Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

I have to issues how Sydney and GC are handling this Charlie situation , but Geelong are being very cocky, arrogant and disrespectful about this. It’s obvious they’re in cahoots with Charlie and his idiot manager. Their see through tactic is to play everything through the media, trying to embarrass us and make the relationship between us and Charlie untenable so that we can feel pressured into accepting any shit deal they offer. GW needs to off the bat tell them to GAGF and only come back if you’re serious. His manager will sook to the media how we’re not doing what’s best for the player, but bad luck. He signed a contract. Show respect or p*** off.
Even if Charlie stays now, he’s lost the respect of the supporter base and I’m not sure what he can do to win it back.

Graham Wright needs to come out and School Mackie. Shut him down. Tell him to even speak we need X, X and X draft picks or else dont bother ringing.

Another selfish player ruining and keeping us occupied with crap. TDK, JSOS all year. And now Charlie in the off season.

Hope he doesnt derail our plans this off season as its an important one for us.

Geelong will have to sell the farm/s to get Curnow 😉. Can’t see it happening or can I…

Maybe we could offer him some incentives to stay, such as unlimited Uber to take him back and forth to the surf, training and games, to save him the bike rides. Would an elite surf coach fit into our soft cap or fashion designer?
We can’t be stealing geelongs ideas to pay Charlie outside the cap.

Hi, I did an AI analysis of the differences between Brisbane and Carlton, which the statistics say are a lot closer than whqat the eye says:

📊 Big Picture​

• Carlton finished 11th despite being competitive in several areas.
  • Brisbane finished 1st, with a statistical profile showing more efficiency, better ball movement, and stronger scoreboard impact.

🔑 Key Differences​

1. Scoreboard Impact

• Goals: Brisbane 13.2 vs Carlton 11.3 → +2 goals per game.
  • Scoring Shots: Brisbane 25.3 vs Carlton 21.9 → +3.4 shots per game.
  • Conversion %: Almost identical (52.2% vs 51.6%), but Brisbane simply created more chances.
    👉 This difference alone explains much of the ladder gap — Brisbane consistently outscored opponents.

2. Ball Use & Efficiency

• Disposal Efficiency: Brisbane 72.4% vs Carlton 70.7%.
  • Effective Disposals: Brisbane 268.9 vs Carlton 253.0.
  • Kick-to-Handball Ratio: Brisbane 1.66 vs Carlton 1.47 → Brisbane kicked more, handballed less (more direct).
  • Metres Gained: Brisbane 6060m vs Carlton 5803m → +257m per game.
    👉 Brisbane moved the ball more directly, further, and cleaner.

3. Possession Style

• Carlton: Higher contested possessions (137.7 vs 132.6), stronger in contested marks (10.6 vs 8.2).
  • Brisbane: Higher uncontested possessions (231.5 vs 214.7), more marks overall (104.4 vs 90.1).
    👉 Carlton played a tougher, inside game, but Brisbane controlled tempo with outside spread and uncontested ball.

4. Clearances & Ruck

• Clearances: Very close — Brisbane 41.0 vs Carlton 39.3.
  • Hitouts: Brisbane 40.4 vs Carlton 34.7 → edge to Lions.
    👉 Brisbane had a ruck advantage that translated into slightly stronger stoppage dominance.

5. Defensive & Pressure Acts

• Tackles: Carlton 63.1 vs Brisbane 57.8 → Carlton more pressure-focused.
  • One Percenters: Brisbane 46.4 vs Carlton 43.2.
  • Rebound 50s: Brisbane 38.0 vs Carlton 36.1.
    👉 Carlton tackled more, but Brisbane defended more effectively with intercepts and one-percenters.

🏆 Summary in Plain English​

• Carlton: Stronger in contested footy and pressure (tackles, contested marks), but lacked polish moving forward. They won the ball but often turned it over or couldn’t convert inside 50 dominance into goals.
  • Brisbane: Cleaner ball movement, more direct, and more efficient with inside 50s. They consistently gained more ground, had more marks, and created extra scoring shots, which pushed them from competitive to dominant.

📌 In short:
  • Carlton = gritty, contested, high-pressure, but wasteful.
  • Brisbane = polished, efficient, higher scoring, ladder leaders.
@MichaelVoss

I don't think we need to get too worked up by what Geelong are doing or what Charlie/his manager are doing. It doesn't matter what Geelong say publicly as it's meaningless. Mackie basically conceded this by saying Carlton will set the market. confirming they're interested is fine, and they didn't come across to me as expecting to get him for chips, they just stated their position. No need to get upset about Geelong saying they're keen.

At the end of the day, we've made our position pretty clear - he's not up for trade - seemingly while quietly in the background saying but come at us with your best deal, we won't be actively engaging with you unless it's worthwhile. Which, imo, is the best way to play it. He won't be going for anything less than a kings ransom and everyone knows it. Of course right now every club is saying their stars are off the table, the season only finished 15 minutes ago. You can't go putting guys on the table publicly while games are still being played.

I think a lot of what's being said in the media is just fluff nonsense.

Graham Wright needs to come out and School Mackie. Shut him down. Tell him to even speak we need X, X and X draft picks or else dont bother ringing.

Another selfish player ruining and keeping us occupied with crap. TDK, JSOS all year. And now Charlie in the off season.

Hope he doesnt derail our plans this off season as its an important one for us.
Graeme Wright doesn't need to say anything

They also know that their window is closing rapidly.

Danger. Blicavs, Stanley, Stewart, even J. Cameron getting way on...

Their list is paper think frankly.,,

At 29, they'll get 5 years out of Charlie.... Is Neale really up to it? And they'll never get another game out of danger like his PF game...

View attachment 2440793
Very insidious to cut this list off where you have. Below it are Max Holmes, Ollie Dempsey, Lawson Humphries, Jhye Clark, George Stevens, Conor O Sullivan and Ted Clohesy who are all best 22 or thereabouts. Dempsey and Holmes in particular are bonafide A-grade talent. O'Connor down to SDK are all in their prime and will be there for the next 5-7 years. They recruit and trade better than any club in the league. They will be top 4 for years to come.

Harry is a very decent target...

Just needs to be surrounded by more quality.

We have a bunch of mostly inept small/medium forwards and no goal kicking mids either.

No wonder we didn't kick more than 12 goals from round 8 -> round 22.

The last two games don't count for me either... played a pack of witches hats in both games..

It doesn't really matter, the two (or more) clubs could agree today and the AFL media scrum would insist on keeping it rolling until the last day of the trade period for clicks, Trade Radio listeners, media spots and to stay relevant through the NRL GF and any other sporting story from another code.

The socceroos could play a game on Mars and the AFL would release a fixture update at the same time to stay in the news cycle.
That’s a hell of an away game.
Who are they playing?🤣

If you do want us to entertain the idea of a trade for Charlie then we will only listen to 1 trade scenario from each club so make the offer your very best.
We want a full list of the players you are willing to trade and you the club is to organise 60 minutes with the players that we choose from your list so that we can determine if they would be a good fit for the Carlton Football Club.
This deal is open to all 17 other clubs. The best offers for us will be discussed. If we choose that an offer or offers are sufficient then we will present them to Charlie and he can determine if he is willing to go to that club/s. If not he is welcome to see out the remaining 4 years of his contract. We understand if this process is too hard for your club and we will not be offended if you choose to not make a bid for Charlie.
Again we are happy to open our arms and welcome Charlie back to the football club for the first day of preseason.
Kind regards
Carlton Football Club.

No way do several clubs put forward trade bait for us to interview so that we can have a think about what deals we would present to Charlie.

That would alienate all the players that are being dangled in front of us.

Sit downs with players wouldn't happen until a basic deal has been negotiated.

We have a bunch of mostly inept small/medium forwards and no goal kicking mids either.

The last two games don't count for me either... played a pack of witches hats in both games..
Im not so dark on our small/medium forwards

Defintely some who shouldnt be there which means the decent ones (moir and williams nad motlop (maybe)) are left to carry the rest (I think evans and F Young will defientely become more than serviceable)

the EJ situation really pisses me off as he can defintely make a difference

I have to issues how Sydney and GC are handling this Charlie situation , but Geelong are being very cocky, arrogant and disrespectful about this. It’s obvious they’re in cahoots with Charlie and his idiot manager. Their see through tactic is to play everything through the media, trying to embarrass us and make the relationship between us and Charlie untenable so that we can feel pressured into accepting any shit deal they offer. GW needs to off the bat tell them to GAGF and only come back if you’re serious. His manager will sook to the media how we’re not doing what’s best for the player, but bad luck. He signed a contract. Show respect or p*** off.
Even if Charlie stays now, he’s lost the respect of the supporter base and I’m not sure what he can do to win it back.
He can kick a s***tonne of goals & show his presence as a league leading key forward talent!

That’s a good start.

No way do several clubs put forward trade bait for us to interview so that we can have a think about what deals we would present to Charlie.

That would alienate all the players that are being dangled in front of us.

Sit downs with players wouldn't happen until a basic deal has been negotiated.
This needs to benefit us. Your club that you have given service to wants Charlie over you. We would love to have you at Carlton even if Charlie doesn’t go to your club. Clearly these clubs were chatting with Charlie months ago. Why shouldn’t we now be talking with their players. The key difference is we make their clubs facilitate the meetings.

If we are standing up for something different and change within the club, not getting shafted on a Charlie deal is a very good place to start. It takes a lot to trust when we’ve been burnt sometimes to just bend over happily. This is the start for me to see if the clubs actions will meet words or intentions.

It should be a deal that probably helps to position us well for Cody but also gives us a player of quality for the next attempted premiership tilt. These teams are lucky he isn’t 24-25, we’d be asking for the world.

Happy to have Geelong or any other club put their hat in the ring.
The more offers tabled the better the outcome for us.
Likewise if they all say we want Charlie but are unwilling to stump up real value, we tell Charlie”look mate they just aren’t that into you”!!!!!
Win/win
Yep, tell Charlie to be prepared to go to either of the 3 clubs, you will go to the highest bidder and be prepared to stay if we don’t get what we want.

I'd keep McGovern and can tag team HOK and McGovern down there and let Harry play true Centre Half Forward. I reckon Harry would be twice the player if we remove the onus on him to be the leading goalkicker.

So far all we have seen is various Club spokespeople being ambushed by media and responding in their own prepackaged manner. Charlie going to any CLub has ramifications for their existing listed players and their career trajectories. Lots of 'stuff' for any potential suitor to work through. The most talented players in these potential suitors are unlikely to want to leave as they are already well established and under contract themselves- so trying to pry a geuine A+ player in exchange as a starting point isnt going to be easy for these potential suitors anyway.

As many have understood - some it took longer to understand than others- Carlton FIrst means - Wright /Austin /Davies /Voss dont ave to say ANYTHING to anyone except - Charlie is a required player and to Charlie - get ready for pre-season starting soon.

Im looking forward to any mega deal involving Charlie - we will make out liek bandits- OR Charlie can rediscover his love for wearing the Blue.

Pretty simple situation really - unless people wish to wax lyrical about curnow's mindset and effec ton team and all teh other zillion variables rabbitt holes...

4 years contacted - simple.

My personal preference is a Kings ransom too good to walk away from btw - curnow has embarrassed himself and allowed pot shots at the CLub and his team mates to run wild for weeks now and like the players who have already left OR been canned and retired (cough Docherty Cough) have been negative white anting influences in the CLub - obviously. Imagine the effect that all this drama has had during the year on coaches and players...FFS - my #1 question mark about Voss.