Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

I don’t really see why this has got so many laughing, two 1sts and a 2nd imo isn’t far away. We can do slightly better but I don’t think it’s too far off

I’d like people to list how many players have been traded for more than this.

In today's value with the increase in academy picks and free agency compo, those points will add up to about Pick 8, whereas the Cameron picks were worth Pick 2.

The points really matter here too as we have 2 first round bids to match over 2 years.

Probably worth mentioning that Cameron was out of contract too.

b8b9487eafdfd1f06f2f5c9355270816567d866d

Attachments

• 93912E49-D0EB-4C0F-9B11-3E9A8999658F.jpeg
    93912E49-D0EB-4C0F-9B11-3E9A8999658F.jpeg
    40.1 KB · Views: 13

Geelong asked for THREE x First Rounders for a 26yo Tim Kelly and got them.

We're not bending over for the Cats. They can stump up THREE FIRST ROUNDERS + an A GRADER before you'd consider talking to them.
Except that’s not true.

West Coast gave up 2 1st round picks, 14 and 18 and two second round picks.

They then got 2 third rounders back.

3 1st rounders and an A grade player, A grade players are worth a 1st and more, no team is offering that

The audit into Geelongs third party payments that the AFL is close to releasing will be interesting. Caro reported in July that it was all but finished and hadn't found much. However nearly three months later and going into a less AFL media orientated period Andrew Dillon has confirmed that the audit will be released shortly. Maybe theres a bit more there than was first thought.

Will be released by Kash Patel and Mike Johnson, lol.

I'd love to know the reason the Curnow's are seemingly so upset with the club before we start trashing the entire family...
If you could get to the bottom of it, I reckon it would boil down to "look what TDK has been offered".

Anything else is just rationalisation to tell themselves that there's more to life than money.

An easy position of take when you are getting so much of it.

In a complex deal, the Cats sent picks No.13, 15 and 20 and a future fourth-round selection to the Giants in exchange for Cameron, the Giants' future second-round selection and a future second-round selection tied to Essendon.

Cameron was a restricted free agent (NO CONTRACT).

Charlie is a multiple AA, multiple leading goal kicker, proven match winner and has YEARS to run on a contract (this alone would attract a first-round pick to tempt us).
This trade that everyone holds up as some kind of big deal, was the equivalent of pick 6.

If we are getting 2 1st round picks and a 2nd like the deal said and not giving anything else, it’s a really solid starting point.

Late 1sts won't cut it.
As they were tied to Adelaide you’d suggest next years would be worse and with the compo picks this year, that 14 will be 17, so you’re right they aren’t great.

But I still don’t think it’s too far off, get that 17 up higher or even include another 1st with something going back and it opens up a lot of options.

In today's value with the increase in academy picks and free agency compo, those points will add up to about Pick 8, whereas the Cameron picks were worth Pick 2.

The points really matter here too as we have 2 first round bids to match over 2 years.

Probably worth mentioning that Cameron was out of contract too.
Cameron’s trade wasn’t the equivalent of pick 2

As they were tied to Adelaide you’d suggest next years would be worse and with the compo picks this year, that 14 will be 17, so you’re right they aren’t great.

But I still don’t think it’s too far off, get that 17 up higher or even include another 1st with something going back and it opens up a lot of options.
Halfway there

We'll see. It's strange that a report that looked likely to be released in July has stretched out this far. Apparently Chris Scott was most upset when Andrew Dillon mentioned that the report was forthcoming during the finals series.
I’d think he was even more upset Dillion
Thought to do it autonomously rather than seeking approval from him.

werent there 2nd rounders coming iwth cameron?

It seems so. My first search just showed those 3 picks. Cats gave 4 picks and Giants gave 2. Pick 7 was the points value.

Still, where those picks ended up then to where they end up now is crazy.

Back then 13 became 15, 15 became 18 and 20 became 25. Nowadays you can push those back another 3 or 4 spots easily.

It's pretty simple.

Cats must stump up more than what they currently have in draft capital, or be prepared to part with some of what they have + an A grader.

17, 36 and 15-18 (2026) won't cut it.

Gold Coast have the draft capital AND the players. Sydney have players AND some draft capital.

Geelong are kidding themselves if they think Wright and Austin will roll over just because Charlie is pushing that way.

There are enough suitors that are driving the asking price higher for us.

Put up, or shut up.

This is how you tell someone you know nothing about footy without saying you know nothing about footy
Yeh no worries at all. You are entitled to your opinion.....I won't judge you for it. I don't think SOS is either a good player, or very durable. What B grade or higher players would you compare him to and what attributes would you say he has that make him higher than a C grader?