Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2025

Which rumours will come true?

Rumour Summary October 1st

• Adelaide expects a decision from Christian Petracca by Saturday, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca's decision between Adelaide and Gold Coast is a 50/50, according to Tom Morris (link)
  • Taylor Walker will sign a one-year contract extension, according to Josh Money (link)
  • Adelaide have been working on the Petracca trade for months, compared to Gold Coast who have joined the race more recently, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca is meeting with Gold Coast in person (link)

Rumour Summary October 2nd

• Melbourne are open to trading Clayton Oliver, according to Sam Edmund (link)
  • Clayton Oliver expects to be told to explore his trade options, according to Tom Morris (link)

What's the best that Tassie get around the "must be traded" requirement by simply trading those picks for future picks?
Trading 5 for 6 and a F4 in the years that they have to trade the 5's.

Or as you said Tassie FRP for Team X's Future 1st.

The issue is the players you mentioned would be good in a couple of years, but we are about to load up on Petracca if he agrees and we are going into with an unco who now has his 3 years and the AFL are about to change the rules to **** him completely.

We should have always had a developing ruck on our list and we could have used any number of picks on one, pick wisely and they’d be ready to take over now.

But what I’m surprised at was I thought it was easy to get a ruck cheap.
I agree (Goad played really well in the twos though) but we definately should have been prepared earlier. We’ve now got 4 years of ROB salary and list spot though even if we find a replacement.

Someone who can play forward would be perfect, so we can get Tillthorpe out from the forward line though. He is totally wasted there when our midfield is being beaten, as we saw against Hawthorn.

Wow people in here panic - stick to the facts and conspiracy theories

Facts are
  • Petracca has toured Adelaide facilities, met the coach and had a medical
  • Petracca doesn’t need a tour of the city - already knows Adelaide well with his work with Tourism SA
  • Petrecca Manager stayed an extra day, working through trade scenario and contract details
  • the next day Petrecca advises his wish to leave Melbourne FC

Gold Coast
  • are the new Carlton, being linked to every available player - Curnow, Elliott, Petrecca and JUH
  • Petrecca has not toured GC club
  • GC has prioritised a JUH visit before Petrecca
  • Flanders likely to request a trade to Essendon or St Kilda - dents the theory of more trade capital

Then there is the other considerations
  • Petrecca manager has strong relationships at Adelaide and despite the dooms day thinking, still loves the club and city of Adelaide
  • we know player relationships are important in trade destination decisions, ANB is a factor
  • Petrecca Brand has history in working with Tourism SA
  • Adelaide can accomodate the existing contract terms and salary

Adelaide is more likely than GC

What's the best that Tassie get around the "must be traded" requirement by simply trading those picks for future picks?
Maybe but they have some serious collateral to entice clubs to part with players, any mention of what their salary cap will be? I'm not sure some interstate AFL players would be too enthused about living down in Tassie?

Why not? Didn’t he fire his manager.
So any new deal from now, she would get a cut of?
Whereas if he doesn’t move she won’t?
Her interest is 100% to keep her player happy. She is building a stable and not after deals for the sake of money straight after a signing bonus. What I'm saying is that her directive is to find a new club, not to work outside her player's interest to get a deal done.
They happen to be the same thing, but is not her interest she is working on.

No? We tried to get another ruck, failed to get him, then gave Rob an extra year out of desperation

We clearly didn't try very hard

Our first option was offering two years to ROB
Our second option was going after a mediocre replacement that we were content letting go to Brisbane instead
Our third option was offering three years to ROB

We seemed perfectly content to retain ROB. No other real options pursued. No moves made prior to this year to get in developing rucks. A last minute replacement for Strachan when injured and that's it

Yeah. Or stuff like trading pick 5 for pick 6.

It obviously should have been they must be traded for players

Maybe, but he would only be 26 at the end of next year, a RFA, and if you are correct, be offered long term deals that we could still match (which would probably add more money to the deal from potentially a few different suitors).

Seems like all the herbs and spices of FA compo formula could line up for maximum returns on Butts.

Jeepers, not this again, Butts is NOT a restricted free agent, he will be an unrestricted free agent. The below players do not make up 3 of our highest 10 paid players. Footwire lists all 8 or 9 year out of contracte players as restricted restricted until the AFL releases the actual list in the relevant season. When the list is published by the AFL, not a single one of the below will be a restricted free agent.

1759280634668.png
1759280666278.png
1759280685927.png

But thats ok, they are still trading them with other clubs getting access to them

Sure, but it's clear that the intention of giving them those picks is that they will use them on players.

Reminds me when GWS got given heaps of first-round picks, and they just immediately traded them for future first-round picks.

We were chasing Draper hard and offering ROB only 2 years. So I think they were looking at a transition process occurring throughout the next couple of years.

That's purely because of his age

No real intent to stamp his papers and move him on because he's not good enough

Apparently this was on a street post in Melbourne, found it quite amusing myself:

1759281248823.png

What does a one-pan Honey Ginger Stir-fry and the next Adelaide Crows premiership have in common?

Christian Petracca.

We want him. We need him. Let’s get him.

You don’t have to scroll too far in the AFL app stats to see it: Adelaide’s record-breaking plummet from minor premiers to straight-sets heartbreak wasn’t just bad luck. It was a lack of midfield class. It was a lack of experience. It was missing On Trac.

And the rumours are swirling again, that Christian Petracca, Norm Smith medallist, A-Grade midfielder, masterchef, wants a fresh start. What better place than Adelaide?

We’ve got Tasting Australia. We’ve got the Central Markets. The best seafood in the country (with a tasty side of algae). And best of all, you’re kilometres away from the sheer arrogance of Collingwood and Hawthorn, or the farm-loving Cats.

It’s time to right a wrong. Danger sold his soul to the dark side in 2015. Now we can finally replace him with an A-Grade midfield star.

Christian Petracca. Let’s get him in Crows colours.

Get the impression that Hawthorn were about the only vic club that could get deal done and offer what he was looking for - and they seem to have pivoted to Merrett

I don't understand why they're so intent on Merrett when Petracca is available. I reckon Merrett is more likely to be at Essendon again next year than not.

Isn't that a big indicator

I do think, being in a strong football state is a strong consideration for Petracca

I also find it strange, no VIC clubs have been linked to a Petracca trade ....that's highly unusual
He wants to play finals.

Hawks were into him until they turned to Merrett as their big target.
Collingwood spent big on Houston and Perryman so likely no cash (and zero picks).
Geelong different priorities being linked to about 10 players this and next year.

Thats it for the teams that made the 8.

WB not really linked to anyone so maybe but don’t really need midfielders.

Saints spent their money on everyone else.

That leaves the following clubs rebuilding (or should be) rebuilding:
Carlton (also no picks), Essendon, North and Richmond.

If he was 25 he’d have his pick. But at 30, there’s only a handful clubs it makes sense for.

I’d say us, Fremantle and maybe Sydney (but less required) only teams it makes sense for. I’m surprised Gold Coast are interested (if they really are) but throw them.

Just circumstances which is why he’s accepted moving interstate.

You don't think they walk and chew gum at the same time?
I guess we find out in the next couple of days if the Suns are a serious prospect for him, there’s no way he’s requesting a trade to a club without a tour of the facilities and meeting a few staff/players. Chats with the coach on the phone is just lip service, it would be surprising if a player of his caliber is making a decision on just that alone.

NWM is coming, have faith.

Following up on this.

We had made a compelling pitch to NAS which almost won him over.

In August St Kilda saw the writing on the wall and increased their offer to the reported $2m per season. This was extra $1.2m on top of their previous best offer.

If the three clubs, our salary is package was the smallest, and NAS would have been leaving about $1.6m on the table if he had decided to move this off-season.