AFL 2025 Second Preliminary Final - Cats v Hawks Fri Sept 19th 7:40pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 9 3.4%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 72 27.6%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 54 20.7%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 36 13.8%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 70 26.8%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 13 5.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 7 2.7%

All jokes aside, maybe it's the alcohol talking, but Geelong deserve to be there next week. Chris Scott and Danger did a number on Hawthorn tonight, and Bailey Smith was all class.
Hope it's a good Grand Final.
I'll roll a spliff at halftime when Snoop comes on regardless.

He has such a bizarre Geelong hatred and I'm not sure what upset our club has ever caused his.

Seems to have much less of an issue with the other successful clubs of the AFL era.

These folks really have to fabricate deluded fantasies about Geelong not fairly being competitive most years to justify the irrational venom. It really is sad when taken to such extremes. All towards a club that have won a single flag from 2012 onwards.
Yeah, I don't get it either.

Maybe I'm weird, but it doesn't really bother me who wins the flag if it's not Geelong. Certainly not to the level of needing to post about it 700 times.

I'd prefer it to not be Hawthorn for obvious reasons, and when you follow a Vic side, it's only natural that you'd rather an interstate team win it if it can't be your own.

But those are merely preferences. It doesn't really bother me that deeply, the main thing I want to see is high quality football outside of a Cats win.

Hawthorn's threepeat for instance. I'd be lying if I said I was cheering them on, but the sporting purist in me did enjoy seeing that high standard of footy shine in September too.

Free country and all that, just don't see the point in showing so clearly that something irritates you.

We don't have the cattle in the midfield, that's what Scott exploited, sit on Newcombe, neutralise their other threats (Weddle and Watson) and they don't have the talent to beat us. Not rocket science. Why do you think we're going after guys like Petracca, Merrett Butters etc. pretty easy to see why after last night.
Nobody tagged newcombe... So not sure what you are on about. Atkins played on him the entire night including that first 20 min blitz.

You kicked all your goals from back half run n gun turnovers and cut thru us by hand. We sat back and waited for the intercept and you continued to charge at us and refused to bomb it long.

Once we adjusted defensively and pushed up high to strangle your run and carry it was good night.

That is what changed. You couldnt handle the heat abs mitchel had no solution in game to the tactics.

Nothing changed with newcombe after the first 20. Atkins still played on him all the same

Do you think you can win it mate?
Not directed at me but i will answer..

Grand finals are so hard to make and some fans dont even get to experience one their lifetime...

I am very proud regardless from here, next week will be brutal, and we are up to our eyeballs in it.

This is an honest answer. Need to soak up and appreciate it when it comes.

Richmond waited what.. Almost 40 years inbetween?? 35 years or something?? Geelong at one point 44 year drought before 07.

Exciting week to be a cats fan, just enjoy it

Strange old game.

Hawthorn started like a house on fire before Geelong found their feet. One looked like a winner then the other did. Throw in Dangerfield and his unbelievable performance and you felt like it was done. Went to bed at 3/4er time and so it was.

Hawthorn can be pretty happy with what they've done this year IMO. Top 4 and they probably win it.

It was a great game but Geelong's advantages were on full display. Jack Bowes was given to you for nothing , as well as pick 7.
Bailey Smith given to you for a pathetic pick 16.
Cameron and Dangerfield given to you cheaply because they had issues and had to move to a quaint country town with a surf coast.
Why don't you build a team without rorting like everyone else?
The rort is what the Tigers got for Rioli and Baker.

Same result. No grand final for u
Imagine if Adelaide won a finals game.
Even 1 of 8 quarters in the finals.

You guys would have at least had an enjoyable finals series rather than being embarrassed with the pathetic performance from your club.

A club so exposed going into the 2026 season without much hope…….

I’d know who we would all have our money on out of the 2.

AFL 2025 Second Preliminary Final - Cats v Hawks Fri Sept 19th 7:40pm EST (MCG)