List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Edmund on Sen

“Marshall hasn’t been thrilled with the club's sort to go after Tom De Koning, was he brought into the tent on this offer enough and sold the role and how it was going to work? No.

“So, he has had his head turned, the Cats want a ruckman, and they have met with Rowan Marshall.”

Narrative changes, doesn’t it.

No longer is it that he wasn’t told. It’s that he wasn’t now told enough and has had his head turned.

Gee, we really are going to deserve an apology
Sounds like the same old shit from this flog. Saying nothing different.

Perhaps Wilkie wants to leave for the pay day, so it would be reasonable in my view. I get the impression that the club think that Tauru will play the Wilkie role and although they love him, they are planning for the future and are prepared to make long term decisions.

SDK has a lot of footy ahead of him and we definitely need a 2m tall defender to play on the big forwards. Perhaps the club also think that paying a 24yo over a 29yo the extra dollars is a better investment?

I doubt we give Geelong Marshall and a first round pick, without getting a pick and SDK in return.

IF it does occur you would wonder what happens to Howard next year - perhaps he has interest from another club also?
I don't care if Wilkie wants a pay day, I am speaking from the clubs pov.
Swapping SDK for Wilkie is insane. Full stop

I'm not trading Marshall for Geelong's late first and steak knives in a weak and compromised draft. Sure he's not the best pure ruckman, but he is probably the best kick for a ruckman in the league and his ability to drift back into our d50 and take contested marks is very underrated. With the sub likely to go next year, I expect a 2 ruck combination will become more common. It's also still very much up in the air whether Max King will return to his best, so having a tall target up forward may become crucial.

Geelong are a rival club and we shouldn't be giving them any assistance when we hold the cards over a contracted player. Even if he requests a trade, I would hold him to his contract unless they panic and offer overs after Stanley's performance yesterday. But that's not how Geelong typically operates so I don't expect that will happen.

I don't care if Wilkie wants a pay day, I am speaking from the clubs pov.
Swapping SDK for Wilkie is insane. Full stop

Do you now speak for club?

Its just a discussion of what ifs, so don't get yourself in a tizz.

On current form I agree Wilkie is a much better player, but if it's true perhaps the club are prepared to give Wilke's his big pay day and come away with a future full back.

Basically it's short term vs long term and list balance.

End of the day it’ll come down to how hard Marshall would push for a move. We’ll have a value in mind, if it’s met there’s a high chance he’ll leave, if the Cats try and drag it out we’ll be well on our way to seeing Marshall and TDK split duties next season.

We also may have targets and moves that we may not be aware of yet that would require Marshall to be traded for currency.

Flanders decision this week may change the way we approach trade week.

I’ve heard about this, and if I was a player I’d have it written into my contract that I would have access to the gym the whole year. I reckon it’s crazy that these guys have to go elsewhere if they want to do weights and gym stuff
Of course the players would have access to the gym.

No chance.

If anything it'll go way, way up.

Live sport is the absolute premium for TV and streaming services.

A TV series can be binged in a week. Or watched sporadically. Or skipped entirely. Or downloaded.

Live sports/events are at a premium because they HAVE to be watched in the moment. Very few people are going to sign up to Kayo to watch a replay of a game.

You wanna take part in the discussion? Be part of the social scene? You need to sign up and watch it.

It's also why people behind the scenes are pushing for a twilight/night start time.

Joe Average is less likely to invite a big group of people around for a later start, meaning more people stay home to watch it on their own TV.

Means more subscribers to streaming services.

More devices tuning in means providers can charge more for advertising.

Smaller groups also means less distractions so people spend more time paying attention to the advertising as well.

Im certain that a twilight start will be locked in as part of the next deal, even if it's as a 'trial' for 2-3 years.

Zero chance the grand final will be subscriber only so I’m not sure that argument makes any sense

That's strange, I helped him break some disposable chopsticks apart here in Japan last evening. Neither of us could rip the soy sauce sachet open, had to ask the waitress. He's getting around quick at least.
I saw him at Ho Chi Min Airport. He was waiting fir his latter. He could not work out why the airport was using USD currency. I wanted to ho over and help him, but he had a trail of hangers on

Edmund on Sen

“Marshall hasn’t been thrilled with the club's sort to go after Tom De Koning, was he brought into the tent on this offer enough and sold the role and how it was going to work? No.

“So, he has had his head turned, the Cats want a ruckman, and they have met with Rowan Marshall.”

Narrative changes, doesn’t it.

No longer is it that he wasn’t told. It’s that he wasn’t now told enough and has had his head turned.

Gee, we really are going to deserve an apology
In journalistic terms, Sam Edmunds is a spud.

Darts and mayonnaise are his tools of trade.

In journalistic terms, Sam Edmunds is a spud.

Darts and mayonnaise are his tools of trade.
He sure is. But he is going to get ALOT of air time in the next few weeks and we are going to be one of the main players