Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

Rewatch the fox replay this arvo. Good to see the replays of all goals and hear the songs belting out. Also while watching it I noticed that Darcy Fort played a ripper. He fed our players crucial taps that led to goals

was amazed at how physical the team was yesterday. geelong couldnt buy an easy possession and just looked rattled by halfway through the second quarter.

i had a coach who once told me that the best teams in anything have a bit of campaigner in them and play on the edge - we've developed it in spades
Brisbane has GEARS and in the last 5 minutes of the third quarter we hit OVERDRIVE and Geelong just could not cope. I’ve been closely following football for well over 50 years and I’ve got the Zorko loose ball intercept, handball to Neale and Neale goal, in my top handful of football moments that I have witnessed.

I think he felt it was an unnecessary distraction for him having to decide whether or not to sub Jezza

In reality he was just annoyed that he was made to look stupid by not subbing him
Unnecessary distraction ?? To do his job ?

It sounded like he was having a crack at the rule but if you think that through it's the same for everybody.

He just sounded like he had no idea what he was on about . And then about the massive challenges they faced but not prepared to say what they are.

Honestly he's nowhere near as smart as how he's portrayed in the media.

Just front up and say we got belted by a far better side , we learnt a lot from today ,we need to get better to compete with them next year. Simple. And everyone would say well said .

It sounded like he was having a crack at the rule but if you think that through it's the same for everybody.

He just sounded like he had no idea what he was on about . And then about the massive challenges they faced but not prepared to say what they are.

Just front up and say we got belted by a far better side , we learnt a lot from today ,we need to get better to compete with them next year. Simple. And everyone would say well said .

Just his massive ego coming to terms with being owned by poppa Fages

I think that's it actually. Yesterday was a big blow to his CV after all his mates in the media have been pumping his tyres for the last decade.

Their record in big games isn't anything special considering the advantages they've had . I've known the Scott brothers since they came to the club as boys . They're diligent hard workers but let's not think there aren't hundreds of other people within the industry with a similar work ethic and equally talented with equivalent opportunity.

Wtf was with Chris Scott’s press conference. ‘We had challenges through the year we didn’t think we’d be able to overcome, we didn’t think we’d be able to compete’. Then when asked about it did not want to engage anymore about it. Bizarre behavior
Can you blame him? All of the players and coaching staff all had gastro for the entire season, from round 1 to the grand final. That’s a pretty rough run at it

Dayne Zorko - I think you are now my favourite Lion of all time.
I had to put you in my 5 best as ridiculous as it was who I had to leave out. Felt vindicated when I saw the Norm Smith votes.
Your reading of the play, intercepting, decision making and kicking was 'special', 'elite', 'brilliant', 'scintillating'.
That play to set up Lockie's goal was absolutely farking marvellous. I will always remember that moment with a huge smile on my face.

Just like your smile after the final siren (again). You were my BOG in the post game celebrations and presentations.
And you were the absolute ring-leader when you went into the rooms to sing our song. The biggest kid there, the most excited of the lot. Orchestrating the best singing of the song by a team (possibly ever).
I couldn't stop grinning like an idiot.
Zorks, you are everything great in a footballer.
You are right up there with the greatest Lions of all time in my eyes .
It gets to me every time Zorko is discussed. Let’s go back to the start of his football career. He is on the Suns extended list, wins the B & F every year at Broadbeach but they decide never to give him a go. WTF. He was awesome right from the moment he walked into the Gabba. Maybe that “chip on his shoulder “ helped drive his success. I am so thankful we were able to get him to the club. I bet nobody at the Suns ever owns that decision.

Even after he was self evidently a gun Bluey McKenna was sticking to his saying they didn't regret not drafting him for a moment.

And then all the crap he's copped from our own supporters and dare I say some on this thread who loved dropping one on him every time he sneezed. He seems to be good at rubbing people up the wrong way , which is actually one of the reasons why he is good.

At 36 hasn't lost his pace , still an elite kick , has no fear and prepared to take risks to get greater rewards. Still one of our best 5 players.

I suppose the end is near but the way he's going you wouldn't bet on it.

I see Geelong board have moved on to the next stage of grief. Some hot takes there
No wonder, most of them were so overconfident. Hopefully a few got few early tattoos.

Wouldn't having 5 subs and losing one to injury be more of a disadvantage than having 4 subs and replacing one of them due to injury?
Proper time to assess and scan even, and not be a player down on the bench? Who knows

Hard thing for a narcissist to do.

3KZ is Football’s Worst 2025 Grand Final Commentator Award

WINNER: Garry Lyon for gratuitous mention of Nick Daicos.

With 15 minutes remaining in the last quarter, Will Ashcroft receives a quick handball from Neale and kicks a goal from 40 metres out, off a step. Lyon responds with …

“I tell ya, he and Nick Daicos are going to rip this competition to shreds for a long time.”

Dishonourable Mention: Brian Taylor

In the first quarter Oisín Mullin kicked Geelong’s second goal. Taylor responded with …

“What a play from this guy. He’s described as the Nick Daicos out of Ireland”

giphy.gif

I don't understand why people don't like the sub. If anything, it is an extra opportunity for a master tactician to show their stuff. You'd think he would like the extra lever to pull...

I do generally like him, but yeah, that was all a bit dumb.

Can you blame him? All of the players and coaching staff all had gastro for the entire season, from round 1 to the grand final. That’s a pretty rough run at it
That’s a run of bad luck. Fortunately Scott has the runs on the board.

David King on Will Ashcroft 2 yrs ago : "I don't know... he's a small man.. lightly built... I'm not sure about him"
Still reading through the pages, but Fages effectively flagged the difference between WAshy and Naicos in his presser (in not so many words).
Both players are incredibly talented, but WAsh is tough.

He copped some flack for not doing the defensive running earlier in the season. I think he put that to bed in his finals performances.

Have they announced him as the winner of the Gary Ayers medal yet?

I can’t tell if this has been posted, but check out this epic melt from that Catman campaigner who I’ve since learnt also claims to be and is a sovereign citizen unhinged nuttjob

Can we please ban any adult Lions supporters who go the full face-paint (and i know there’s a couple out there).
You want to put a couple of stripes on your face warpaint style then go for it, but never go full-catman!

Congrats guys.

Far too good on the day and deserving on the season's work, as well as the past 7 years of excellence.

The scary thing is this team still has further levels to go to!

Enjoy the celebrations.
always enjoy our interactions on the main board - will see you guys again in finals next year no doubt.

some of your fellow geelong supporters are not taking this nearly as gracefully!

I can’t tell if this has been posted, but check out this epic melt from that Catman campaigner who I’ve since learnt also claims to be and is a sovereign citizen unhinged nuttjob

IMG_4447.jpeg
Blaming the Footy Gods was a bad idea. Further curses and an additional pox upon Geelong for 2026.

Brisbane has GEARS and in the last 5 minutes of the third quarter we hit OVERDRIVE and Geelong just could not cope. I’ve been closely following football for well over 50 years and I’ve got the Zorko loose ball intercept, handball to Neale and Neale goal, in my top handful of football moments that I have witnessed.
Early in the third quarter 2001 we ran the ball up the wing under great pressure when we were still a couple of goals down. My son and I always watch it before we go to the MCG for the Grand Final.

I think ultimately what this game came down to is that we know what Grand Final intensity is, and the Cats didn't so much.

Our tackling was freaking brutal in the first half. Forget about the scoreboard, we were a much better team in that first half.

When the Cats got that nasty sense that the game was getting away from them, there was a lot of panic. I reckon when you've had half a season of feasting on easybeats that's liable to happen.
You could tell from the grand final parade that we were ready for it and knew what it is to play in a GF, they were not. Bailey Smith was incredibly tense when interviewed by Cam Mooney in the back of the ute.

Move forward 24 hours, you could see our boys were pumped and excited to be out there, they were anxious.
The national anthem our boys arm-in-arm, Geelong were one step away from a power stance.

We had the beaten from the minute out boys stepped of of the race.

Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions