Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

From someone on Twitter re risk of getting Starcevich

"Players who have their careers cut short through being medically retired by the AFL have their contracts paid outside of the salary cap, it’s a non issue"

if this is true just get him
If this is the case that there are no restrictions, then we should leverage our finances for once and throw money at the gun players that have some concussion risk.

From someone on Twitter re risk of getting Starcevich

"Players who have their careers cut short through being medically retired by the AFL have their contracts paid outside of the salary cap, it’s a non issue"

if this is true just get him
It’s not though. It’s just not that cut and dry.

Yes there’s a process. No it isn’t that simple of that cut and dry.

There’s a limit, and it’s scaled down . We’d be copping two years of full undiluted payout

do tell, rumours where?
He's assuming that because Twomey thinks Duursma and CDT have separated from the pack, then this is who the Eagles want.

In reality, I doubt the Eagles are telling him f-all. I'm not convinced CDT has separated. I don't have him top 10, but understand why people have him top 5.

There's also this school of thought that "The Eagles need a ruckman, badly". While we sort of do, they take years to develop. So there is sort of an assumption we are taking Duursma and CDT.

Is that a school? So his kids are going to that school? Couldn't he be going to Freo then as well? He's still under contract for next year with Brisbane
Joking Just Kidding GIF

Is that a school? So his kids are going to that school? Couldn't he be going to Freo then as well? He's still under contract for next year with Brisbane
How old are his kids? There's a waiting list to get into these schools. You generally have to enrol at birth and pay a non-refundable fee of over $1000. She may have enrolled them for year 7 which could be 10 years away.

So where does this Lachie Neale rumour start from? Same place as the Bont rumour?

Without sounding like a flog, isn't it obvious?

His ball drop is higher than the moon. He's not quick of mind or by hand and foot, it takes him a long time to get ball to boot, he's not clean enough with ground balls and he's definitely not able to read the play like midfielders do, let alone accumulate.

Do you see McCarthy? Do you see how he can instantly step in, find the footy with ease, link up, receive outside and win inside, a man who knows what he's doing with the footy... That is a midfielder. I've got 100% confidence McCarthy would be able to play that role.

At the risk of selling Ginbey short, he basically jumps at the footy and spoils it OOB. A very good 1v1 player, which is important in the team, particularly defense because he's so athletic he can be very flexible with bigs or smalls...but not creative or offensive. Basically he's Nick Maxwell on steroids.

FWIW a similar description could also be applied to Hough. Who isn't a midfielder either.
All right i'll take that on board. Thank you for the detail.

Without sounding like a flog, isn't it obvious?

His ball drop is higher than the moon. He's not quick of mind or by hand and foot, it takes him a long time to get ball to boot, he's not clean enough with ground balls and he's definitely not able to read the play like midfielders do, let alone accumulate.

Do you see McCarthy? Do you see how he can instantly step in, find the footy with ease, link up, receive outside and win inside, a man who knows what he's doing with the footy... That is a midfielder. I've got 100% confidence McCarthy would be able to play that role.

At the risk of selling Ginbey short, he basically jumps at the footy and spoils it OOB. A very good 1v1 player, which is important in the team, particularly defense because he's so athletic he can be very flexible with bigs or smalls...but not creative or offensive. Basically he's Nick Maxwell on steroids.

FWIW a similar description could also be applied to Hough. Who isn't a midfielder either.
Also I agree skill wise and footy IQ I could see McCarthy playing midfield but I'd like to see him put on a bit more size.

So, we’re getting Lachie, Starc, Ah Chee and Dev. Can we add Rayner and Harris Andrews and Mcluggsge? Rebuild complete.

Based on what I've seen thus far, not sure on what planet Reid would be made skipper ahead of Ginbey.
Well, he's already addressing the group in huddles during games, so it shows he's certainly got the qualities of a leader.

Reckon we'll see a very different Harley next year from what he put in this season.

I am gobsmacked anyone would waste their time with this fool. I put him on ignore ages ago. Reminds me of people arguing with sharps for untold pages and pages. All I can see is the exasperated replies I just scroll right past imagining the nonsense he must be spewing. Pretty funny really.

This site would be perfect if it could completely hide ignored users and the replies. If you're a sad sack whinger, you go straight on my ignore list. Don't get me wrong everyone deserves to blow off a little steam every now and then, but if thats your default setting you can gtfo my feed.

I'm here to talk about and get excited about the team that I love in the sport that I love.
It's called the ignore button, it has made my time on here much more enjoyable

Season officially over, now the best part is to come.
Interesting to see pick #3 still being called a mistake...debatable for eternity.
Debatable?

It was an egregious mistake .

Saying in a media interview Baker was worth pick 14 then allowed hawks to screw us over as they had that pick 14 was another massive mistake.

I have no faith in matty clarke after the bone head moves he made last year

Other say trust pyke .

The same guy who thought the power stance and critical minds camp were good ideas

So where does this Lachie Neale rumour start from? Same place as the Bont rumour?

rumour has a bit more basis than Bont.
Lachie's wife is Western Australian (from when he was at Freo) and she is allegedly wanting to raise her kids around her family.

Their was some article or tweet saying that the eagles had approached Lachie earlier in the season to sound him out if he wanted to return west. The tweet said that he wasn't interested. I doubt with the 3 peat opportunity at Brisbane he's going to want to come back west.