Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

It’s funny how coming into this game the AFL media had Geelong as certainties and now they have us as certainties for going ‘Back 2 Back 2 Back’ 🤔
They are a fickle bunch!

Hardest draw of the season - media want to position it as second hardest but in my books we went through hell in second half of season to emerge top 4. The win against Fremantle at perth set the tone and beating Hawks at Gabba topped it off.
The thing with the hardest fixture calculation at season end is that it’s relative to the clubs performance. So while the ladder positions of Port Adelaide’s double up opponents was 38 vs our 40, Port finished 13th on the ladder. If they had finished higher on the ladder than more of their opponents then their opponents would be further down the ladder resulting in a higher calculated degree of difficulty score (which means an easier fixture).

No doubt Port had a challenging fixture, but it didn’t match our’s, and they certainly didn’t stand up to the challenge!

If Fages is still on the keep improving mantra next season we need to finish top 2 and win the qualifying final, I can’t see another brutal run through a final series end in a flag

Unlikely both will be injured if we're back there in 12 months to complete the three peat against Hawthorn.
They were pretty out of it that day. When they arrived into Brissie yesterday evening, they didn't even stay long at Springfield for the fan meet and greet and i heard a lot of people missed out on autographs and weren't even allowed to talk to them. Of course they were exhuasted and they were probably up all night after the Grand final, but in retrospect, having a fan meetup in Melbourne and Brisbane in the exact same day was a terrible idea.

We left when they posted on social media video of them sitting in a meeting room watching the end of the nrl game.

They were already 40 minutes over the stated time and hungry kids etc.

Will go to the women's game but won't stick around again. If we win. If it's combined. If we don't go to Melbourne.

They seemed to be at Brunswick Street for longer last year too (they presented the cup at the stage near the cricket nets and in the stand).
It could simply be that last year the players themselves were in complete awe of their achievement and didn’t want to turn anything down. This year could be a little self-preservation knowing what they did post-match last year.

I’m good with it. They could stand their signing autographs all day and never run out of people.
Take the kids to another family day to see their heroes.
Even at the Brunswick Street Oval event i sensed the Lions supporters were abit more low key or flat with our noise. I personally think everyone was absoulutely stuffed and didnt have much more left in the tank. :thumbsu: :)

If Fages is still on the keep improving mantra next season we need to finish top 2 and win the qualifying final, I can’t see another brutal run through a final series end in a flag
Do we? Years ago Fagan said he was never worried about top 2, just wanted top 4 because the side needs to be able to turn up anywhere and win. At this point in time, we've proven that is the case and I hope it continues.

Even at the Brunswick Street Oval event i sensed the Lions supporters were abit more low key or flat with our noise. I personally think everyone were absoulutely stuffed and didnt have much more left in the tank. :thumbsu: :)
I noticed this as well and a mate I was there with made the same observation. It was a long final’s series for Melbourne based fans and those who travelled. The Qualifying Final, Preliminary Final and ultimately the Grand Final all had big build ups and each was stressful in their own ways. I just think supporters are incredibly proud and relieved, but also a little wrung out. That said, we turned up and played our part, picking ourselves up after the Qualifying Final and making lots of noise at the Preliminary and Grand Final.

I know its two days post game but I thought Charlie should have got a bit more Norm Smith attention... when he kicked his fourth goal (early in last quarter) he made it 10 goals to us and 6 to them... and he was the only multiple goal kicker on the ground at that stage... i.e. his cleanness kicking at goal was the difference in the game at the moment our ascendancy was tipping over (he kicked 3 out of 4 goals that took us from 1 point ahead to 25 points ahead around 3qtr time).

have seen a few media say if he'd kicked that snap for a 5th (which would have been our 11th) he might have had it.

anyway - just a thought given he didn't get any votes.

there'll be no end of home n away season bye potentially, so we have an incentive to finish as high as possible.

We were talking about this last night.

So many happy lions supporters, some new some rusted on.

Does 17 years count as rusted on? Some of you lot are 30 years

Surely WE rusted on feel it differently to the members who joined in the last three years. We get a kick when we compare this feeling/era to some of the rubbish games we went to. The comparison feels as good as the win.

And some of the wins back then feel just as memorable. The miracle on grass, the 44 point win to get into finals, the trashed hawks jersey on the road after we beat them the first time in years. The goal celebratory hand shakes. Dan merrett. Brown and bike v the car.

Ahhh the memories.
Originally from Adelaide. Moved up here at 22 almost 50 years ago. All I wanted was a Brisbane team to support and been on board from the beginning. So good X 2

Full blown nut jobs / head cases - for the life of me I can't work out how one can join the dots that leads them to think that laws / rules don't apply to them. Was talking to a brother's mate a few years ago that has been a policeman for over 20 years and he was saying you'd be stunned at how many claim this BS and worse that when pulled over that they don't need driver's licenses / car registrations and the like b/c they don't observe Australia's laws as if they expect police to say, oh okay on your way.

As for Catman, have read quite a few Geelong fans on here say to ignore him that he's completely irrational - glad they see it too.
So it's not a parody schtick the guy is doing?...

Totally, that also forced Scott to move Mullins to Charlie which then allowed McCluggage to go berserk in 4th.
I know its two days post game but I thought Charlie should have got a bit more Norm Smith attention... when he kicked his fourth goal (early in last quarter) he made it 10 goals to us and 6 to them... and he was the only multiple goal kicker on the ground at that stage... i.e. his cleanness kicking at goal was the difference in the game at the moment our ascendancy was tipping over (he kicked 3 out of 4 goals that took us from 1 point ahead to 25 points ahead around 3qtr time).

have seen a few media say if he'd kicked that snap for a 5th (which would have been our 11th) he might have had it.

Don't follow Geelong closely enough, but think it was Jimmy Bartel saying that Cats played guys in positions they'd never played all year and GFs weren't the time to do that. Apparently Stanley / Blicavs haven't played KPF all year or Jye Clark has not played as a small backmen and then they lined him up Charlie whilst also noting that Bews should have played. He gave a couple of other examples too.

Yeah Charlie kicked goals on Guthrie, Humphries and Jhye Clark. O’Sullivan as well was pretty poor and had to play small for a lot of the game

Couldn’t believe they replaced Stewart with Stanley. Seems Andrews spooked them

Has apparently been struggling with too much of his own bath water in his lungs all decade.

In defence of Geelong, there could've been issues in the club/with the players, but the issue with Chris is that he claims there are issues but then says to the press to not ask questions about the issues.

Of course but all it sounds like is a really poor attempt at deflection. They look like a team that doesn't really like each other and it is the coach's job to nip that in the bud.

That said, for all Smith's supposed strengths, that kind of personality in the staff room can become pretty toxic pretty quickly if the coach doesn't manage it well. He has the capacity to really get his teammates offside with his selfish antics.

Yeah, can't believe after the hiding Andrews gave Neale in that H&A game in Geelong during the year that they allowed it / couldn't stop it from happening again. But when they did send Blicavs forward, it worked into our hands beautifully given it took him out of the middle where he'd been so good, and then when he did, Rayner nailed him.

S.Neale's goal was legit amazing, it really was. But outside of his accuracy, he is really, at least right now, a weak tall forward. Against our battle hardened and mature talls, he gets outmuscled every time. Against inexperienced, less developed blokes, he might have a field day.

my thoughts were that Jaspa Fletcher was flawless all day, didn't get any stat padding in the last quarter, even when tackled by Cameron got the handball away, Hodge gave him the votes - am probably biased as he's one of my absolute favourite players.

Something that's crossed my mind almost every time someone mentions J Cameron is, that I'm glad it was a collision with a Geelong player.

Of course you don't want injuries for anyone (would have much preferred Dizzy just shut him down the whole game). Imagine if it had've happened with a Lion. They'd be calling whoever it was a flog, calling us cheats, asterisk next to the flag, etc.

I was also really glad to see that we never seemed to try to aggravate it. Ironic considering Danger's own admission they'd put pressure on Lachie's calf.

Whirlwind week. Friday after the parade I started getting a sore throat - put it down to too much booze the night before.

Saturday got a little worse but hey it's the GF, I'm up and about! At around half time, I had a high temperature and my throat was feeling much worse. By the end of the game I was cooked and went straight home instead of celebrating (last year's post game celebration was my favourite night out ever for context!). Didn't get any sleep and off to the doctors to get diagnosed with a severe case of bacterial tonsilitis and given antibiotics and Panadol forte.

Absolutely shit way to spend your trip to Melbourne, but my God if I had to decide between not getting sick or getting sick and us winning, it's a no brainer. Today I'm well enough to soak in the numerous grand final analysis videos and loving every minute.

What a special team this is. True belief and unbelievable skill.

How many teams have won a grand final playing three first year players and 8 under 22?

Probably the thing I love the most about this team is the way we go about it. 'Best and fairest' comes to mind. We aren't a dirty team. We aren't arrogant like Hokball, bitter like Geelong or entitled like Collingwood. We simply play for each other and believe in ourselves.

Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions