Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2025

Which rumours will come true?

Rumour Summary October 1st

• Adelaide expects a decision from Christian Petracca by Saturday, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca's decision between Adelaide and Gold Coast is a 50/50, according to Tom Morris (link)
  • Taylor Walker will sign a one-year contract extension, according to Josh Money (link)
  • Adelaide have been working on the Petracca trade for months, compared to Gold Coast who have joined the race more recently, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca is meeting with Gold Coast in person (link)

Rumour Summary October 2nd

• Melbourne are open to trading Clayton Oliver, according to Sam Edmund (link)
  • Clayton Oliver expects to be told to explore his trade options, according to Tom Morris (link)

You really do love pissing on the fire don't you?

I think we need to realise that for every sign that someone puts up, there's a valid reason it mightn't actually be relevant. What is absolutely true is that we are in the running, he wouldn't have visited us otherwise. But just because we're the only place there's video footage of him visiting, doesn't mean that we're the only club that's genuinely in the running.

I live for the day you make an optimistic post regards the Crows.....

Optimistic view:

If Gunston can have the year he had, so can Tex. Tex was far from a spent force in one of the highest scoring teams.
Tex had a good season, just a weird narrative that he was cooked because of the Hawks final when our midfield were smashed (he was also inches away from kicking 2 massive goals in that game in the 2nd quarter, including one from well outside 50). People quickly forget the Collingwood final where he had 18 touches, kicked 2.3 and was our only major scoring threat.

Tex was just fine when our game was humming.

Probs late with this but Tom Morris said Suns are looking the more likely landing spot.
I don't think this can be true. In fact, all the Melbourne noise points to a near certain Adelaide request for trade.

Gary Lyon has been on his slightly arrogant high horse about 'pony up or bugger off'. His comments carried complete resignation to the fact that trac is leaving and he wants to be seen as somehow winning in all this. He's angry and disappointed and the attitude, which accompanied his tirade gave him away. No poker face at all Gary...

Next, the CEO of Melbourne has written to members somewhat saying exactly the same as the Lyon rant. But writing to members is a defensive option for the club and is done to prepare them for the obvious outcome. That Trac is off.

Why he is coming to Adelaide, I think can be very easily interpreted but the above Melbourne statements.

If they thought Gold Coast were genuinely interested or that Trac is interested in heading north, they'd be much softer and reasonable in their language. The reason for this is because Gold Coast hold a stronger draft hand than Adelaide. Much stronger.
If they were Tracs chosen destination, behind closed doors, the two clubs would be working away to make a deal. But they're obviously not!

Because Melbourne know it's Adelaide they need to deal with, they're on the attack to maximise their return from a club without the obvious trading riches they'd like. Even though they talk tough, they know that to enforce the contract is cancer for their club. A player of his standing being forced to remain will poison the playing group and sit uncomfortably with enough fans and members to cause division. He simply can't stay unless fully committed. And he's clearly not.

Adelaide should make their offer...a reasonable one, and let them decide to either move forward as a club, or choose self destruction.

I think they've already decided that he should be moved on as the fresh start will suit everyone, including themselves. The language of the Melbourne footy club says as much.

Despite the pain of the moment for Melbourne and the forced acceptance of their current position, Christian Petracca will eventually make his way to a new home as a much loved part of the mighty Crows.

IMO

Tex had his year at Gunstons age.
Tex still had a good season at 35 and because he struggles in our last game due to the mids getting smashed, he’s suddenly cooked? Teams waltzed it out of our D50 because we didn’t have Rankine or Rachele, just have a look at our scoring profile when we had those two around F50 stoppages.

I live for the day you make an optimistic post regards the Crows.....

There's been plenty, but they're largely individual player related. I think the same philosophies that saw us continually fall short at finals time are still entrenched, so at a club level there hasn't been much to be optimistic about except removal of incompetent staff/board members. That said, I still have hope that Balme will ultimately influence a change in some of the strongly held philosophies that fail us senior coach after senior coach after senior coach.

• Petracca doesn’t need a tour of the city - already knows Adelaide well with his work with Tourism SA
But Mrs Petracca does, she hasn't been to Adelaide.

• Petrecca Manager stayed an extra day, working through trade scenario and contract detail
Or stayed to catch up with some best friends that she hasn't seen in a while. She did live here for numerous years.

• the next day Petrecca advises his wish to leave Melbourne FC
No, Petracca had already discussed with Melbourne a desire to leave and Melbourne had provided a green light to explore his options. The fact that his Adelaide visit became public knowledge necessitated Melbourne FC advising their members/supporters formally of what is going on.

• are the new Carlton, being linked to every available player - Curnow, Elliott, Petrecca and JUH
Irrelevant

• Petrecca has not toured GC club
1. You don't know this to be true and 2. even if it is, due to Petracca's partner not needing to have a look at the landscape up there, it could be totally irrelevant.
  • GC has prioritised a JUH visit before Petrecca
Again, you don't this to be true, it's likely as simple as Petracca not needing to tour the facilities as he didn't feel the need to check out the Gold Coast as a potential city to live in. Also, JUH is a totally separate situation and why he's up there.

• Petrecca manager has strong relationships at Adelaide and despite the dooms day thinking, still loves the club and city of Adelaide
Irrelevant
  • we know player relationships are important in trade destination decisions, ANB is a factor
We don't know what ANB is telling Petracca, he might be saying everything is great, but he also might be saying our midfield strategy is a shambles. He's not going to lie to his mate if he's being asked advice.
  • Petrecca Brand has history in working with Tourism SA
And wouldn't he love to expand his brand into an entirely new market.
  • Adelaide can accomodate the existing contract terms and salary
This is probably the only potentially relevant factor that you posted.
And Petracca leaves Adelaide Airport saying see you next season, which, while could be interpreted various ways, at face value seems to indicate that he's coming our way.

Optimistic view:

If Gunston can have the year he had, so can Tex. Tex was far from a spent force in one of the highest scoring teams.
Appreciate the optimism, but we can’t play Tex and Fogarty in the same team

If we don’t get Trac, Mitch Marsh needs to be a target, he’d compliment our forward line perfectly

I don't think this can be true. In fact, all the Melbourne noise points to a near certain Adelaide request for trade.

Gary Lyon has been on his slightly arrogant high horse about 'pony up or bugger off. His comments carried complete resignation to the fact that trac is leaving and he wants to be seen as somehow winning in all this. He's agree and disappointed and the attitude which accompanied his tirade gave him away. No poker face at all Gary...

Next, the CEO of Melbourne has written to members somewhat saying exactly the same as the Lyon rant. But writing to members is a defensive option for the club and is done to prepare them for the obvious outcome. The Trac is off.

Why he is coming to Adelaide, I think can be very easily interpreted but the above Melbourne statements.

If they thought Gold Coast were genuinely interested or that Trac is interested in heading north, they'd be much softer and reasonable in their language. The reason for this is because Gold Coast hold a stronger draft hand than Adelaide. Much stronger.
If they were Tracs chosen destination, behind closed doors, the two clubs would be working away to make a deal. But they're obviously not!

Because Melbourne know it's Adelaide they need to deal with, they're on the attack to maximise their return from a club without the obvious trading riches they'd like. Even though they talk tough, they know that to enforce the contract is cancer for their club. A player of his standing being forced to remain will poison the playing group and sit uncomfortably with enough fans and members to cause division. He simply can't stay unless fully committed. He's clearly not.

Adelaide should make their offer...a reasonable one, and let them decide to either move forward as a club, or choose self destruction.

I think they've already decided that he should be moved on as the fresh start will suit everyone, including themselves. The language of the Melbourne footy club says as much.

Despite the pain of the moment for Melbourne and the forced acceptance of their current position, Christian Petracca will eventually make his way to a new home as a much loved part of the mighty Crows.

IMO
Tom Morris is simply feeding the Melbourne club and supporters narrative and they obviously want the better draft picks, but that’s irrelevant to Petracca’s decision. He very quickly backed off those comments from yesterday and went with ‘genuine 50-50’ this morning.

A Zoom call with Hardwick before jetting off to Adelaide with his wife and manager seems like him just satisfying Melbourne’s preference so he can at least say he spoke to them. He could have quite easily visited the GC on Monday and Adelaide on Tuesday if he really wanted to.

Tex had a good season, just a weird narrative that he was cooked because of the Hawks final when our midfield were smashed (he was also inches away from kicking 2 massive goals in that game in the 2nd quarter, including one from well outside 50). People quickly forget the Collingwood final where he had 18 touches, kicked 2.3 and was our only major scoring threat.

Tex was just fine when our game was humming.

He really wasn't, what happens when there's a contest and he loses it matters at least as much as him putting a goal and half on the board. Plus, he still commands the greatest share of our forward entries. So his goal and a half isn't enough, especially when you add in that these days he's defended by a player that runs off him. Overall he's a nett loss and it's not getting any better next year. If he played as an actual 3rd tall/decoy, then it wouldn't be so bad, but he doesn't and won't.

Gary Lyon has been on his slightly arrogant high horse about 'pony up or bugger off'. His comments carried complete resignation to the fact that trac is leaving and he wants to be seen as somehow winning in all this. He's angry and disappointed and the attitude, which accompanied his tirade gave him away. No poker face at all Gary...

Next, the CEO of Melbourne has written to members somewhat saying exactly the same as the Lyon rant. But writing to members is a defensive option for the club and is done to prepare them for the obvious outcome. That Trac is off.

Because Melbourne know it's Adelaide they need to deal with, they're on the attack to maximise their return from a club without the obvious trading riches they'd like. Even though they talk tough, they know that to enforce the contract is cancer for their club. A player of his standing being forced to remain will poison the playing group and sit uncomfortably with enough fans and members to cause division. He simply can't stay unless fully committed. And he's clearly not.

IMO

I think what you're saying makes a lot of sense, especially the way that Garry Lyon has been acting.

"You can't go out of your way to woo a guy to your club and then turn around and not be prepared to put a decent offer to Melbourne"

Sounds like we've possibly offered something along the lines of Pick 14 and a player ie Butts or Pedlar and he's pushing the narrative that Adelaide needs to offer more.

Optimistic view:

39 snags is still better then all but 22 players in 2025. We waited 6 years for FOG to be that effective for us.

And speaking of FOG vs Tex, Tex out did him in 2025 on average Kicks, Marks, contested marks, marks I50, Disposals, Handballs, Goal assists, I50s, Score Involvements, meters gained and tackles.

Damn FOG, lift your game!

If we revert to an attacking gameplan, Tex will be just fine. If we keep up this slow, defensive, back half game he will struggle, same as Fog. Only your Thilthorpe types thrive in any game plan.

I’m happy Tex will play on, it will be a sad day when he hangs up the boots.
Nah, can’t have two slow 193cm guys in the same forward line, from a defensive perspective

Playing them both helped us get the minor premiership. Midfield/ruck and coaching lost us those two finals.

Anb is dead slow and Keays isn’t fast. Maybe the bigger problem up forward is our smalls, especially when Rankine is in the guts.