Review Geelong defeat Hawks "when it matters" by 6 goals to make another Grand Final

Oh I know it's real. There's already been one high-profile CTE death (Danny Frawley) and two very recent suspected CTE-related deaths (the Selwood twins - nothing released as proven I might add so I am purely speculating here) so I know the rationale behind the protocols.

Morally, the reason is sound. But are the protocols legally BINDING? If the club was of a mind, could they challenge within a week?

Morally, I think the sport's obligation to post-career health and wellbeing should weigh against a challenge (imagine any other corporate structure asking/demanding workers forgo long-term risks for short term profit?) but still...

Could the club challenge this from a purely legal perspective?
Just, no.

The protocols are there for a reason. It's terrible luck for Stewy, but there is no way he should play next week and there is no way he or the club should do anything other than accept that and get on with planning to play with the players we do have available.

Sam Mitchell when asked about changing the bye to before the Grand Final, asked specifically about Tom Stewart. His response:

"I don't give a shit. Sorry."

Seriously what a completely classless dickhead. I'd hate to be coached by this tosser. Really hope he never even gets to play his team in a grand final, let alone win one.
One of the many reasons why I hate that club. Classless, sniping assholes is the best description I can come up with.

Hands up - who else said "we're f***ed" when we were down 21-1, fumbling all over the place, with Stewart and Henry injured?

Never in doubt!

Yep, I thought we were in diabolical trouble.

We weren't clean with our ball use, we missed targets, they beat us to the ball, and then Henry and Stewart went down.

But here we are!!

What a club 😍

And to do it against the Hawks made it even sweeter.

Like we didn't like the Adelaide Crows's lawfare to whittle down the homophobic slur ruling, it would be short-sighted for the GFC to challenge the concussion protocol.

There will be many such talented players and many such premiership opportunities for us in the future. We can't compromise our 166 year old institution's integrity & reputation over what is a silent and deadly killer.

Did Stewy actually fail the concussion test? He was obviously concussed from the footage. That is the only loophole you will have.

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer.
I AM a lawyer (or at least I used to be).

There is simply no way the club would or should challenge it and put themselves in that position. Drop it Geelong_Sicko.

The performances of 3 players last night only reinforces what I have long thought; you shouldn’t recruit Worpel types, instead you use your picks and salary cap to develop your own players like Clark (or Guthrie or Miers), but you do everything you can to recruit the Dangers (or Jezzas or Bazlenkas).

How would Worpel compare to Isaac Smith?

Like, disgracefully unprofessional. And when asked by the media "Have you got a Premiership tip?", his response:

"Nope. Hope they all lose."

How can anybody look up to this ****head?
Someone posted a video of that on the Geelong reddit page, and people are melting down and defending him.....weird bunch over there.

I’ve never written this club off but at qtr time I did. I ripped my gurnsey off. Turned the tv off and followed you lot on big footy until Baz kicked that last goal. Geewhiz. I was wrong! What an amazing team and club we support. We’ve got every chance next week. Feel for Tommy Stewart but makes the Stanley decision easier if he’s fit. I love this club. Let’s get it done this year.
I wanted to go to the game but I just couldn't - against any other team, yep, but not the Hawks. They have such a mental hold over me. I can't bear the thought of Mitchell taking them to a GF at our expense. With a patchwork of flogs, no names and top draft picks. And building a dynasty similar to 2013-15. I had to watch at home in bursts, mainly tracking on here also.

The funny thing is, I don't even hate their players now they way I did when Mitchell was playing and Clarkson was at the helm. Sure, the way they celebrate is annoying and I think they need to learn a bit of humility (which we dosed out accordingly). It really is the Hawthorn-Geelong rivalry and not wanting them to be the more successful team.

If they had won, I would have mentally cracked and it would only have been fixed with them losing next week. It's embarrassing to say it but that's what they do to me. I'm obviously not alone there.

If we win the GF, we are on top of them again for sure. And our boys will give it all they have. But I'm just so happy to have put the brown and yellow scum to the torch.

We really are becoming the Man United of the AFL. Seven grand finals in 18 years.

For those old enough, imagine going back to 2006 and someone telling you "This club will spend the next twenty years playing 1 in every 2.5 grand finals."

LOL.

What a club.
Yep, after living through being so shit in the mid '80s and then the heartbreak of the '90s, and not seeing a single flag in my lifetime to that point, it was hard to imagine even just winning one.

We are very privileged to have seen this club do what it has done. And hopefully its not over yet!

Trying to enjoy the moment and rejoice in the fact we follow a great club.

Hard not to cast an eye to next week and wonder about the giant hole left with Stewart being out. Henry will surely be sore and go into next week less than 100%. A lot of pressure suddenly on SDK and COS.

In - Stanley
Out - Stewart
Blicavs to resume roaming duties and go down back if needed.

Cats V Pies I reckon

How would Worpel compare to Isaac Smith?
Chalk and cheese.

Smith gave us run and carry at a time when we sorely needed a true wing and which allowed us to move the ball quicker, defend better and make the most of our dangerous forwards.

Worpel plays an inside mid role that is neither higher accountability than Mullin O'Connor or Blitz, nor higher impact than Danger, Atkins, Smith and Holmes. I just can't see how or why he improves us unless the brains trust have something out of ordinary planned for him.

Let's face it, the Hawks were annihilated in the centre last night. Worpel was a large part of their problem.

Well that was fun after nervous start. What a good team they are, what a remarkable footballer Dangerfield is. Refuses to lose - just goes, enough of this rubbish. Let’s go.
Happy to beat the hawks. Why were they booing Bailey smith, from the start of the game? What’s he done to them - top gooses. Good on you smith. Happy for max too. Bad luck to Stewart. A good effort jack Henry. Liked Clark.
Scott and the coaches - well done.

GEEELONG. GEEELONG

Has the volume of crowd support gone up.

Having watched both finals on TV … I get the feeling our crowd is starting to show the benifit of 20 years of finals participation and a good level of success.

The Geelong chant seemed very strong at times last night. To the point of the post goal sonegs almost being inaudible..

Anyone at the ground conform that

Chalk and cheese.

Smith gave us run and carry at a time when we sorely needed a true wing and which allowed us to move the ball quicker, defend better and make the most of our dangerous forwards.

Worpel plays an inside mid role that is neither higher accountability than Mullin O'Connor or Blitz, nor higher impact than Danger, Atkins, Smith and Holmes. I just can't see how or why he improves us unless the brains trust have something out of ordinary planned for him.

Let's face it, the Hawks were annihilated in the centre last night. Worpel was a large part of their problem.

But like Bailey Smith, bringing in a player is as much about what we think we can do with him, as opposed to what the existing club has been..

GEEELONG. GEEELONG

Has the volume of crowd support gone up.

Having watched both finals on TV … I get the feeling our crowd is starting to show the benifit of 20 years of finals participation and a good level of success.

The Geelong chant seemed very strong at times last night. To the point of the post goal sonegs almost being inaudible..

Anyone at the ground conform that

Absolutely.

I was on L1 and when the Geelong chant was happening it was huge.

I still think he can be a 200 gamer. The issue is he has neither the endurance nor the size strength for the inside mid role (yet) but theres a tenacious player and good football brain in there. Needs time to develop physically but he has the will to get there. Hes harshly judged around here
Fully agree. You can build strength and endurance through training, and with each preseason he'll build more of both. What is a lot harder to build is the courage, tenacity and footy IQ that we both agree Clark has more than most.

Don't forget the kid's only just turned 21yo. Long way to go.

Review Geelong defeat Hawks "when it matters" by 6 goals to make another Grand Final