List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Max has been doing significant bike work for atleast 2 months.

He is doing MULTIPLE weight sessions everyday. Yes, he even does sessions specific to both knee and shoulder aswell as a general strength building sessions.

The fact he isn’t running day 1 of pre season is more due to the advice of his surgeon. Which the club is following.

Which they have also been told to allow for a significant period of building his body, strength and conditioning in the gym.

Max is an absolute easy target for some very soft football fans. Happy to say the next time most people see him in person, you’ll notice a considerably stronger Max King.

Higgo is a rare unit that’s for sure.

He’s a short, slow, stocky unit who isn’t a great kick but manages to play afl and kick bags. Interesting to see Ross talk about using him as a mid at times, dard thought I’d lost my mind when I suggested that last off season.

Higgo the enigma, I love his enthusiasm.

If he's kicked they second most goals of all small forwards with Long the only other around his level he's got to be considered top 5 by position surely? I'd probably consider him B+ still but he's got to be in the conversation still.

Looking at our list trade movement and what they might cost -

Ins:
Flanders + F2 = #7
Aleer = F2
Ryan = #43
TDK & JSOS free agents.

Possible Outs:
Marshall = #18 + Edwards or Clohesy (Geelong)
Steele = #33 + F4 (GWS)
Wilkie = #10 + F2 (Bulldogs)

If the above occurs it will leave us with -

2025 Draft = #10, #18, #33 (Fincher) & #58 (likely not used).
Who? Is Edwards

Sincs is still our highest rated player in most player ratings.
He’s a gun and has years left.

He’s like a Pendlebury, he’s sees the game so well and hits targets so quickly he doesn’t really need great pace or physicality to be effective.

You can’t teach what he has but thankfully it should extend his career.

Has anyone else noticed how Brisbane have started delaying the hand-pass on occasions and by doing so it’s putting the receiver into meters of space. It looks just like a good back in rugby breaking a line open, like watching Darren Lockyer.

He’s like a Pendlebury, he’s sees the game so well and hits targets so quickly he doesn’t really need great pace or physicality to be effective.

Has anyone else noticed how Brisbane have started delaying the hand-pass on occasions and by doing so it’s putting the receiver into meters of space. It looks just like a good back in rugby breaking a line open, like watching Darren Lockyer.

Pendlebury did an old man's calf and he doesn't have calves like Sinclair.

Those calves aren't built for longevity.

If he's kicked they second most goals of all small forwards with Long the only other around his level he's got to be considered top 5 by position surely? I'd probably consider him B+ still but he's got to be in the conversation still.
He’s a ripper, like some crazy dish you make up that shouldn’t work but tastes great.

I still can't get over how Billings was our no.3 pick
Talked up Sinclair
We picked him up as a rookie.
Now he's in our best player rankings
WOW

I think so.. assuming all OOC players (Byrnes Jones Schoenmaker Carroll Heath) are delisted... Webster and Cordy already gone... which means 7 senior spots available (McLennan and Boyd off the rookie list)

TDK, JSOS, Aleer, Ryan, ND1, ND2, Caminiti (upgrade) = 7

so to add Flanders we would need to lose someone contracted or maybe try to shift someone like Dow to the rookie list?
Or Said

Talked up Sinclair
WOW
Billings went exactly where his potential said he should go. That he played 170 games with some outstanding, suggests he was nowhere near a bust and probably a decent enough pick. In this current team he would have been excellent, a better version of Wilson.

He is marked down because Bont went next. Was not properly developed.

Talked up Sinclair
WOW
I lot of that is urban legend stuff.

Played cricket, grandfather played for us, was killing it at port Melbourne and deciding on football over cricket late. He wasn’t a stable pony for billings.

Billings went exactly where his potential said he should go. That he played 170 game with some outstanding suggests he was nowhere near a bust and probably a decent enough pick. Intjis current team he would have been excellent, a better version of Wilson.

Abit early to be comparing him with Wilson

Billings went exactly where his potential said he should go. That he played 170 game with some outstanding suggests he was nowhere near a bust and probably a decent enough pick. Intjis current team he would have been excellent, a better version of Wilson.

I think he was a bust over all. It's why psychometrics and interviewing have become so much more integrated. It feels like he was the wrong choice for club bottoming out at the time. There was a chance he went to a better club and was able to develop at his own pace and become something exceptional. Bont had proper BDE and stood up and took control before being drafted. In hindsight that looks like it should be an obvious choice.

We weren't going off script with Billings but it was still a bad miss. Trout managed to not only blow early picks. He blew late ones too. Trout had been an assistant coach who left for personal reasons then came back and was given the head recruiters role at the club during a rebuild. That was a major stuff up by the club and probably a fairly large reason why we failed to build up during the Richo years. Head recruiters are more important than a coach when you are bottom 6.

Billings went exactly where his potential said he should go. That he played 170 games with some outstanding, suggests he was nowhere near a bust and probably a decent enough pick. In this current team he would have been excellent, a better version of Wilson.

Played some very good football for us and was consistent as well.

Injuries slowed his roll with us and everyone got on his case because like ming he’d signed a decent contract. Gresham is another who people now love to talk down. He wasn’t as talented as billings imo but he certainly had some tricks until a string of injuries including an Achilles took away some pace and agility.

I think he was a bust over all. It's why psychometrics and interviewing have become so much more integrated. It feels like he was the wrong choice for club bottoming out at the time. There was a chance he went to a better club and was able to develop at his own pace and become something exceptional. Bont had proper BDE and stood up and took control before being drafted. In hindsight that looks like it should be an obvious choice.

We weren't going off script with Billings but it was still a bad miss. Trout managed to not only blow early picks. He blew late ones too. Trout had been an assistant coach who left for personal reasons then came back and was given the head recruiters role at the club during a rebuild. That was a major stuff up by the club and probably a fairly large reason why we failed to build up during the Richo years. Head recruiters are more important than a coach when you are bottom 6.
I’ve always wondered if giving Nicky Dal the shove impacted our view of the Bont.

It would have been bloody awkward but we have a strange history of overlooking family members. Jack Riewoldt, Chip Frawley and the Bont.

Arki Butler is the grandson of Allan Davis and the kid can play. He reminds me of his grandfather in the way he moves, I really hope we make him a priority.

Played some very good football for us and was consistent as well.

Injuries slowed his roll with us and everyone got on his case because like ming he’d signed a decent contract. Gresham is another who people now love to talk down. He wasn’t as talented as billings imo but he certainly had some tricks until a string of injuries including an Achilles took away some pace and agility.
I still remember Gresham breaking a Geelong defenders ankles and snapping from the pocket to bring us back to 3 points. Reckon it was the game Stuv soccered through the winner.

We were all certain he’d become a superstar after that. Shame what happened but that’s footy.

Max has been doing significant bike work for atleast 2 months.

He is doing MULTIPLE weight sessions everyday. Yes, he even does sessions specific to both knee and shoulder aswell as a general strength building sessions.

The fact he isn’t running day 1 of pre season is more due to the advice of his surgeon. Which the club is following.

Which they have also been told to allow for a significant period of building his body, strength and conditioning in the gym.

Max is an absolute easy target for some very soft football fans. Happy to say the next time most people see him in person, you’ll notice a considerably stronger Max King.

Looking forward to seeing Max next season. We all want him to succeed!

Ok I’m on Brisbane today, I think they’ll win and I have friends and family who love them.

First and foremost I hope it’s a good game and we don’t notice the bloody umpires.

Enjoy the day.

I’ve always wondered if giving Nicky Dal the shove impacted our view of the Bont.

It would have been bloody awkward but we have a strange history of overlooking family members. Jack Riewoldt, Chip Frawley and the Bont.

Arki Butler is the grandson of Allan Davis and the kid can play. He reminds me of his grandfather in the way he moves, I really hope we make him a priority.
Yet we picked Raph clark who’s brother is not even that good of a player.. Just blindly trying to copy recruitment of Cyril Rioli and failing miserably.

When my son was little he spent his pocket money on Stuv's used player jumper. He was a skinny little runt and the top was tight on him as a 10 year old. I tried to get it on and I would have dislocated a vertebrae if I'd bent over. I was a pretty average build the time..... and Stuv looked like he carried a bit of weight compared to others.
And the difference now is???
😝