Live Event 2025 AFL Grand Final

Who wins the Half Time Sprint?

Okay, that'll be the very last Channel 7 game I'll watch for a long time. The ads are killing me.
How else will you know about Windscreen City, just over the hill on Marong Road. It’s that castle looking place, you know the one?

Payne, Doedee, Hipwood, McCarthy would have been in their best 22.

Coleman and Berry are fringe I would give you.

They lost Daniher to retirement and no one thought they could cover his loss because they brought in no seasoned replacement.

Neale sat out an extended period.

They were smashed in a Qualifying Final by the team they were playing in a Grand Final. It seemed most people had written them off.

Be bitter if you want, but I can see why they are saying it.
I see what you mean but I genuinely don't see that as being harder than last year? Maybe for Neale personally. Last year they were coming off a grand final defeat, they had heaps of injuries, Washcroft coming back from ACL, didn't make top 4. Lost OMac in the prelim. In fact halfway through the season didn't look like they would make finals at all.

Clearly, as a club though, it has been a challenging year because they all said so. And they would know better about it than I would. Just thought it was really interesting and also a bit weird, obviously was baked into their ethos for this finals campaign. And they are the absolute best at being able to overcome huge leads by oppositions etc, so it definitely works for them.

Edit: wasn't the whole las vegas thing start of last year too?

The lions had a shocking draw, all six of their double match ups were against teams that finished top 10, they only played every team that finished 11-18 once. Despite that and the documented injuries they only finished 2 points off Geelong in third, who were essentially gifted a home qualifying final with their draw by comparison.
The Lions did it bloody tough this year, hats off to them

That they overcame the same adversity that has affected most clubs, does not equate to the adversity not existing.
No no, it's that when what you suggest as 'adversity' is experienced by literally ever other club, and almost every other club has had far more dire situations to deal with this season, well that's just not adversity at all.

It's just pretty standard footy stuff.

Yet we dont want him out of spite

If we push hard his gettable if we want him.

I think he is more surplus to the Lions needs now

But would add more to our group and take the pressure off serong in the trenches

The only thing ****ed about that is we take Neale’s large salary off their hands when Ashcroft is coming in to his fourth year.

Glad to help them out twice with Lachie

Interesting that both teams went into a GF with 2 rucks, albeit that Geelong don't have a bona fide No 1 ruck and Blicavs did more than Stanley, who was eventually subbed off - and must be closed to finished at AFL level.

I thought Fort and McInerney had some influence in clearance work and marking contests around the ground in the 3rd quarter without getting a lot of possessions, but they clearly won the hit outs over the 4 quarters.

The lions had a shocking draw, all six of their double match ups were against teams that finished top 10, they only played every team that finished 11-18 once. Despite that and the documented injuries they only finished 2 points off Geelong in third, who were essentially gifted a home qualifying final with their draw by comparison.
The Lions did it bloody tough this year, hats off to them
The reigning premiers got a tough draw you say?

:100:

Geelong are total flogs, but how anybody could support the Lions as a Freo supporter is beyond me.
Only reason I wanted Brisbane to win today is because that they are non Victorian. Plain and simple.

Brisbane were good today. Actually Geelong had the run of the umpires and Brisbane still nearly beaten them up by almost 10 goals , that makes the win even more impressive.

Brisbane beating cats today gives us hope.

Since 2006, only 3 non Victorian sides have beaten a Victorian side to win a flag.

2012: sydney beat Hawthorn narrowly

2018: west coast beat magpies with that Dom Sheed kick.

2025, Brisbane belted Geelong .

This gives hope to GWS, Gold coast, Adelaide and even Fremantle hope that they can win a grand final soon (vs a Victorian club).

Live Event 2025 AFL Grand Final