Player Watch Harry Perryman

Thought he had an okay year, wasn't bad, didn't star, was reasonably reliable, played some decent footy.

Originally brought in to add midfield depth, I would definitely like to see him get another go in there early next year.

One thing we did see this year was that we got smashed often in the midfield, mostly in the second half of the season, by the best teams. Long's form dropped off (he wasn't alone), and you have to ask, can he take us to a flag? I think we need an upgrade there (and of course, I am not saying it's Perryman).

We need to trade to address that, or find a few more cogs in the midfield machine on our list.
We actually need an A-Grader down the spine. A key back, a quality big-bodied mid and a key forward. Whether he trade, or develop is the question. I feel that a quality mid is a player we will need to trade for. I feel that Checkers will depart and that will give more opportunity to young West, but a key back will allow McStay to focus on being THE man in the forward line.

KPF is an interesting one. It was another final series where the most effective forwards weren't big - Elliott, Gunston, BAiley, Rayner, Lohmann, Humphrey, Dempsey. Brisbane won the flag with Ty Gallop and Logan Morris being supported by Big O as their tall set up.

I'll be pissed if this blokes wasted down back again next year.
I think the club poorly managed him, Josh and Houston.

Let’s give Parker a proper crack in defence next year alongside Maynard and IQ and let these three weapons play more upfield, gradually taking over from Sidey and Pendles.

They're different players. Houston is a piercing aggressive half back, Josh is a potential A grade midfielder (and definitively A grade winger) and Perryman is either a defensive mid/tagger or a defensive hbf.

Out of the three Josh is the most desperately needed in the middle, and easily replaced by Parker. That would allow Houston to play his natural role as distributor.

I want to see Steele play a solid block of games on the wing (and maybe even in the guts). Don't think Perryman adds either speed or extractive genius, so can't really have him alongside Long and Pendles etc who are too slow already.

They're different players. Houston is a piercing aggressive half back, Josh is a potential A grade midfielder (and definitively A grade winger) and Perryman is either a defensive mid/tagger or a defensive hbf.

Out of the three Josh is the most desperately needed in the middle, and easily replaced by Parker. That would allow Houston to play his natural role as distributor.

I want to see Steele play a solid block of games on the wing (and maybe even in the guts). Don't think Perryman adds either speed or extractive genius, so can't really have him alongside Long and Pendles etc who are too slow already.
I don't think Perryman is slow to the eye test. Have seen him go well in a foot race several times to win a contest. Not Bobby quick but decent pace I reckon. I reckon his hardness is exactly what's needed around the pill. Seems to have a willingness to sacrifice his game for the team too ala a Dunkley type defensive minded team man.

Yeah he could take Pendles' spot around the ball. But can't have both.

Different players for sure but largely wasted in the roles they were playing.

Josh replaced Houston before he’d even arrived in that quarterback type role

I think people are underestimating how important was the role Josh played at HB this year. His contribution at HB this year was far better than his contribution on the wing for most of last year, which is why he was moved to HB late in the year.

I think he is an A grade HB and not an A grade wing anymore, and not entirely convinced he is an A grade mid either. So HB is definitely his best role.

When people in the past have said 'we should move Josh to the wing and let Houston play the HB role', it's not necessarily as easy as that

Yep, and the coaches decided to not use him like that - we can draw our own conclusions from that
Have you considered applying for the vacant assistant coaching role?
You appear to be qualified.

Agree TT.
Think we really did not get a handle on how to optimise the strengths of Houston and Perryman. Couldn't work out how to combine them as you said with Bruzza and IQ, but also with Jaicos.

Where should Jaicos have played? Really on HB, or more in the midifeld?

Don't think we ever worked out how to rotate through al these players and find their best roles.

I think this was a significant reason as to why our midifeld strength seemed to often not be up to standard. We just never worked out the best roles for all the moving parts.

If we can land another big bodied inside mid in the off season, I feel like all these difficulties will be quickly resolved.

Have you considered applying for the vacant assistant coaching role?
You appear to be qualified.

Mate,

Does everything need be a smart ass dig at someone?

Relax brother it's a forum with different opinions. Perryman is being wasted do you agree?

Mate,

Does everything need be a smart ass dig at someone?

Relax brother it's a forum with different opinions. Perryman is being wasted do you agree?
No, I don’t agree.

He got shifted back because of injury and played well.

I think he would have gone back in the middle when the troops returned but the old fellas, mostly Pendles, showed better than expected form in the guts and kept him out.

I expect the plans for next year will have him in the middle and Pendles will be used elsewhere, hopefully as the extra back late in games as he’s devastating in that role.

I’m still in denial that this will ever happen
Perryman doesn’t realise he’s going to be used for spare parts. Pendles will never retire.

He got shifted back because of injury and played well.

I think he would have gone back in the middle when the troops returned but the old fellas, mostly Pendles, showed better than expected form in the guts and kept him out.

I expect the plans for next year will have him in the middle and Pendles will be used elsewhere, hopefully as the extra back late in games as he’s devastating in that role.
whenever Pendles was out, we got smacked out the front of the pack at stoppage. Sidey and Long couldn't play the sweeper role. I do think we erred in not training him up as cover for what eventuated with Pendles

Perryman doesn’t realise he’s going to be used for spare parts. Pendles will never retire.
So Perryman is the donor of body parts to to get Pendles over 500 games?
We gotta be talking more than a kidney, maybe we transplant Perrymans legs to replace Pendles well worn set.
Then we gotta deal with the body, I understand chopper is no longer with us so will need another upstanding pie supporter to accommodate if this is going to fly.
I admire your creative thinking jmac70 “Kill for Collingwood””

Player Watch Harry Perryman