Game Day Finals 2025; Grand Final - Cats get pantsed.

Who do we want to win ?

• Lions ?

Votes: 37 94.9%
  • Cats ?

Votes: 2 5.1%

Is Catman Chris Scott? 😮
Nah Brad Scott..

afl wink GIF

If we ever needed any more proof of how overrated talls are Brisbane just won 3 finals by a collective 150 points with the following

Ruck - Darcy Fort
2nd Ruck / tall fwd - a battered big Oscar
Key forwards - Logan Morris and Ty Gallop
Key backs - Harris Andrews, Darcy Gardiner and Ryan Lester

1 a grader amongst 7 talls with big Harris and a bunch of role players. An inside out re-build is definitely the right method as the Lions have just proven.

Morris, Gardiner and Lester are better than you're giving credit for imo.

Can't have anyone but W.Ashcroft as best on ground (Harris Andrews a good shout though). Forget most of the last quarter as the game was done. Charlie Cameron stiff to not poll at least a vote or two. Umps and Brisbane kept Geelong in it. Neale's goal was the defining moment of the contest.

Marstermind, can you do a quick analysis of our drafting/trading of defenders over the last decade?

2015 - Ben McKay pick 21, Mitch Hibberd pick 33,
2016 - Marley Williams traded in for pick 105
2018 - Pittard traded in as part of Polec deal, Aaron Hall in for pick 68,
2019 - Josh Walker DFA, Bonar traded in for late pick, pick 31 Comben, pick 35 Flynn Perez
2020 - Corr FA, Lachie Young in for very late pick, Atu B traded in as part of Stephenson trade
2021 - Goater pick 22, Bergman pick 38, Archer pick 59,
2022 - K.Dawson pick 2 MSD, Logue and Tucker traded in, Sheezel pick 3 (dunno if he counts),
2023 - Pink DFA, Z.Fisher and pick 17 from Carlton for picks 21 and 25, Biggie for pick 65, McKercher pick 2 (see Sheezel comment), W.Dawson pick 22, Hardeman pick 23,
2024 - C.Daniel for pick 25 😵‍💫, FOS pick 2 (see Sheezel + Mckercher comments), Whitlock pick 27

😵‍💫

Morris, Gardiner and Lester are better than you're giving credit for imo.
None of them are a graders, they are solid role players largely selected in 2nd and 3rd rounds of drafts.

Brissie are the pin up boys for an inside / out rebuild and hopefully we are on the path to replicating.

If we ever needed any more proof of how overrated talls are Brisbane just won 3 finals by a collective 150 points with the following

Ruck - Darcy Fort
2nd Ruck / tall fwd - a battered big Oscar
Key forwards - Logan Morris and Ty Gallop
Key backs - Harris Andrews, Darcy Gardiner and Ryan Lester

1 a grader amongst 7 talls with big Harris and a bunch of role players. An inside out re-build is definitely the right method as the Lions have just proven.
It shows that 2 rucks and 2kpf is an important structure despite average players playing those roles

Yet we rolled one short each game

And then were confused when we didn’t take many contested marks around the ground or force more balls to ground

2019 - Josh Walker DFA, Bonar traded in for late pick, pick 31 Comben, pick 35 Flynn Perez
2020 - Corr FA, Lachie Young in for very late pick, Atu B traded in as part of Stephenson trade
2022 - K.Dawson pick 2 MSD, Logue and Tucker traded in, Sheezel pick 3 (dunno if he counts),
2023 - Pink DFA, Z.Fisher and pick 17 from Carlton for picks 21 and 25, Biggie for pick 65, McKercher pick 2 (see Sheezel comment), W.Dawson pick 22, Hardeman pick 23,
2024 - C.Daniel for pick 25 😵‍💫, FOS pick 2 (see Sheezel + Mckercher comments), Whitlock pick 27

😵‍💫
😵‍💫😵‍💫😵‍💫😵‍💫😵‍💫

I'm afraid I can't agree on Snoop Dogg. Absolutely dreadful the stuff he pumped out. If people think that is music, let alone good music, then I would ban all music. It was pure s***.

Andrew Dillon should be fired for bringing him in to perform.

Of course, he should be fired anyway because of continuing with a pre-finals bye and not a pre-GF bye (amongst many other failings, including playing the AFLW GF at Princes Park, rather than their own facility at Marvel, where a much larger crowd would attend.)

The game would have been better served with both Berry and Stewart. Berry would probably have got up with a further week of recovery. Neale would still have played in place of one of their lesser lights.

The dancing was quite okay though.

what a guy turning up in white pajama's and mumbling inane crap into a microphone while a bunch of people pretend to play instruments doesn't float your boat Horace !

yeah it was beyond awful....Heard more exciting music on hold with Vodafone

😵‍💫

Not going to try and polish this turd other than to say a lot of what we have here is trying to hit long shots.

I would say we have done alright when we draft using decent currency.

We pretty much always miss when we try and bring in a merc.

and outside of Pink all of our long shots have missed.

Almost as if we simply get better results drafting than we do f***ing around with anything else.

the lions 3peat next year surely will put a stop to northern academies?

It’s for this reason I now hope they win it next year
But what if one of the four falls just barely out of the eight (due to injuries) again like this year? We can't be having that.
I'm not sure of much, but I'm sure the AFL can find ways to justify this rort if it suits them

I'm afraid I can't agree on Snoop Dogg. Absolutely dreadful the stuff he pumped out. If people think that is music, let alone good music, then I would ban all music. It was pure s***.

Andrew Dillon should be fired for bringing him in to perform.

Of course, he should be fired anyway because of continuing with a pre-finals bye and not a pre-GF bye (amongst many other failings, including playing the AFLW GF at Princes Park, rather than their own facility at Marvel, where a much larger crowd would attend.)

The game would have been better served with both Berry and Stewart. Berry would probably have got up with a further week of recovery. Neale would still have played in place of one of their lesser lights.

The dancing was quite okay though.

I think booking Snoop shows how out of touch the AFL are.

20 years ago, Snoop would have been a big name to get. But the average footy punter isn’t really an RNB fan.

Then to have didgeridoos and Jess Mauboy up there. Cmon guys, we get it, but give it a rest.

I think booking Snoop shows how out of touch the AFL are.

20 years ago, Snoop would have been a big name to get. But the average footy punter isn’t really an RNB fan.

Then to have didgeridoos and Jess Mauboy up there. Cmon guys, we get it, but give it a rest.
Spinal Tap would have been brilliant

It shows that 2 rucks and 2kpf is an important structure despite average players playing those roles

Yet we rolled one short each game

And then were confused when we didn’t take many contested marks around the ground or force more balls to ground
Morris & Zurhaar are the same height.

We played Larkey, Zurhaar and Darling all year.

And played a Ruck and sometimes Maley or Trembath as well.

Stop calling mid sized forwards KPF and the same as a Ruckman.

They are chalk and cheese.

Zurhaar is more like Rayner playing style wise

Morris plays taller than he is

Morris has a couple of cm on Cam, doesn't he?

And a stack of footy IQ too, of course

Zurhaar is more like Rayner playing style wise

Morris plays taller than he is

And he is a bit taller.

Certainly he looks more rangy with longer wingspan.

It really doesn’t matter where the top of your head is.

I don’t think he (Zurhaar) plays like either of them TBH.

PC would be our closest to Rayner and JD to Morris.

Game Day Finals 2025; Grand Final - Cats get pantsed.