Patrick Dangerfield - potential GOAT?

Could Patrick Dangerfield become the greatest player of all time?

Seemed like he tipped everything into last week and just couldn't go again today. You don't see too many games where he has such little impact.

You kinda do, I mean he is 35 and at the end of his career now.

He had 15 games this year with under 10 kicks. Only 2 games where he had above 20 disposals, one of which was last week.

He's basically done, just managed to wind the clock back for an epic last week.

Interesting discussion whether he goes on next year. They could maybe try and use him as a high impact sub? Just go balls out for 30 minutes, but that runs the risk of blowing out calves or hammies

According to some Cats supporters there are rumours of Danger having gastro?

Dirty campaigner needs to start washing his hands or maybe lay off the kebabs at Corio Bay Roadhouse, how does this prick get gastro in all but one of his finals series?!?!?!
This is the Cats and Danger 101. EVERY time he has a poor final (and Dusty handed his arse to him three times head to head so I’ve seen it a lot), the rumours of injury/illness etc… seep out of Sleepy Hollow.

And Chris Scott is just as bad - always throws shade over a poor performance with come cryptic garbage about ‘challenges’ the club faced that he wasn’t going to provide detail on. He did it again in his presser yesterday.

It’s absolutely excuse central down at Geelong any time they lose finals.

Lay off Chris Scott. He has had to deal with a lot of adversity this year.
Yeah … I mean how on earth do you cope with an injury list that contained Toby Conway and nobody else for the last 5-weeks of the season…?!?? Don’t know how he did it.

And then he bemoaned Tom Stewart missing in the presser …. Payne, McCarthy, Neale (50%), Hipwood, Coleman, Arnswerth ….

Loves a sook does salty Scott

Shouldn't you be out celebrating another wooden spoon?

At age 35 he was better than every single player on Hawthorns list which says volumes for the slop produced by the Hawks last week considering this weeks result. Yuck.

At least you're not comparing him to Hodge and Martin.

Hird was a Normie in 2000. played a sublime game in the most dominant side that's ever played 12 months of football. and he played a great game in the '93 GF kicking a goal in the 3rd when Essendon needed to make a statement to Carlton's challenge. put the game out of reach, killed Carltons momentum.
in retrospect he shouldnt have played in 2001; but its a Lachie Neale situation where you roll the dice. you want your best player out there. sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.

Dangerfield is of course a fantastic player. but to me he's that one tier down from the absolute greats.
Hird was a great player. Shame about the Shane Charter "supplements" though.

This is the Cats and Danger 101. EVERY time he has a poor final (and Dusty handed his arse to him three times head to head so I’ve seen it a lot), the rumours of injury/illness etc… seep out of Sleepy Hollow.

And Chris Scott is just as bad - always throws shade over a poor performance with come cryptic garbage about ‘challenges’ the club faced that he wasn’t going to provide detail on. He did it again in his presser yesterday.

It’s absolutely excuse central down at Geelong any time they lose finals.

And you have no idea how much it shits some Geelong supporters (probably more than people realise) every time they do it.

Here's a new post-match press conference that could be used:

"There are no excuses. They were too good. We were fully prepared but ultimately weren't good enough".

It would be refreshing to hear just once. There's no shame in it, and as much as he was utterly brilliant last week (and he was, for me his best final since 2017), he was just as utterly inept yesterday. Even worse than 2020 if it's possible. That's footy. It happens.

And you have no idea how much it shits some Geelong supporters (probably more than people realise) every time they do it.

Here's a new post-match press conference that could be used:

"There are no excuses. They were too good. We were fully prepared but ultimately weren't good enough".

It would be refreshing to hear just once. There's no shame in it, and as much as he was utterly brilliant last week (and he was, for me his best final since 2017), he was just as utterly inept yesterday. Even worse than 2020 if it's possible. That's footy. It happens.

What do you think of his "we need to celebrate second more" comments during the post game speech?

It takes a lot for me to stomach his press conferences at the best of times. But not in the least bit surprising. We (as in the club) better not start insinuating players were injured or sick or "mystery virus" garbage again, but I'm not holding my breath.

I started tuning out after his "mission accomplished" line and that was a fair while back now.

It takes a lot for me to stomach his press conferences at the best of times. But not in the least bit surprising. We (as in the club) better not start insinuating players were injured or sick or "mystery virus" garbage again, but I'm not holding my breath.

I started tuning out after his "mission accomplished" line and that was a fair while back now.

Fair enough. I think there's a time and a place and while only one team can win the flag each year, it was still a good season. But that's probably something you talk about in a couple of weeks when you do the review, not on the ground 10 minutes post siren. Just seems like you don't care all that much.

Can't imagine Selwood saying the same thing.

Quote from danger, not scott
Danger said "To our guys, we don't celebrate second place but there is plenty to be proud of" which is very different to what you're saying and seems a reasonable thing for a captain to say to his team that has just lost a GF

Thats not the quote either, although I admit I did get it wrong. It was something like we don't as Australia's celebrate coming second all that well.

It continues to amaze me how people are so binary about Norm Smith Medal winners.

Dangerfield's 2022 Grand Final was better than WAshcroft's 2024 and 2025, and also Martin's 2017 and 2019.

According to well known Dusty downgrader Fadge:

Dangerfield's 2022 Grand Final was better than Dusty's 2017 and 2019 Grand Finals and better than Washcroft's 2024 & 2025 Grand Finals....for the true picture:

Dusty 2017 13 Norm Smith Medal votes, 30.2 player rating, 8 coaches votes

Dusty 2019 15 Norm Smith Medal votes, 22.9 player rating, 10 coaches votes

Dangerfield 2022 10 Norm Smith Medal votes, 22.0 player rating, 8 coaches votes.

Washcroft 2024 14 Norm Smith Medal votes, 19.3 player rating, 9 coaches votes

Washcroft 2025 13 Norm Smith Medal votes, 20.6 player rating, ? coaches votes.

Was very crook and should have been the sub. Wouldn't have played any other week
Cats fans do him zero favours by alluding to injury/illness every time he plays like a busted in a final. Happened in the 2019 PF, happened in the 2020 GF, happened in the 2021 PF.

Neale played 3-weeks after a torn calf and Dunkley played with a grade-3 syndesmosis strain that’s normally 6-8 weeks.

Danger wouldn’t want excuses made for him, so not sure why supporters and his coach feel the need. He played like a busted. It happens…. and for Danger on the big stage it happens a bit too often to be ranked with the absolute top echelon. But he’s on the next rung down, no doubt.

According to well known Dusty downgrader Fadge:

Dangerfield's 2022 Grand Final was better than Dusty's 2017 and 2019 Grand Finals and better than Washcroft's 2024 & 2025 Grand Finals....for the true picture:

Dusty 2017 13 Norm Smith Medal votes, 30.2 player rating, 8 coaches votes

Dusty 2019 15 Norm Smith Medal votes, 22.9 player rating, 10 coaches votes

Dangerfield 2022 10 Norm Smith Medal votes, 22.0 player rating, 8 coaches votes.

Washcroft 2024 14 Norm Smith Medal votes, 19.3 player rating, 9 coaches votes

Washcroft 2025 13 Norm Smith Medal votes, 20.6 player rating, ? coaches votes.
Your point?

It continues to amaze me how people are so binary about Norm Smith Medal winners.

Dangerfield's 2022 Grand Final was better than WAshcroft's 2024 and 2025, and also Martin's 2017 and 2019.

I'll give you great credit for introducing the term non-binary into the discussion about Norm Smith judging.

But you're trolling a football discussion. Again.

Take it to the bay stinky

One bad grand final shouldn't severely tarnish Dangerfield's legacy, particularly at his age and he played very well in a prelim this year.
It's not one bad Grand Final. it's two he is the captain meant be leading from the front.

It doesn't tarnish his legacy in terms of being a great of the game but he is not in the GOAT discussion. which is what some ppl were pushing.

He played a great prelim but didn't back it up, the job wasn't done.

Patrick Dangerfield - potential GOAT?