo Allan for one.

It may come as a surprise that Hough, even in our spoon seasons and this whole basket case period, has also put up better numbers accross the board than Starcevich. Because he's a better player, he's also not worth 900k for 6 years either.

Starcevich is a very good player and moves the needle in the right direction for us.
Even if we are overpaying moves like this lead to better performances next year and are a step in the right direction.
By the time we are starting to become an attractive club to free agents the bulk of the $ of this contract will already be paid out anyway.
I like Cole but he's not really a suitable comparison to a player like Starcevich, need to apply the eye test for that one imo.

Lions are offering him 5 years - you think they'd be across it.
Not necessarily. They’d certainly have access to more information than us.

And their offer is reported to be 4 or 5 years but do we know what triggers they have in it? I’m sure Starcevich and his manager wouldn’t be in a hurry to disclose that, and I’m not sure Brisbane would either. So how would a reporter know?

Starcevich is ranked the 99th best general defender in AFL ratings.

Baker, McCarthy, GInbey, Cole, Duggan, Maric all rated higher.

I know lockdown defenders don't get rated, but that's because they don't actually do anything on the football field other than try and negate. They have no positive generation.

It's always been extremely hard to get players to move to Perth (other than ex-WA boys). If there was any justice, that difficulty would be taken into account in calculating salary caps and list sizes.

Players realise they're likely to have slightly shorter careers with way more travel in WA, and they'd certainly factor that into account when making a choice to change clubs. WC and Freo should have a united front on this - we should permanently get a few extra list spaces, and the money to cover them in the caps to cover the sheer additional difficulty of not being Vic based and having a way higher travel load.

Realistically, we don't pick up many big name recruits where it's not return home to WA. Redden was probably the last close to major name.