Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

That if you accept the concept that a stadium needs to be a minimum size to host the GF, you should be able to accept that that minimum should be 100K.
If WA built a stadium that held 102,000, you’d give up the grand final for good? No chance, you’d pivot to something else, like history or vibe. The reasons constantly shift, the only thing that seems to remain the same is the assumption that Victoria should always host the grand final of a national competition.

That if you accept the concept that a stadium needs to be a minimum size to host the GF, you should be able to accept that that minimum should be 100K.
No, I don’t accept that, when it’s perfectly fine for the Superbowl to have a 70k minimum, so it should be fine for the AFL.

Optus could upgrade to 70k, Brisbane’s new stadium could go up to 70k.

If Sydney can’t use Accor, they could build a new one in the future.

Adelaide would have to do the same as I can’t see Adelaide Oval going up to 70k.

If WA built a stadium that held 102,000, you’d give up the grand final for good? No chance, you’d pivot to something else, like history or vibe. The reasons constantly shift, the only thing that seems to remain the same is the assumption that Victoria should always host the grand final of a national competition.
The unchanged factor is geography.

16 of the 18 teams, and more than 80% of club members are east of the nullabor.

It doesn't make any sense to completely ignore more than 80% of your stakeholders.

As I said, pivot.

Should the Super Bowl be held in NY or LA every year. Hoarding the grand final in one location, at a disadvantage to half the league, is the epitome of VicBias.

No, I don’t accept that, when it’s perfectly fine for the Superbowl to have a 70k minimum, so it should be fine for the AFL.

Optus could upgrade to 70k, Brisbane’s new stadium could go up to 70k.

If Sydney can’t use Accor, they could build a new one in the future.

Adelaide would have to do the same as I can’t see Adelaide Oval going up to 70k.
Plus FIFA world cup finals, UEFA CL finals - 70k seems fine for them, so AFL has to have rules different than the biggest leagues in the world?

80% of stakeholders have absolutely no chance of attending the GF

As I said, pivot.

Should the Super Bowl be held in NY or LA every year. Hoarding the grand final in one location, at a disadvantage to half the league, is the epitome of VicBias.
The Superbowl isn't held in NY or LA.

But it ain't held in Alaska, which is th USA equivalent of Perth.

Collingwood lost a final at a ground that their opponent had played 7-8 games at in the last 12 months

If your are playing 7-8 games at a ground you are not unfamiliar.
But no issues on magpies beating crows at Adelaide oval?

Tell me the amount of Victorian sides that lost to non Victorian sides since 2007?

Cool - that's why with a rotating system the GF would only be west of the Nullarbor once every eight years.

Glad you agree!

As I said, pivot.

Out of 60 Superbowls (including this seasons)--- 30 have been held in either Miami, New Orleans or Los Angeles.

55 of the 60 Superbowls have been held in the "Southern half" of the USA.

That is despite half of the teams in the NFL being in the Northern half.

There has been ONE Super Bowl in the New York area and has been the closest to a home SB for the following clubs-- Bengals, Bills, Browns, Commanders, Eagles, Giants, Jets, Patriots, Ravens.

The SB isnt an "equitable" final opportunity that you keep claiming, mate.

As someone told me yesterday-- Google is your friend

I’ll give Brisbane 1 more year before all these W.A nuffies turn on them lol

They're a bit slow. I'll give them a decade of Brissy and GC killing it before they realise that it's players and coaches that win flags not aeroplanes or playing on public holidays.

Nah.... Vic bias isn't defeated until GWS, gold Coast and even the Fremantle Dockers and Tassie side gets a flag lol
so another 60 years of sooking? interesting

As a proud Victorian I initially thought the umpires could have done more to get us over the line but on reflection we were winners anyway given the premiers are a former Victorian born and bred club - the Lions.

EDIT: Actually they're not a former Victorian born and bred club, they always will be Vic born and bred.

Victorian vs Non-Victorian Grand Final Results

2025 GF: Brisbane def Geelong
2023 GF: Collingwood def Brisbane
2022 GF: Geelong def Sydney
2019 GF: Richmond def GWS
2018 GF: West Coast def Collingwood
2017 GF: Richmond def Adelaide
2016 GF: Western Bulldogs def Sydney
2015 GF: Hawthorn def West Coast
2014 GF: Hawthorn def Sydney
2013 GF: Hawthorn def Fremantle
2012 GF: Sydney def Hawthorn
2007 GF: Geelong def Port Adelaide
2003 GF: Brisbane def Collingwood
2002 GF: Brisbane def Collingwood
2001 GF: Brisbane def Essendon
1998 GF: Adelaide def North Melbourne
1997 GF: Adelaide def St Kilda
1996 GF: North Melbourne def Sydney
1994 GF: West Coast def Geelong
1992 GF: West Coast def Geelong
1991 GF: Hawthorn def West Coast

Victorian Teams: 11
Non Victorian Teams: 10

Hardly a lopsided ledger towards Victorian teams. Pretty even.

If you were to put it to the fans where they'd like the GF, they'd likely say they want it near them. Considering the bulk of footy fans live in Vic. This and other reasons, like capacity, the vested interest of the vic govt., mcc members, etc. result in the GF being held at the mcg.

It's certainly not fair, there isn't an argument to counter that.

And it's not a national competition, it's and expanded vfl club competition.

The circular complaints, which have all been explained eleventy million times.
  • Too many vic clubs
  • Free kick counts
  • GF at the mcg
  • National media
  • Travel
  • Marquee game slots
  • F/S and draft zones
  • 'Tradition' = 'no not good enough'
I've probably missed a few, point is we're at 9000 + replies on this topic.

When all of the above points have been explained as to why they are, yet are never accepted.

Overall the reason why there IS a vic centrism is because it is largely dictated by market forces, and is NOT conspired, yet it is never accepted by the non vic posters in here. They continue to follow a league that is not favourable to them yet continue to complain about it. :shrug:

Seems to be a subconscious inferiority complex among non vic footy fans, or at least non vic posters in here, that their 'state' is not centric of the competition. What else could it be?

The reasons don't shift, it's that there are more than one reason, and hypothetical crap (like WA spending many billions to build a stadium that would be so big it'd be a white elephant) are meaningless.

You need...

BIG stadium. (when the alternative is about half the size and wont fit all the AFL stakeholders without kicking out all the fans, it doesn't cut it)
BIG city, and not one that's the world's most isolated.
(related) BIG infrastructure ... airport, hotels, restaurants, etc. You need to be able to handle tens of thousands of fans & corporates descending on the place without it breaking.
BIG money (the AFL-MCC deal is worth tens of millions to the AFL, every year...they're not going to screw with that without HUGE, decades long, guarantees).
BIG organisation (you need experienced teams working on big events like this for long periods to make them work...I've worked in this area, and can confidently say that planning for the 2026 GF started months ago).
BIG government support (long term...and not just money, they also involve special laws, parades through the city, etc. Hell, Vic even gives them a public holiday!)

and there is doubtless a lot more besides.

Victorian vs Non-Victorian Grand Final Results

2025 GF: Brisbane def Geelong
2023 GF: Collingwood def Brisbane
2022 GF: Geelong def Sydney
2019 GF: Richmond def GWS
2018 GF: West Coast def Collingwood
2017 GF: Richmond def Adelaide
2016 GF: Western Bulldogs def Sydney
2015 GF: Hawthorn def West Coast
2014 GF: Hawthorn def Sydney
2013 GF: Hawthorn def Fremantle
2012 GF: Sydney def Hawthorn
2007 GF: Geelong def Port Adelaide
2003 GF: Brisbane def Collingwood
2002 GF: Brisbane def Collingwood
2001 GF: Brisbane def Essendon
1998 GF: Adelaide def North Melbourne
1997 GF: Adelaide def St Kilda
1996 GF: North Melbourne def Sydney
1994 GF: West Coast def Geelong
1992 GF: West Coast def Geelong
1991 GF: Hawthorn def West Coast

Victorian Teams: 11
Non Victorian Teams: 10

Hardly a lopsided ledger towards Victorian teams. Pretty even.
Why have you not counted the glaring spaces when an Interstate team did not make it,,,,,, because of Vic bias.

(related) BIG infrastructure ... airport, hotels, restaurants, etc. You need to be able to handle tens of thousands of fans & corporates descending on the place without it breaking.
Perth would be able to handle this bit, 10s of 1000s of Perth residents are FIFO workers, myself included, it doesn't 'break' the joint.

I agree with your other points, but Perth has this covered.

Perth would be able to handle this bit, 10s of 1000s of Perth residents are FIFO workers, myself included, it doesn't 'break' the joint.

I agree with your other points, but Perth has this covered.
Their regular and built into the travel network. Getting there is the reason why they're not in the conversation for Gather Round - admittedly a bigger travel event.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2